Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8182 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 597 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:darse
photo
About darsestar
WA USA
Member since: 3/25/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/09 11:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Pretty dress,looks great on you!
2/24/09 11:50 PM
morzel said...
This second one turned out beautiful. What pattern did you use for the bodice?
2/25/09 2:22 AM
inkstain said...
Absolutely agree with everything. I haven't posted my review on this because it would make painful reading! But thanks. I ended up with way too much fabric on the midriff section and cut many inches off the end to get the ruched effect. Fitted the bodice many times to get it gap-free but it feels quite tight when worn. And used a crepe silk that was very fine, still had trouble inserting a neat zipper through all the ruching on the side.
2/25/09 5:12 AM
maidathome said...
Looks great on you.
2/25/09 8:18 AM
Mahler said...
The final product is beautiful. I think that all the trouble was worth it. I love the combinaion of pattern and fabric. Great dress !
2/25/09 9:22 AM
Morisot said...
Glad you overcame the pattern woes. Great fabric. Pretty result.
2/25/09 9:41 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress is cute. Glad you submitted this review.
2/25/09 9:49 AM
Byrdie said...
Thank you for the heads up on the pattern. Despite your troubles you came out with a beautiful dress:)
2/25/09 10:03 AM
DivaQ said...
Nice dress!
2/25/09 10:21 AM
ambergirl134 said...
I love your fabric. Very cute dress.
2/25/09 1:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
lovely.
2/25/09 8:12 PM
Secretsugar said...
Yes, I'd be interested in hearing what bodice pattern you used, too, because this dress is fabulous! I'd say all your tinkering was definitely worth it!
2/25/09 10:00 PM
darse said...
Aww, thanks! I wish I had bought more of this fabric--I really like it. Inkstain--I ran into the same exact problem with the midriff. I trimmed off at least an inch or so, which didn't make inserting the zipper any easier! About the bodice--it is from Butterick 4444. This was actually the first pattern I ever made! The dress turned out horrible, but I like the bodice a lot because instead of gathering under the bust, the fabric overlaps. It is much easier to fit properly, I think, and looks nicer than gathering. I kept the bodice back from the Vogue pattern and just trimmed up the shoulder "straps" so they fitted together. The two bodices (front and back) were actually quite easy to match up.
2/26/09 11:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Pillows
photo
Review by mClones on 4/22/05
Read Review

Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1611 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5877 Pajama Shorts
photo
Review by SunnyQ on 10/7/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us