Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2938 (Dress A) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1086 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/09 3:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KateS said...
Lovely dress- I like the idea of the added ties! Definately a pattern worth a second look at !
2/8/09 4:23 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress and great choice of material. Thanks for thorough review - I have this pattern and your info. re the sizing was very useful.
2/8/09 5:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
Love this dress on you. Perfect fit.
2/8/09 6:25 AM
echolalia said...
As always, a fantastic fit, Vonne. Your colour choice is perfect for your dark hair. The Vogue model looks like she is wearing one size too small for her - it is tight across her bust and hips - but you are probably right, pegs do wonders in fashion shoots!
2/8/09 8:01 AM
JamieLiz said...
It's a very pretty dress and a great fit. The fixes you made turned out well, and are very helpful. Thank you!
2/8/09 8:29 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I LOVE the neckline pleats!!
2/8/09 9:17 AM
Christas said...
Vonnevo, this looks very nice on you! Thanks so much for all of the fitting details in your review.
2/8/09 9:17 AM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice on you - your usual great work! Thanks for such a helpful review
2/8/09 10:01 AM
Beek said...
You are right! I never noticed what a wonderful pattern this is until reading your review. What a great dress. I, too, prefer armhole facings versus bias tape. Nice work!
2/8/09 10:14 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Very impressive. I have this pattern as well...will have to give it a try.
2/8/09 11:22 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous - and a great review.
2/8/09 11:45 AM
Diane E said...
What a pretty dress and I love your photos. The garden gate provides such a beautiful rustic contrast to the ladylike quality of the fit and fabric. And yes, I'll bet they pegged the skirt for the photo shoot ;)
2/8/09 11:50 AM
Ann Smith said...
Looks lovely. I really like the idea of the sewn in ties instead of a tie belt. Much more polished looking.
2/8/09 12:04 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
2/8/09 12:34 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful dress. It looks so nice on you. I love the red silk print.
2/8/09 1:29 PM
Rhoda K said...
Love the dress, fabric and your thorough review!
2/8/09 2:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Vonne, you look very pretty indeed in your Summery dress, and I too love the additions of the ties to control the volume ... very smart and stylish. Lovely, Lily
2/8/09 3:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress Vonne. You look gorgeous!
2/8/09 3:59 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for explaining what you did to help us - certainly making me see the possibilities where I didn't before.
2/8/09 4:25 PM
PatM said...
Lovely dress, I like the ties below the bust. Your dress looks better on you then the one on pattern envelope
2/8/09 6:39 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very nice dress.
2/8/09 7:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely dress Vonne - looks great for this warm summer weather we are having!
2/8/09 10:54 PM
Ody said...
Your dress looks better on you than the pattern envelop model. Wonderful fabric. It is the dead of winter here and I am ready to hop on a plane and go where every you are with all the warm weather. Great review and I also want a slide show for my pictures. Excuse the rank all out envy!
2/9/09 1:34 AM
LorelleD said...
After reading your review I did take a second look at this pattern. The fit on your dress looks really nice, as does the colour of your dress. Very pretty. Thanks for an informative review.
2/9/09 5:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is GORGEOUS! The fabric is perfect for this! Feminine and drapey. I have this pattern and was excited to see how lovely your dress turned out. Now I want to move this up on my to do list!
2/9/09 3:20 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is lovely on you! This is one of those sleeper patterns that you skip by until someone, like you, makes it pop!
2/9/09 9:32 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the info on the excess fabric in the princess seams .... I was just looking at this pattern yesterday, I love the pleats at the neckline. Thanks for the review.
2/9/09 9:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work here, Vonne. The fabric is just right for summer and your addition of ties gives it a much more stylish look than a belt. You look great!
2/10/09 8:26 PM
egreen42 said...
Beautiful dress love the added ties, the fabric is lovely and it fit you perfectly. Excellent review!
12/2/13 8:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7837
photo
Review by jetgirl707 on 11/21/10
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3576 1 hour top
photo
Review by arianamani... on 3/10/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us