SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8182 (MISSES' DRESS)

9 more reviews
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:darse
photo

 
 
About darsestar
WA USA
Member since: 3/25/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/09 11:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Pretty dress,looks great on you!
2/24/09 11:50 PM
morzel said...
This second one turned out beautiful. What pattern did you use for the bodice?
2/25/09 2:22 AM
inkstain said...
Absolutely agree with everything. I haven't posted my review on this because it would make painful reading! But thanks. I ended up with way too much fabric on the midriff section and cut many inches off the end to get the ruched effect. Fitted the bodice many times to get it gap-free but it feels quite tight when worn. And used a crepe silk that was very fine, still had trouble inserting a neat zipper through all the ruching on the side.
2/25/09 5:12 AM
maidathome said...
Looks great on you.
2/25/09 8:18 AM
Mahler said...
The final product is beautiful. I think that all the trouble was worth it. I love the combinaion of pattern and fabric. Great dress !
2/25/09 9:22 AM
Morisot said...
Glad you overcame the pattern woes. Great fabric. Pretty result.
2/25/09 9:41 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress is cute. Glad you submitted this review.
2/25/09 9:49 AM
Byrdie said...
Thank you for the heads up on the pattern. Despite your troubles you came out with a beautiful dress:)
2/25/09 10:03 AM
DivaQ said...
Nice dress!
2/25/09 10:21 AM
ambergirl134 said...
I love your fabric. Very cute dress.
2/25/09 1:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
lovely.
2/25/09 8:12 PM
Secretsugar said...
Yes, I'd be interested in hearing what bodice pattern you used, too, because this dress is fabulous! I'd say all your tinkering was definitely worth it!
2/25/09 10:00 PM
darse said...
Aww, thanks! I wish I had bought more of this fabric--I really like it. Inkstain--I ran into the same exact problem with the midriff. I trimmed off at least an inch or so, which didn't make inserting the zipper any easier! About the bodice--it is from Butterick 4444. This was actually the first pattern I ever made! The dress turned out horrible, but I like the bodice a lot because instead of gathering under the bust, the fabric overlaps. It is much easier to fit properly, I think, and looks nicer than gathering. I kept the bodice back from the Vogue pattern and just trimmed up the shoulder "straps" so they fitted together. The two bodices (front and back) were actually quite easy to match up.
2/26/09 11:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 295545-1006

photo
by: divabuddha

Review