SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-128 (Trench Coat)

Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:loohoo44
photo

 
 
About loohoo44star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 4:51 PM
Last Updated:3/10/09 5:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosannec said...
Your trench is wonderful! I love all of the details - the time and attention paid is clearly evident. And, where did you find matching lining for the sleeves? I purchased the same fabric but never came across a lining. I love your coat - it looks fabulous. Now you can use the remaining fabric to make a coordinating tote!
3/10/09 5:03 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
3/10/09 5:17 PM
rsersh said...
This just looks so sharp! The collar might have been a pain but I love it!
3/10/09 5:28 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic.
3/10/09 5:35 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous trenchcoat. You did a fabulous job getting all those details.
3/10/09 6:12 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, you did a great job!!!
3/10/09 6:26 PM
Elke said...
Lovely trenchcoat with attention to detail. It looks great on you.
3/10/09 6:40 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Definitely the investment for years to come, great job.
3/10/09 7:21 PM
Catbird said...
Your first coat, did you say?! It's outstanding and looks perfect in every detail. You'll be able to wear this classic for years!
3/10/09 7:35 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful job - it looks great on you too!
3/10/09 7:41 PM
Christas said...
Your coat looks amazing! So impressive!
3/10/09 7:49 PM
crisford said...
Fabulous coat--I love all the details, and the color/lining combination does look very sharp!
3/10/09 8:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice trench and a beautiful job. Your time spent was well worth it.
3/10/09 9:13 PM
Dei said...
Saw this on your blog. Fantastic!
3/10/09 9:25 PM
Lynnelle said...
Fabulous!
3/10/09 9:40 PM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful trench coat!
3/10/09 10:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. I was there when Cidell found that lining fabric - didn't know it would go into such a great coat. All your hard work paid off. The details are immaculate and you'll wear this with pride for a long time to come.
3/10/09 10:33 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely beautiful! The collar looks perfect.
3/11/09 0:35 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your coat looks terrific, you did an amazing job on it!
3/11/09 0:45 AM
KathleenS said...
That's pretty amazing for a first coat (or a second or third or...!) Beautiful details and finishing.
3/11/09 0:50 AM
Margie T said...
Beautiful coat. Congratulations.
3/11/09 1:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench! Definitely something you will have for many, many years to come.
3/11/09 6:25 AM
cgHipp said...
It looks absolutely fantastic - the fit and construction are wonderful!
3/11/09 6:56 AM
jeanielynn said...
I looked at your blog for a few more pictures and you really did a good job especially with such stiff fabric.
3/11/09 8:05 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is one SHARP looking coat. Your attention to detail and time spent on it really has paid off. Great job!
3/11/09 10:36 AM
loohoo44 said...
thank you so much everyone!! rosannec Cidell found the lining during a shopping trip (apparently with Karen 6790) and grabbed some for me, it was a great find.
3/11/09 11:32 AM
AdaF said...
Georgeous!
3/11/09 12:00 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable job! A definite classic, you'll wear it for years. Excellent review, also.
3/11/09 1:05 PM
Gold said...
You did a wonderful job!!!Looks great on you.
3/11/09 1:51 PM
Stitchcakes said...
WOWW!!! Love it!
3/11/09 3:39 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i am doing some serious gawking Leslie! That topstitching is RTW perfection! and so are the insides! What thread did you use for topstitching? Have fun wearing it!
3/12/09 1:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Leslie, what a beautiful trench. You did an excellent job.....love your exact topstitching detail. Your efforts will certainly be realized for years to come with this classic gem.
3/12/09 11:54 PM
figtree said...
Wow, great trench, I'm so glad to see a review on this one, i wondered about the fit, whether it would be fitted like yours and on the model or a-line like the line drawing, now i know! I think i'd do the same taking in the sides a bit.
3/16/09 12:29 PM
MarionP said...
Lovely job!
4/10/09 5:47 PM
bettysparkles said...
There is so much finesse in this job. Perfection in the details. I am seriously impressed.
6/16/09 6:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow!!! I have been wanting to make this one. Thanks for the inspiration of creating such a gorgeous coat!!!
6/16/09 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5882

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review