SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> Sewing for Toddlers (Side Seam Pants)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1242 times 
Reviewed by:JustSewCrafty
photo

 
 
About JustSewCraftystar
WA USA
Member since: 12/6/02
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/03 11:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JustSewCrafty said... (11/6/03 12:35 PM) Reply
Hilary, I use elastic from the bins at the front of the store at JoAnn. It's just the cheap Lastic and it's woven not the non-roll, after you topstitch is will seem stretched out but shrinks back up wonderfully when washed. I do cut the elastic about 1"-1.5" shorter when i am going to topstitch it. The size tags are just little 2T tabs I bought from a source online, but her link doesn't seem active anymore. I have seen them in sewing catalogs, so you might find them there.
Celeste said... (11/5/03 2:27 PM) Reply
Hilary, get the elastic with vertical ribs--see this website, it is great: http://www.ianr.unl.edu/PUBS/textiles/nf412.htm There is an explanation here of the different elastics. There is a nonroll stretch elastic with very strong vertical ribs made by Stretch-Rite, I think. I've used it and sewn thru it and it was just fine. Read the article on the attached website.
Millie said... (11/4/03 10:27 AM) Reply
Very inspiring! I too am looking for pants sized with room enough for cloth diapers. I've given up with RTW for that reason specifically.
JDpenelope said... (11/4/03 8:23 AM) Reply
There's something dear about this picture! And those cute little eyes peeking out from the pink hat at the bottom! Precious. I have this book, need to get back to it.
mudcat said... (11/3/03 9:21 PM) Reply
I don't know why, but seeing the picture of the pants hanging in a row cracked me up. I think I was visualizing the toddler yanking a pair down each day. What a well dressed toddler you'll have.
Hilary said... (11/3/03 2:27 PM) Reply
Wow! your sew prolific! lol~I love this pattern, and have made several of these pants. I jut finished a pair today in olive green corduroy for my 3 yr old DS. I put patch pockets on the outer side legs, about knee height. They are so easy and fast, great pattern. How did you topstitch the elastic? I find that if i topstitch elastic it stretches out and doesn't recover well. What kind of elastic did you use?(braided, non-roll, or special brand? ) Also what did you use to make a sze tag? great idea~ I mark the back w/ a loop of ribbon when i make the casing. Great job on the pants!
Lou. said... (11/3/03 6:40 AM) Reply
Very cute! I love this book!
Pam Z said... (11/3/03 2:24 AM) Reply
Too cute! Going to have to get this book.
Karen Bowers said... (11/2/03 11:56 PM) Reply
they look great! amazing how corduroy takes that pants pattern up a notch! i like the topstitching on the elastic waistband as well.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Other Anne Adams 4799

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details
No Pattern Used 000

photo
by: Montarvill...

Review