SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 575 (Sonya's Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1083 times 
Reviewed by:Ody
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Odystar
MO USA
Member since: 12/6/03
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/09 0:59 AM
Last Updated:3/11/09 1:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LaurieEm said...
Wow - this review, and the incubator blog, have really helped me. I'm plus sized, have never had a good Silhouette sewing experience, and thought it must be me. After all, I was using "one of the best patterns I would ever use." Now at least I will compare the larger size patterns with the skinny versions.
6/6/09 4:39 PM
grey ann said...
I, too, made a muslin and abandoned the pattern, bec I wasn't ready to deal with all the modifications it needed. It swam on me, but now I've had more experience altering patterns, so inspired by your end result, I will go back and try again. You resemble me and your outfit looks great! I, to, would like the capri pants patterns - they fit perfectly.
5/2/09 1:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ody, I am so ecstatic that I get to see you model your creation! You are a gorgeous doll! Love that bonus picture with that priceless expression! I enjoyed your very helpful review and what a stunning top! The cool fit and style beats RTW anyday!
3/14/09 6:47 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful blouse, your achieved great fit. And the colour of both capri and blouse is very good with your skin and hair color. You look great.
3/12/09 9:27 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your hard work paid off! Your ensemble looks great on you. BTW, you have beautiful skin!
3/11/09 8:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely top! It looks fantastic on you!
3/11/09 7:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your new shirt looks wonderful on you, Ody. Peggy Sagers should have hired you to draft it for her.
3/11/09 7:34 PM
FurGal said...
Ody, what a great review! Now that you have solved the problems with this pattern, how about selling it to the rest of us? haha!! Seriously though, I really do like the blouse and you did a wonderful job, looks RTW. Keep up the good work!
3/11/09 6:52 PM
bluenines said...
very nice shirt , and a great fit, it was worth all the extra work, love the color and the capris, thanks for a great review ya made me smile after a really long day at work Happy sewing
3/11/09 4:23 PM
Nancy K said...
Well, it came out very nicely, obviously no thanks to Peggy. It seems that very few designers think beyond the box for plus sizes. This reminds me of the Project Runway episode where they just could not design for plus sized women. I agree with Lily, I would have tossed this early in the fitting process. You need to make this again just to recoup all your fitting time! It is very flattering.
3/11/09 3:04 PM
RLL said...
Ody, I have to jump in here again and appoligize to you. I got my hackles up immediately from the memories of working with this line of patterns and forgot to mention that you deserve the sewer of the year award for sticking with this and making it work for you. It looks great on you, good color and fit (now) and I think you are a really pretty lady. Again, I am sorry for the previous rant.
3/11/09 3:03 PM
Stephenie said...
Wow! This looks great, Melody!! No wonder you were having a "fit" with this...(pun intended ;) Kudos to you, for hanging in there and making a flattering, beautiful blouse.
3/11/09 2:37 PM
RLL said...
Your review just confirms what I have found about Peggy's patterns on the plus size woman. She doesn't get it for us. I have tried more than one, including this one, and depending on my mood either give up or have to completely reinvent the patterns. Alterations I understand on our bodies, but you shouldn't have to redraft.
3/11/09 2:03 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, and all of your reworking of this pattern was SO worth it, because the end result is SUPER flattering on you. I'd by-gosh make it a hundred times more at this point! VERY nice, and I'm bookmarking your review "rat now." :o)
3/11/09 2:01 PM
michellep74 said...
Your blouse turned out great, despite all of the headaches. Thanks for posting this review and reminding many of us to stay away from these patterns...unless we want to totally redraft them. ;)
3/11/09 1:46 PM
1betsy1 said...
Beautiful blouse. I gave up on this pattern after 4 muslins. Yours looks great
3/11/09 1:39 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ody, what a beautiful woman you are; how nice to finally see all of you (including your tongue)! And what a patient, persistent person you are; I think I would rolled this pattern into a spitball, very early in the alteration process. You have miraculously transformed this into a chic and flattering blouse. The color is smashing, too, enhancing your hair tones. Lovely, Lily
3/11/09 1:32 PM
Ody said...
Luckylibbet's comment was so on target about this pattern, that I wrote a comment, but I am editing this to put it into the review itself. Ody
3/11/09 1:27 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'll start off by saying, Ody, your rework totally ROCKS. Gorgeous shirt, and you'll have to make more to make it worth the effort. But just so know - read this blog post http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/pop_quiz_477/ and the subsequent follow up posts. You shouldn't have HAD to do that much work.
3/11/09 12:57 PM
tr1c14 said...
I agree, the work you put into getting that blouse just right really paid off. It's a fantastic outfit. Know what I want to see? I want to see you wear it with crazy bright-coloured shoes!
3/11/09 12:56 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review, Ody. We've been warned! That blouse fits like a dream, though. Your hard work paid off. I think you should use the stick-out-the-tongue picture for your bio pix! : )
3/11/09 12:32 PM
cecelia said...
Ody, it is so nice to really see you, and the blouse looks terrific. Lots of changes, huh? Ugh, I have this pattern, and I'm plus. If I ever do make it though, I'll refer to your review--thanks for doing it. And I like rebellious--you go, girl.
3/11/09 11:59 AM
mhk3boys said...
You did a great job on this shirt and you got 'er done!
3/11/09 11:45 AM
mastdenman said...
I love the blouse and love what you did with the collar. Love your review.
3/11/09 10:11 AM
JEF said...
Thank you for the review. I think your shirt looks great on. I have this pattern and it's on my short list. You may have just pushed it a little further down since I'm not skinny-binny :)
3/11/09 10:08 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a wonderful looking set. I need some capris that fit like that also. I think I would just make this set again and again as it is perfection.
3/11/09 10:02 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Melody, what a super fantastic review. You are a better woman than I to stay with this pattern. I gave up on it after pinning my complete redraft of the pattern to my dress form. All your hard work on it paid off though. It's a great fitting flattering blouse. Make it a dozen more times in some beautiful fabrics. Smart move putting in the side vents. Now we can have lunch too.
3/11/09 9:40 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks so much for the review -- I'm really curious about this line of patterns, and you certainly got great results, but that's probably because of your talent as a sewer, rather than the pattern itself. Glad you made it work!
3/11/09 9:22 AM
Annette Wright said...
What a cute shirt....sorry you had so many alterations to make, but it's really nice. But, Ody...the capris in the photo are to die for. Talk about fit, what pattern are they?
3/11/09 7:41 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Too funny!! " Ody, if you make THAT face for too long, your pretty face will stay like that!!" Excellent review!
3/11/09 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

McCall's 5855

photo
by: divabuddha

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

More Info
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

More Info