SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2008-104 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 556 times 
Reviewed by:Donna Likes Golf
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Donna Likes Golfstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/09 10:57 AM
Last Updated:3/23/09 8:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dei said...
From what I can see, this looks beautiful! You may want to resize your main jacket image because the link says its 1 x 1 pixels so that it can be viewed. Thx!
3/22/09 11:22 AM
Linda G said...
YOu jacket is beautiful. I like the collar idea, I too would like to see the main jacket image. I have looked at this pattern often, I like yours better with buttons all the way down the front.
3/22/09 11:28 AM
Sigrid. said...
I love your detail pictures. You changed the collar very originally, and I like it very much. A good picture showing the complete jacket would be nice. Great jacket.
3/22/09 11:36 AM
Elona said...
The detail shots certain show a very handsome creation.
3/22/09 11:58 AM
lmg said...
Love it, especially the collar alteration. Neat jacket.
3/22/09 12:10 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I've had some bad surprises because of forgetting that Burda often gives you dimensions for something assuming you'll cut it on fold. I'm thinking of a collar that was supposed to be 15cm, only they really meant 15cm on the fold, 30cm total. You may have had that with the sleeve tabs. Yes please, a picture!! The thumbnail looks great :-).
3/22/09 12:13 PM
Catbird said...
From afar, your jacket looks GREAT, but I'm having trouble with the main image also. I'll join the chorus of hopeful people asking you to re-post it because I'd love to get a better look. (And congratulations on your first review!)
3/22/09 12:56 PM
Amanda S. said...
Ditto about the image, but it looks great from the closeups you've included. I especially like what you've done to the collar and the added buttons.
3/22/09 2:47 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for sharing your modifications. It is nice when one uses a pattern as a starting point and makes it their own. Looks like a great jacket.
3/22/09 3:23 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Thanks for the feedback! After five tries I cannot seem to change the photo. I go to edit my review to change the picture as suggested but, when I hit the "Publish to site" button, nothing happens. Help! What am I doing wrong? Nevermind...as noted in my review, I finally figured it out (it helps to read the instructions!).
3/22/09 5:50 PM
CatMukai said...
the collar alteration is innovative, I like it!
3/22/09 7:56 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is so awesome. the fabric is a perfect match to the style, fitting the more industrial, modern lines of the jacket. It looks so well sewn.
3/23/09 0:09 AM
Re Becca said...
I like your collar better. I am sure that you will get a lot of good wear out of this "muslin"
3/23/09 8:57 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Fuzzygalore - Thanks for the advice. Do you know if, when BWOF writes "(incl. allowances)", do they mean the allowances need to be added or that the allowances have been added? Perhaps I am missing something in the translation!
3/23/09 9:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh I love what you did with the collar! I didn't like the original BWOF jacket but now I do with your collar alteration. Great jacket!
3/24/09 0:58 AM
Sic said...
Lovely!
3/24/09 8:06 AM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful jacket! It turned out gorgeous!
3/24/09 8:48 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I LOVE your collar!!! SO SO interesting.
3/24/09 9:06 AM
nglalala said...
You're muslin really is superb! I would've never guessed it was a muslin!
3/24/09 11:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket.
3/24/09 11:51 AM
Catbird said...
Yay! I'm glad you were able to work out all the photo issues. Your jacket is superb! I agree with dvmcindy about the fabric matching the 'industrial, modern lines of the jacket'. You're following in the proud tradition of PR members making versions that far exceed the originals in the magazine. You asked about the BWOF instructions that say 'incl. allowances' and I'll pass along an e-mail exchange I had with Burda about that. Maybe it will help. Here is the gist of my question to them: "I have a question about pattern pieces that are given as just dimensions, such as belts and square pockets, etc. Is seam allowance included in the dimensions given? And if so, how much is included? On some of the pieces, finished width is provided, so we can figure it out from there, but on some it's not provided, so I find it a bit confusing. Can you clarify it for me?" And here is their answer (verbatim, in that old familiar Burdaspeak we love so well): "If it is not explicitly mentioned, these kind of pattern pieces never have seam allowances. If exceptionally we have some pattern pieces with included seam allowances, it is always stated explicitly in the instructions. Trusting to have been of service to you, kind regards, Christiane Nickolas"
3/24/09 4:22 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Catbird - Ach der lieber! (translation: Oh my!) And to think I had two years of German! I guess I will interpret BWOF's response as the "(incl. allowances)" statement means the seam allowances ARE included in the measurement they provide. and, thank your exceptionally help to me so much very! (translation: thanks!). :-)
3/24/09 9:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a stylish and wonderfully crafted jacket!
3/25/09 12:20 PM
Catbird said...
Donna, if only I knew German I could send a properly mangled response, but since I don't, I'll just say you're welcome!
3/25/09 5:13 PM
Rebecca D said...
I happened to be sitting at the same table with Donna when she started this jacket at our retreat. I can attest to the lovely result because I've seen it in person.
4/4/09 3:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5135

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review