Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 653 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/09 0:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Both of these are AMAZING! I have had this pattern for a very long time. I must admit I have been scared to tackle the pattern from all the reviews on it. Not only can you sew wonderful bags, you are quite the cake decorator too!
2/21/09 0:43 AM
a.me.s said...
wow, these look great! i have this pattern but it intimidates me :)
2/21/09 0:47 AM
SueV said...
Great bags! Great review!! I have this in my sewing line-up and your review and suggestions will help immensely. Thanks
2/21/09 1:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great bags, I'm making this pattern at the moment, but have hard time with it. Glad the pattern works so good for you.
2/21/09 4:43 AM
Lori V said...
These are amazing and the fabrics are stunning. The cake is wonderful, too. Great job, you are a talented lady.
2/21/09 7:01 AM
Lynnelle said...
Great bags and great review. Well done!
2/21/09 8:26 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful!
2/21/09 8:35 AM
MissCelie said...
I want to cry they are soooo good and l love the fleur de Lis. I'm in the middle of mine right now waiting for my zipper to arrive from LA. I'm happy to hear the pattern worked well for you. It's making me hopeful that I can actually finish mine!
2/21/09 8:40 AM
Elke said...
You did an awesome job resulting in two beautiful bags! I plan to try this pattern. Thanks for the tips (going slowly & web site adding directions)
2/21/09 8:52 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Whenever I fly, I admire the swanky bags carried by some passengers as they make their way to their seats. If I had one of these bags, I would proudly carry it high and conspicuously as I sashayed my way to my seat. I adore tote bags in general, but these are masterpieces! I, too, love the fleur de lis design and the way you placed the appliqués so that the design peeks out from inside and outside of the pockets (more work, but more “wow” factor, too). Thanks for the detailed review and the helpful hints. BTW, the cake is fabulous! Your family and friends are lucky to be the recipients of your magnificent handiwork. Now I am off to buy AB’s weekender pattern!
2/21/09 9:53 AM
Patti B said...
Wow. These are two gorgeous bags! I had been put off by the other reviews even though the bags turned out beautifully. Now, I'll reconsider.
2/21/09 10:13 AM
katlew03 said...
Gorgeous bags. I'll have to make a couple to replace the old duffle bags of DH's that I now use for out weekend trips.
2/21/09 10:31 AM
cindyann said...
How lovely! Perhaps I should give it a go. The new and improved instructions make it tempting.
2/21/09 11:11 AM
Izzie said...
Wow! Gorgeous bags. I love the fleur de lis detail and the way you split it on the outside pocket..the peace charm is a nice touch too. Your daughters will love these.
2/21/09 11:32 AM
FurGal said...
These bags are fabulous! You did a wonderful job and the fabrics are perfect. By all means, please share your niece's bags with us. :D
2/21/09 12:02 PM
wineyjudy said...
These bags are totally cute!! It makes me want to tackle a bag! Great work!!
2/21/09 12:57 PM
Diane E said...
What AnneMarie60 said!! I am ordering this pattern right now. Love love love the bags you made for your daughters; lusting after the cake you made for your friend. Leaves RTW bags in the dust.
2/21/09 12:59 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Markie, those are so fab! I have had this pattern sitting for so long- and now you gave me a great idea for Easter gifts for my tribe of daughters!!
2/21/09 2:59 PM
jent said...
I love this bag too - I made one and it's definitely worth the effort. I use it for the gym and get so many compliments. Good to know about the new instructions. I may have to try another one. Yours are gorgeous btw.
2/21/09 4:59 PM
Peggy L said...
Great bags - I am sure your girls were thrilled. Thanks for a very informative review. You make me want to tackle one of these.
2/21/09 7:57 PM
Meredith P said...
Wow, beautiful bags! You did a beautiful job, with what seems to be a challenging pattern. Very helpful review. Gives me hope. And I love the cake too.
2/22/09 8:22 AM
crisford said...
Fabulous! Thanks for the great review and letting us know about the new improved instructions--I'm glad I waited. Your bags look so beautiful.
2/22/09 10:14 AM
cmarie12 said...
...almost...I am almost pushed over the edge to purchase this pattern! *LOL* These are amazing bags and it is wonderful that you made such stunning bags for your relatives!
2/22/09 9:26 PM
Elona said...
Gee, Markie, these are gorgeous!
2/22/09 10:25 PM
nancy2001 said...
Truly gorgeous bags. Beautifully made. I love the Fleur de Lis -- it adds the perfect designer touch.
2/27/09 11:06 AM
sasastorme said...
Where can you download the new instructions? I am scared of sewing through all those layers.
3/1/09 2:38 AM
cindy-lou said...
OMG, Markie, you are a total perfectionist-- and these two bags are TOTAL perfection! I love them. Bet your girls do too. And cakes too? Serious talent!!! :)
3/6/09 10:03 PM
Elle D said...
Brilliant, I LOVE your fabric choices. As much as I admire Amy Butler's fabric designs, they wouldn't work with my wardrobe. Suit fabrics, definitely. I have this pattern and will refer to your review when I get to it (must finish Speed Tailoring jacket first!). Thanks for the heads up on the updated instructions.
3/7/09 9:52 PM
Wilzmom said...
I've also had this pattern for a while, nervous to start. You've inspired me! The bags are beautiful.
6/21/09 6:14 PM
3HoursPast said...
Your bags are gorgeous. Wow.
2/1/10 0:44 AM
Catramsey said...
Very detailed and helpful
3/4/10 10:23 AM
Laura O said...
I mostly sew bags but I swore I would not make this one after reading the reviews. But this weekend when I was shopping for new luggage I saw a 'weekender' and almost bought it. It was gray, and very simple and stylish but all I could think of was that darned Amy Butler pattern! Even though I really don't have the time right now, we travel a lot so I think I'm going to have to bite the bullet and make one! And I have to tell you, my mother is a fabulous cake decorator so I recognize 'good' when I see it. You did a spectacular job with yours! You must be very artistic.
4/7/10 8:29 PM
Hilary said...
Great bags (and beautiful cake! yum!)! Your DDs are so lucky, I bet they LOVE their bags! Thanks for the great review.
9/8/10 11:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Amy Butler AB031LTC
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/16/08
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1302 Tofino pants
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 5/23/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us