SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5429 

11 more reviews
Viewed 547 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/09 5:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Really nice skirt and a beautiful fit for you.
2/11/09 6:22 AM
TalyQ said...
I really like that skirt! I do not wear pants, but practically live in denim skirts at home. You have done a great job with the top-stitching.
2/11/09 6:47 AM
Annette Wright said...
Perfect timing for this review. I have lots of long denim pieces left over from making pants and have been wondering how I can use them. I'll buy this pattern and give it a try. It looks cute on you too.
2/11/09 7:31 AM
Gecko said...
Great job! This skirt looks wonderful on you!
2/11/09 9:15 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute skirt!
2/11/09 9:44 AM
persevering said...
What a lovely skirt - and great fit - it suits you well! Can you please clarify about eliminating the godets? You just didn't use them and cut the other pieces and sewed them (ignoring the godet instructions)? Thanks for your review.
2/11/09 11:37 AM
christea said...
great job-totally cute skirt!
2/11/09 11:40 AM
Pinkytoo said...
LOVE it! This is going on my things-to-do list today!
2/11/09 12:01 PM
morzel said...
Nice looking skirt! Great shape.
2/11/09 1:50 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone. Perservering I used the skirt pieces as is, straight out of the packet, cut for the length line for View B. I just didn't put in the godets. But because I'm 5" the length fell just below the knee rather than mid knee.
2/11/09 1:56 PM
lizziwhizz said...
Seriously. I have the same skirt cut out in a slightly darker denim, and did the same as you, leaving off the godets. I may even take the flair in so I have a longer straight skirt (also not a fan of the mini!) Great idea to add pockets; I think I may do this. Thanks for the review and the ideas!
2/11/09 2:09 PM
sewtime said...
Cute skirt!!
2/11/09 2:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Super fab looking skirt, Val!
2/11/09 5:10 PM
Christas said...
This fits you wonderfully! I have made this pattern twice. Your skirt fits much better than mine did. Your topstitching looks fantastic!
2/11/09 5:33 PM
ClaireEmily said...
This is so funny. Today I cut out view B without the godets. Tonight I see your review! Great skirt - it fits you really well. What kind of thread did you use for the topstitching?
2/12/09 4:03 AM
valerie sews said...
Clare Emily I used two spools of regular Gutterman thread together through a universal needle and regular thread in the bobbin. The bobbin was my all purpose colour gutterman Col 1. (NAYY) The ones on top were a goldy brown and a greyish green. You wouldn't think it'd work but it did. I just played around with what I had in the notions stash.
2/12/09 1:51 PM
persevering said...
Thanks so much for answering and sharing your ideas. :)
2/13/09 4:25 PM
Cody7 said...
Val I love your skirt it is just what I have been searching for. I am off to buy the pattern this weekend.
2/14/09 0:17 AM
Lou05 said...
This is great. I love the look without the godets and your's fits beautifully. It's very flattering.
5/18/09 6:25 PM
Lou05 said...
I love this skirt on you. It looks terrific and your finishing touches (i.e. pockets, etc.) are great. I can't wait to start one tonight - all because yours looks so good.
6/13/09 6:33 PM
Hikerbeth said...
Nice clear detail of topstiching and belt loops. Very useful, thanks.
3/19/10 5:12 PM
Hilary said...
Your skirt looks great! Perfect fit and very flattering.
12/12/10 10:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Jalie 2909

photo
by: momtoesthe...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now