Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5535 (Women's Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 369 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:AZNancy
photo
About AZNancystar
AZ USA
Member since: 4/25/08
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/09 11:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Take heart, you are not the only one who makes up a reasonable pattern and realizes that the fabric is just not right. My guess is that you would be happier in a soft drapey solid color. The style of this dress does seem to fit the need you describe.
3/5/09 1:16 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I think it's adorable. In the current fabric, it looks like a nice dress to wear when company is coming over for dinner. I agree that a lighter wgt knit and a shorter length would produce a really great dress for work.
3/5/09 2:53 PM
sewtime said...
I like the print, it looks so pretty! Thank you for the review!!
3/5/09 4:22 PM
katlew03 said...
I like the print, also. However, I can see where it might be a little overpowering. This pattern would look nice in a softer color and less dramatic print or solid.
3/5/09 9:48 PM
Sew tell me said...
Nice job. The pattern doesn't look like much but your fabric choice really brings it out.
3/6/09 0:40 AM
Evil Olive said...
Love the dress AND the fabric. Also, I never noticed this great pattern before, so thank you!
3/6/09 0:59 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Well, I'm a sucker for all sorts of brown fabric so I love it!
3/6/09 5:52 AM
Ida wants to learn said...
I actually like the fabric you chose. I am making a shirt pattern similar to this right now.
5/5/09 11:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by nicegirl on 10/18/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by redcleo on 7/16/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us