Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-122 - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 709 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/09 11:06 PM
Last Updated:2/17/09 11:12 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Definitely a sophisticated 'twisting by the pool' look here, Vonne. Caftans are generally so shapeless and uninteresting but you've made this into a very well-styled garment. Very chic for pool-side. You look great!
2/17/09 11:24 PM
sewtime said...
You look fabulous in your beautiful caftan!!
2/17/09 11:47 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call to invert the front pleat! I think your caftan is stylish and flattering.
2/17/09 11:48 PM
katlew03 said...
This is the caftan I've been looking for. I'll have to see if I can order it. Yours looks great and I love the fabric.
2/17/09 11:56 PM
Annette1 said...
You've managed to design a LOVELY caftan out of a piece of fabric that you weren't even that crazy about, which has now turned into something truly unique and wonderful. I particularly like this pattern because it has some SHAPE to it, as opposed to just being a big square with a hole cut in it for your head -- ha! It's quite attractive and flattering! And I LOVE the way this print has made up into this garment.
2/18/09 1:15 AM
Natasha B said...
Your dress (caftan sounds sooo 70s) is gorgeous. The print that you put off using is just perfect ... are they really horses?! So you took out the side split? But that was so Burda! You look great Vonne.
2/18/09 2:26 AM
Yvonski said...
As always, your review is informative and interesting. I love it; just wish I was your size. LOL
2/18/09 2:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
That's the best looking caftan I've seen!
2/18/09 3:18 AM
Diana M said...
Wonderful layout of the pieces on your panel -- so glad it found its home with you; you look great and comfortable in it. Very boutique!
2/18/09 3:58 AM
minieme said...
That is very stylish, Vonne. I just saw the blouse version too. Very nice.
2/18/09 6:00 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful caftan and love your fabric. It looks great on you.
2/18/09 8:45 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - love the fabric
2/18/09 8:58 AM
Re Becca said...
That does look so boutique. Wonderful use of the fabric.
2/18/09 9:13 AM
Michelle L said...
Great use of the panel print! Your caftan turned out great!!
2/18/09 9:31 AM
Mahler said...
I love what you did with the pattern and fabric. Great project for relaxing moments. I miss the summer sun. Looking at your pictures make me feel great. ;-)
2/18/09 9:34 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful cruise/lounge dress! Great use of fabric. Thanks for the "two for one" tracing inspiration!
2/18/09 11:35 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I saw your preview from the Burdaenglish group on yahoo. I'm not a big Hawaiian print person either, but that looks AMAZING on you. The perfect fabric for the design.
2/18/09 11:48 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
You look so classy - I'm glad it was saved from the charity bag. Beautiful work as always.
2/18/09 11:50 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great prints and placement of it, I never liked caftan before but yours looks so lovely that I have changed my mind, thanks for the review.
2/18/09 11:51 AM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific use of your undesired fabric. Now it is wonderful.
2/18/09 12:30 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nice review! I'll keep this in mind if I ever go cruising. It's nice to know it has some shape.
2/18/09 12:33 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful!
2/18/09 2:03 PM
MissCelie said...
Ok. You win. This looks far more chic than I even imagined it could!
2/18/09 4:08 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely! Well done. I want to make a caftan, too, but it's hard to find a good pattern. This is the nicest I've seen.
2/18/09 4:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Vonne, looks like you are in stylin' in paradise! Very attractive caftan!
2/18/09 4:35 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely!!! You look very cool and ready for the islands!
2/18/09 7:09 PM
Winifred said...
Now that is really lovely Vonne. Its on my wish list and I think I've got just the fabric for it - and the pattern of course!! Enjoy wearing it.
2/18/09 7:29 PM
Aless said...
OK...back to that pattern for me! Will use the reversed pleat idea myself. Never ever thought I'd wear a caftan [first time for everything :-) ] but I neeeed this one. PS Your photo is better than Burda's.
2/18/09 8:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking caftan.
2/19/09 4:43 PM
Kathi R said...
Great use of unusual fabric, once again a very complete review. Thanks.
2/24/09 7:35 PM
alviana said...
Beautiful! the fabric is perfect for the pattern. very summer look :)
4/7/10 9:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Kwik Sew 3740 Tops
photo
Review by SueT on 7/29/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tessuti Anita Ponti Pants
photo
Review by ajhewing on 6/2/13
Read Review

New Look 6305 Pattern
New Look 6305 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us