SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 60565 (By Popular Demand)

24 more reviews
Viewed 2189 times 
Reviewed by:Tee Jay
photo

 
 
About Tee Jaystar
TX USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/03 8:51 PM
Last Updated:11/9/03 10:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mbarkle said...
Great looking jacket. I have the pattern, took her class, this may be the inspiration I need to get it made up. Very nice.
11/9/03 9:05 PM
CatherineN said...
Looks nice but nothing like the pattern drawing. I've heard others comment on that too. Very attractive on you.
11/9/03 9:49 PM
jlg said...
Tee Jay, your jacket turned out great. I think that I would leave the topstitching as is.
11/10/03 5:21 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your jacket looks great on you, I wouldn't change a thing. Beautiful work!
11/10/03 6:12 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice. Great color. I think I'd leave the topstitching as is too.
11/10/03 7:26 AM
katharin said...
Thank you for the review. The darts are clever. The jacket looks great on you, and I am sure it will look great in corduroy too.
11/10/03 7:49 AM
Star said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern from her this summer at Martha Pullen. I even got her to sign the pattern! (My family thought I was crazy.) One question, did you find this to be a tedious project? About how long (in hours) did you complete the process? Your jacket looks great!
11/10/03 8:22 AM
SansSouci572 said...
This jacket does not look boxy! Glad to see it, as I have the pattern! Thanks!!
11/10/03 10:22 AM
frogs2 said...
Great looking jacket. You've got wonderful shoulders, and I really like how crisp it looks.
11/10/03 12:19 PM
Tee Jay said...
Star--I was at same Expo--I just didn't think to ask Louise for an autographed copy of the pattern. Tedious? No--I had fun making it probably because there were no mistakes to speak of (up to the last topstiching of the front edges) and good instruction meant no down time trying to figure stuff out. I did a quickie muslin to check fit first. Topstitching takes time (and thread, I'll have to buy another spool of thread to finish), but time at machine is my favorite. I sew in spurts of time after work and never time myself (I'd probably quit sewing if I did, I'm slow). Best collar edge I've ever done due to Louise's special collar pattern piece. Give it a try.
11/10/03 9:46 PM
Mini said...
Tee Jay, nice job! This looked awful on me, but is very cute on you:). You can do the petite adjustment on this jacket the same as on other patterns, but I think it is easier to see what you're doing with the two piece sleeve if you temporarily make it one piece. You can butt the two parts together along the stitching line, folding the seam allowance out of the way. Or just trace it that way. The same applies to the back pieces-it is easier to visualize the adjusted fit with the back temporarily in one piece. (You can also make the jacket that way for a different look.)
11/11/03 4:49 PM
Mary Lesperance said...
Thanks so much for your review! The jacket looks great on you! Except for height, I have similar measurements, and your review helps me to decide on sizing. Louise's patterns have very little waist shaping, and your use of the darts is wonderful!
11/19/03 8:17 AM
patsijean said...
I love the pinch pleat suggestion, as I am not sure I would like all those pockets on a 'tad' overweight (I'm loosing) 5'2" figure. Consider using shallower pleats in the back also. It will give some curve to your figure.
3/11/06 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Burda 7872

photo
by: sewmodest

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 265747-1001

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now