Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5429 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 547 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/09 5:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Really nice skirt and a beautiful fit for you.
2/11/09 6:22 AM
TalyQ said...
I really like that skirt! I do not wear pants, but practically live in denim skirts at home. You have done a great job with the top-stitching.
2/11/09 6:47 AM
Annette Wright said...
Perfect timing for this review. I have lots of long denim pieces left over from making pants and have been wondering how I can use them. I'll buy this pattern and give it a try. It looks cute on you too.
2/11/09 7:31 AM
Gecko said...
Great job! This skirt looks wonderful on you!
2/11/09 9:15 AM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute skirt!
2/11/09 9:44 AM
persevering said...
What a lovely skirt - and great fit - it suits you well! Can you please clarify about eliminating the godets? You just didn't use them and cut the other pieces and sewed them (ignoring the godet instructions)? Thanks for your review.
2/11/09 11:37 AM
christea said...
great job-totally cute skirt!
2/11/09 11:40 AM
Pinkytoo said...
LOVE it! This is going on my things-to-do list today!
2/11/09 12:01 PM
morzel said...
Nice looking skirt! Great shape.
2/11/09 1:50 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone. Perservering I used the skirt pieces as is, straight out of the packet, cut for the length line for View B. I just didn't put in the godets. But because I'm 5" the length fell just below the knee rather than mid knee.
2/11/09 1:56 PM
lizziwhizz said...
Seriously. I have the same skirt cut out in a slightly darker denim, and did the same as you, leaving off the godets. I may even take the flair in so I have a longer straight skirt (also not a fan of the mini!) Great idea to add pockets; I think I may do this. Thanks for the review and the ideas!
2/11/09 2:09 PM
sewtime said...
Cute skirt!!
2/11/09 2:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Super fab looking skirt, Val!
2/11/09 5:10 PM
Christas said...
This fits you wonderfully! I have made this pattern twice. Your skirt fits much better than mine did. Your topstitching looks fantastic!
2/11/09 5:33 PM
ClaireEmily said...
This is so funny. Today I cut out view B without the godets. Tonight I see your review! Great skirt - it fits you really well. What kind of thread did you use for the topstitching?
2/12/09 4:03 AM
valerie sews said...
Clare Emily I used two spools of regular Gutterman thread together through a universal needle and regular thread in the bobbin. The bobbin was my all purpose colour gutterman Col 1. (NAYY) The ones on top were a goldy brown and a greyish green. You wouldn't think it'd work but it did. I just played around with what I had in the notions stash.
2/12/09 1:51 PM
persevering said...
Thanks so much for answering and sharing your ideas. :)
2/13/09 4:25 PM
Cody7 said...
Val I love your skirt it is just what I have been searching for. I am off to buy the pattern this weekend.
2/14/09 0:17 AM
Lou05 said...
This is great. I love the look without the godets and your's fits beautifully. It's very flattering.
5/18/09 6:25 PM
Lou05 said...
I love this skirt on you. It looks terrific and your finishing touches (i.e. pockets, etc.) are great. I can't wait to start one tonight - all because yours looks so good.
6/13/09 6:33 PM
Hikerbeth said...
Nice clear detail of topstiching and belt loops. Very useful, thanks.
3/19/10 5:12 PM
Hilary said...
Your skirt looks great! Perfect fit and very flattering.
12/12/10 10:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other No number Copy from rtw
photo
Review by Lou. on 1/10/07
Read Review

Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2246 Misses'
photo
Review by JenniferMM on 8/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us