SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-122 

2 more reviews
Viewed 717 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/09 11:06 PM
Last Updated:2/17/09 11:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alviana said...
Beautiful! the fabric is perfect for the pattern. very summer look :)
4/7/10 9:20 PM
Kathi R said...
Great use of unusual fabric, once again a very complete review. Thanks.
2/24/09 7:35 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking caftan.
2/19/09 4:43 PM
Aless said...
OK...back to that pattern for me! Will use the reversed pleat idea myself. Never ever thought I'd wear a caftan [first time for everything :-) ] but I neeeed this one. PS Your photo is better than Burda's.
2/18/09 8:29 PM
Winifred said...
Now that is really lovely Vonne. Its on my wish list and I think I've got just the fabric for it - and the pattern of course!! Enjoy wearing it.
2/18/09 7:29 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely!!! You look very cool and ready for the islands!
2/18/09 7:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Vonne, looks like you are in stylin' in paradise! Very attractive caftan!
2/18/09 4:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely! Well done. I want to make a caftan, too, but it's hard to find a good pattern. This is the nicest I've seen.
2/18/09 4:14 PM
MissCelie said...
Ok. You win. This looks far more chic than I even imagined it could!
2/18/09 4:08 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful!
2/18/09 2:03 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nice review! I'll keep this in mind if I ever go cruising. It's nice to know it has some shape.
2/18/09 12:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific use of your undesired fabric. Now it is wonderful.
2/18/09 12:30 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Great prints and placement of it, I never liked caftan before but yours looks so lovely that I have changed my mind, thanks for the review.
2/18/09 11:51 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
You look so classy - I'm glad it was saved from the charity bag. Beautiful work as always.
2/18/09 11:50 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I saw your preview from the Burdaenglish group on yahoo. I'm not a big Hawaiian print person either, but that looks AMAZING on you. The perfect fabric for the design.
2/18/09 11:48 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful cruise/lounge dress! Great use of fabric. Thanks for the "two for one" tracing inspiration!
2/18/09 11:35 AM
Mahler said...
I love what you did with the pattern and fabric. Great project for relaxing moments. I miss the summer sun. Looking at your pictures make me feel great. ;-)
2/18/09 9:34 AM
Michelle L said...
Great use of the panel print! Your caftan turned out great!!
2/18/09 9:31 AM
Re Becca said...
That does look so boutique. Wonderful use of the fabric.
2/18/09 9:13 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - love the fabric
2/18/09 8:58 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful caftan and love your fabric. It looks great on you.
2/18/09 8:45 AM
minieme said...
That is very stylish, Vonne. I just saw the blouse version too. Very nice.
2/18/09 6:00 AM
Diana M said...
Wonderful layout of the pieces on your panel -- so glad it found its home with you; you look great and comfortable in it. Very boutique!
2/18/09 3:58 AM
Sew4Fun said...
That's the best looking caftan I've seen!
2/18/09 3:18 AM
Yvonski said...
As always, your review is informative and interesting. I love it; just wish I was your size. LOL
2/18/09 2:44 AM
Natasha B said...
Your dress (caftan sounds sooo 70s) is gorgeous. The print that you put off using is just perfect ... are they really horses?! So you took out the side split? But that was so Burda! You look great Vonne.
2/18/09 2:26 AM
Annette1 said...
You've managed to design a LOVELY caftan out of a piece of fabric that you weren't even that crazy about, which has now turned into something truly unique and wonderful. I particularly like this pattern because it has some SHAPE to it, as opposed to just being a big square with a hole cut in it for your head -- ha! It's quite attractive and flattering! And I LOVE the way this print has made up into this garment.
2/18/09 1:15 AM
katlew03 said...
This is the caftan I've been looking for. I'll have to see if I can order it. Yours looks great and I love the fabric.
2/17/09 11:56 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call to invert the front pleat! I think your caftan is stylish and flattering.
2/17/09 11:48 PM
sewtime said...
You look fabulous in your beautiful caftan!!
2/17/09 11:47 PM
Karen8320 said...
Definitely a sophisticated 'twisting by the pool' look here, Vonne. Caftans are generally so shapeless and uninteresting but you've made this into a very well-styled garment. Very chic for pool-side. You look great!
2/17/09 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info