SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> Sewing for Toddlers (Side Seam Pants)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1240 times 
Reviewed by:JustSewCrafty
photo

 
 
About JustSewCraftystar
WA USA
Member since: 12/6/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/03 11:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
they look great! amazing how corduroy takes that pants pattern up a notch! i like the topstitching on the elastic waistband as well.
11/2/03 11:56 PM
Pam Z said...
Too cute! Going to have to get this book.
11/3/03 2:24 AM
Lou. said...
Very cute! I love this book!
11/3/03 6:40 AM
Hilary said...
Wow! your sew prolific! lol~I love this pattern, and have made several of these pants. I jut finished a pair today in olive green corduroy for my 3 yr old DS. I put patch pockets on the outer side legs, about knee height. They are so easy and fast, great pattern. How did you topstitch the elastic? I find that if i topstitch elastic it stretches out and doesn't recover well. What kind of elastic did you use?(braided, non-roll, or special brand? ) Also what did you use to make a sze tag? great idea~ I mark the back w/ a loop of ribbon when i make the casing. Great job on the pants!
11/3/03 2:27 PM
mudcat said...
I don't know why, but seeing the picture of the pants hanging in a row cracked me up. I think I was visualizing the toddler yanking a pair down each day. What a well dressed toddler you'll have.
11/3/03 9:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
There's something dear about this picture! And those cute little eyes peeking out from the pink hat at the bottom! Precious. I have this book, need to get back to it.
11/4/03 8:23 AM
Millie said...
Very inspiring! I too am looking for pants sized with room enough for cloth diapers. I've given up with RTW for that reason specifically.
11/4/03 10:27 AM
Celeste said...
Hilary, get the elastic with vertical ribs--see this website, it is great: http://www.ianr.unl.edu/PUBS/textiles/nf412.htm There is an explanation here of the different elastics. There is a nonroll stretch elastic with very strong vertical ribs made by Stretch-Rite, I think. I've used it and sewn thru it and it was just fine. Read the article on the attached website.
11/5/03 2:27 PM
JustSewCrafty said...
Hilary, I use elastic from the bins at the front of the store at JoAnn. It's just the cheap Lastic and it's woven not the non-roll, after you topstitch is will seem stretched out but shrinks back up wonderfully when washed. I do cut the elastic about 1"-1.5" shorter when i am going to topstitch it. The size tags are just little 2T tabs I bought from a source online, but her link doesn't seem active anymore. I have seen them in sewing catalogs, so you might find them there.
11/6/03 12:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

StyleArc Holiday Hollie jacket

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Quick Pencil Case

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review