SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-118 (tunic dress (shortened to top))

11 more reviews
Viewed 398 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
United Kingdom
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews: 262 (patterns: 252)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 10:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Speech girl said... (3/6/09 2:19 PM) Reply
Your top is lovely--well worth all the trouble your fabric gave you.
QuiltSewSewSue said... (3/3/09 5:21 PM) Reply
I love that top! I will have to go back and have another look at this pattern.
Geordie Girl said... (3/3/09 2:38 PM) Reply
This came out great. I also think I like your shorter version better
lilyofthevalley said... (3/3/09 1:41 PM) Reply
Squirrellypoo, It was brilliant to shorten this tunic to top length; all the design interest is really concentrated up at your face. Wool jersey is one of my favorite fabrics but yes, it can be a stinker as it does like to curl and wave. To tame my hems, I first secure the hem in place with double sided fusible tape (not sure what it would be called in UK) - and then stitch on top of the fusible double tape, lifting the presser foot frequently to minimize the "waves." You've inspired me to take a good long look at this pretty tunic/top. Lovely, Lily
michellep74 said... (3/3/09 1:00 PM) Reply
I love this as a top--a very cute and comfortable-looking top!
pterion said... (3/3/09 11:26 AM) Reply
Love this style. It looks wonderful on you. Great photo.
squirrellypoo said... (3/3/09 11:05 AM) Reply
hahah, RenRen you're hilarious! Yeah I hadn't thought about showing off my (under)wares like that! And yes, that is the Thames behind, and it looks like the tide was going out, judging by the scrap of mud in the corner... (and a coverstitch machine is on my birthday list, fingers crossed!!)
EleanorSews said... (3/3/09 11:05 AM) Reply
Just might be that this style works just as well if not better as a top. Nice style with lots of possibilities for wear.
renren said... (3/3/09 10:41 AM) Reply
Here we see the Lady in White with the Thames (I presume) in the background. Great job as usual. I can't help you with your hem, but once I used spray adhesive to good effect. These other folks will probably recommend a coverstitch machine. As far as the "Hey, here's my bra syndrome," as I recall you made a beautiful black/blue lace bra recently . . . so any of the HMBS will probably be met with "Nice top, smashing bra!" If I had a bra that lovely, I probably would be tempted to let it show!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Patterns of Time 1776

photo
by: ZulmaFrenc...

Review
StyleArc Lucy Knit Dress

photo
by: Mmmberry

Review
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Pattern Details