Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-104 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 556 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/09 10:57 AM
Last Updated:3/23/09 8:37 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dei said...
From what I can see, this looks beautiful! You may want to resize your main jacket image because the link says its 1 x 1 pixels so that it can be viewed. Thx!
3/22/09 11:22 AM
Linda G said...
YOu jacket is beautiful. I like the collar idea, I too would like to see the main jacket image. I have looked at this pattern often, I like yours better with buttons all the way down the front.
3/22/09 11:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
I love your detail pictures. You changed the collar very originally, and I like it very much. A good picture showing the complete jacket would be nice. Great jacket.
3/22/09 11:36 AM
Elona said...
The detail shots certain show a very handsome creation.
3/22/09 11:58 AM
lmg said...
Love it, especially the collar alteration. Neat jacket.
3/22/09 12:10 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I've had some bad surprises because of forgetting that Burda often gives you dimensions for something assuming you'll cut it on fold. I'm thinking of a collar that was supposed to be 15cm, only they really meant 15cm on the fold, 30cm total. You may have had that with the sleeve tabs. Yes please, a picture!! The thumbnail looks great :-).
3/22/09 12:13 PM
Catbird said...
From afar, your jacket looks GREAT, but I'm having trouble with the main image also. I'll join the chorus of hopeful people asking you to re-post it because I'd love to get a better look. (And congratulations on your first review!)
3/22/09 12:56 PM
Amanda S. said...
Ditto about the image, but it looks great from the closeups you've included. I especially like what you've done to the collar and the added buttons.
3/22/09 2:47 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for sharing your modifications. It is nice when one uses a pattern as a starting point and makes it their own. Looks like a great jacket.
3/22/09 3:23 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thanks for the feedback! After five tries I cannot seem to change the photo. I go to edit my review to change the picture as suggested but, when I hit the "Publish to site" button, nothing happens. Help! What am I doing wrong? Nevermind...as noted in my review, I finally figured it out (it helps to read the instructions!).
3/22/09 5:50 PM
CatMukai said...
the collar alteration is innovative, I like it!
3/22/09 7:56 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is so awesome. the fabric is a perfect match to the style, fitting the more industrial, modern lines of the jacket. It looks so well sewn.
3/23/09 0:09 AM
Re Becca said...
I like your collar better. I am sure that you will get a lot of good wear out of this "muslin"
3/23/09 8:57 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Fuzzygalore - Thanks for the advice. Do you know if, when BWOF writes "(incl. allowances)", do they mean the allowances need to be added or that the allowances have been added? Perhaps I am missing something in the translation!
3/23/09 9:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh I love what you did with the collar! I didn't like the original BWOF jacket but now I do with your collar alteration. Great jacket!
3/24/09 0:58 AM
Sic said...
Lovely!
3/24/09 8:06 AM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful jacket! It turned out gorgeous!
3/24/09 8:48 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I LOVE your collar!!! SO SO interesting.
3/24/09 9:06 AM
nglalala said...
You're muslin really is superb! I would've never guessed it was a muslin!
3/24/09 11:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket.
3/24/09 11:51 AM
Catbird said...
Yay! I'm glad you were able to work out all the photo issues. Your jacket is superb! I agree with dvmcindy about the fabric matching the 'industrial, modern lines of the jacket'. You're following in the proud tradition of PR members making versions that far exceed the originals in the magazine. You asked about the BWOF instructions that say 'incl. allowances' and I'll pass along an e-mail exchange I had with Burda about that. Maybe it will help. Here is the gist of my question to them: "I have a question about pattern pieces that are given as just dimensions, such as belts and square pockets, etc. Is seam allowance included in the dimensions given? And if so, how much is included? On some of the pieces, finished width is provided, so we can figure it out from there, but on some it's not provided, so I find it a bit confusing. Can you clarify it for me?" And here is their answer (verbatim, in that old familiar Burdaspeak we love so well): "If it is not explicitly mentioned, these kind of pattern pieces never have seam allowances. If exceptionally we have some pattern pieces with included seam allowances, it is always stated explicitly in the instructions. Trusting to have been of service to you, kind regards, Christiane Nickolas"
3/24/09 4:22 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Catbird - Ach der lieber! (translation: Oh my!) And to think I had two years of German! I guess I will interpret BWOF's response as the "(incl. allowances)" statement means the seam allowances ARE included in the measurement they provide. and, thank your exceptionally help to me so much very! (translation: thanks!). :-)
3/24/09 9:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a stylish and wonderfully crafted jacket!
3/25/09 12:20 PM
Catbird said...
Donna, if only I knew German I could send a properly mangled response, but since I don't, I'll just say you're welcome!
3/25/09 5:13 PM
Rebecca D said...
I happened to be sitting at the same table with Donna when she started this jacket at our retreat. I can attest to the lovely result because I've seen it in person.
4/4/09 3:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6328 misses shorts
photo
Review by CindysIsla... on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Ceidhle on 12/1/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us