SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-108 (Knit Top with Bateau Neckline)

45 more reviews
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/1/09 5:31 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I wish the fit would have turned out like you wanted. I also wish I would have made my top out of YOUR fabric.... so much cuter than what I chose when making this top!
3/1/09 6:14 PM
Annette1 said...
This is really a nice top, Linda, VERY wearable, indeed. I wonder how it would be if you made the neck/shoulders a size smaller? I really LIKE that neckline though, just the way it is. :o) Maybe make the shoulders/armholes a size smaller, but leave the neck alone, if you know what I mean. Of course, you realize I have the LEAST experience with KNITS of anyone. :o) I KNOW you'll get the fit perfected, and in the meantime you'll be getting lots of compliments on this one. :o)
3/1/09 6:19 PM
Liana said...
It's a pretty top, but it looks like you may have done more of an FBA than you needed. Maybe this top already had more room than usual drafted in. I wonder what would happen if you just folded out a tuck vertically right over the bust point. It would narrow your shoulder and remove some of the fullness too. You could pin it in on this one to see what happens. Each knit is so different as well, so that may be part of your extra fullness problem. Really, it looks good on you, though!
3/1/09 6:55 PM
marjenann said...
Smart looking top and divine fabric!! I have 12 issues of Burda and have not made one thing!!! Perhaps I should try this one!!!
3/1/09 7:10 PM
Ody said...
I think the fullness issue almost looks like they gather or ease areas on purpose now on tops. Wonderful fabric and I think it looks great on you.
3/1/09 10:29 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely fabric in this top.
3/2/09 2:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda 8281

photo
by: bimbleandp...

Review

Pattern

Kwik Sew 2881

photo
by: SamF

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now