SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> Sewing for Toddlers (Side Seam Pants)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1240 times 
Reviewed by:JustSewCrafty
photo

 
 
About JustSewCraftystar
WA USA
Member since: 12/6/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/03 11:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
they look great! amazing how corduroy takes that pants pattern up a notch! i like the topstitching on the elastic waistband as well.
11/2/03 11:56 PM
Pam Z said...
Too cute! Going to have to get this book.
11/3/03 2:24 AM
Lou. said...
Very cute! I love this book!
11/3/03 6:40 AM
Hilary said...
Wow! your sew prolific! lol~I love this pattern, and have made several of these pants. I jut finished a pair today in olive green corduroy for my 3 yr old DS. I put patch pockets on the outer side legs, about knee height. They are so easy and fast, great pattern. How did you topstitch the elastic? I find that if i topstitch elastic it stretches out and doesn't recover well. What kind of elastic did you use?(braided, non-roll, or special brand? ) Also what did you use to make a sze tag? great idea~ I mark the back w/ a loop of ribbon when i make the casing. Great job on the pants!
11/3/03 2:27 PM
mudcat said...
I don't know why, but seeing the picture of the pants hanging in a row cracked me up. I think I was visualizing the toddler yanking a pair down each day. What a well dressed toddler you'll have.
11/3/03 9:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
There's something dear about this picture! And those cute little eyes peeking out from the pink hat at the bottom! Precious. I have this book, need to get back to it.
11/4/03 8:23 AM
Millie said...
Very inspiring! I too am looking for pants sized with room enough for cloth diapers. I've given up with RTW for that reason specifically.
11/4/03 10:27 AM
Celeste said...
Hilary, get the elastic with vertical ribs--see this website, it is great: http://www.ianr.unl.edu/PUBS/textiles/nf412.htm There is an explanation here of the different elastics. There is a nonroll stretch elastic with very strong vertical ribs made by Stretch-Rite, I think. I've used it and sewn thru it and it was just fine. Read the article on the attached website.
11/5/03 2:27 PM
JustSewCrafty said...
Hilary, I use elastic from the bins at the front of the store at JoAnn. It's just the cheap Lastic and it's woven not the non-roll, after you topstitch is will seem stretched out but shrinks back up wonderfully when washed. I do cut the elastic about 1"-1.5" shorter when i am going to topstitch it. The size tags are just little 2T tabs I bought from a source online, but her link doesn't seem active anymore. I have seen them in sewing catalogs, so you might find them there.
11/6/03 12:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 2872

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now