Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jean Hardy: 630 (Misses' Riding Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 391 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/09 1:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
BRAVO! for sticking this through -- your DD has a beautiful coat. After all this work, if it does end up on the floor of the barn, well, I'd think there'd be some more clapper-beating called for . . . LOL
3/5/09 2:55 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome! Hat's off to your perseverance in the hunt to the end. & lucky daughter!
3/5/09 6:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
After the years of putting together Suitability I hope now adult (horse loving) daughter never wants to fox hunt or wants me to revisit sewing competition jackets/clothes. Lol! Your daughter's jacket looks really great- nice work.
3/5/09 7:02 AM
mars418 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket and great job completing what sounds like an impossible job! Love the canary vest also.
3/5/09 7:05 AM
marjenann said...
Totally awesome and amazing!! This is a once in a lifetime coat. I am sure your DD will cherish this forever. A true masterpiece. You have raised the bar!!
3/5/09 7:44 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow your work paid off...that's a beautiful coat. PLEASE do not let it hit the floor of the barn or any other floor !!
3/5/09 8:41 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a great jacket and what an adventure. Tally ho!
3/5/09 9:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! When I lived in England, I paid 250 pounds for my wool riding jacket (12 years ago) - You did a great job - it's just beautiful!
3/5/09 9:57 AM
amy in mpls said...
What a well done jacket! Shoot, i would wear it out with jeans its so cute! Best of luck to your DD!
3/5/09 12:14 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Well, wow. Yes, a pattern from the 70's would definitely be drafted for a "misses" which is a 16 yo stick figure perfectly erect body with no fat. Thats how they all were. Tailoring.....sigh. I had nothing but empathy for you. Even when you are good at it, there are just so many obstacles. I really like that the pattern is true to the current RTW one or vice versa! It is a gorgeous style. And with you being true to realy wool, and your tailoring, it won't matter that it's on the barn floor, it will last forever!!! That RTW jacket is probably 50%polyester and doesn't have hardly any internal construction at all! Congratulations. This is a fine piece of work you should be very proud of.
3/5/09 1:48 PM
AdaF said...
Good job!
3/5/09 2:52 PM
Christas said...
Simply beautiful jacket! Excellent review!
3/6/09 5:03 PM
PrairieTides said...
Nice job! I've tried the Jean Hardy 1017 Misses tops, the princess seamed top. I don't remember any problems with the instructions, but the muslin I made ended up too short in the body, too low in the front, and just looks bad on me! It looks beautiful on the hanger though! LOL!
7/7/09 1:33 PM
Saille said...
I found this really helpful as far as wondering about how hard the instructions where. I was thinking of buying #680, because i had already made a show coat from suitability and hated the instructions, but at least all the marking where there and the pieces fit together. When i made that show coat, I too went thru my vintage tayloring and sewing books as well as my newer ones! I did ask Jean Hardy if she knew if the instructions are difficult for her patterns and she some people have told her they where. so I guess I will use the suitability pattern again, cuz at least the patterns have all marking on they for lenthening/shortening etc.
1/28/10 11:10 PM
fourkid said...
I just bought this pattern on e-bay. After a few years since your review, there still isn't anything else out there for equestrian jackets. DD just asked me to do this for her. I have never done a tailored jacket - but I will do what I can. Thanks for the heads up on the difficult areas and the tips. I am hoping to persevere to the end and hope my jacket will look as good as yours - they are so expensive to buy new (or even gently used), aren't they?
2/18/11 11:37 PM
Arctic Mama said...
Wow. Just wow. Looks awesome, and after hearing the arduous battle to complete it, my hat is off to you!
9/9/13 7:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-117 blouse
photo
Review by Frogstitch... on 1/3/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0157 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0157 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9499 Pattern
Burda 9499 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by style insp... on 6/2/13
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us