SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1637 

2 more reviews
Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 697 times 
Reviewed by:One Off
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About One Offstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/28/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/09 4:14 PM
Last Updated:5/9/09 11:58 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
I saw this pattern and fell in love with it too. What about a cream or a subtle stripe binding- maybe a stripe that was tan- muted and shiny.
3/28/09 4:35 PM
lmg said...
I love this pattern too but not for my shape. A tone on tone binding? or the subtle stripe is a good idea too. Even a white binding would not necessarily limit you to just white bottoms IMHO.
3/28/09 5:28 PM
Re Becca said...
I would love to watch your progress on this. I like the idea of white trim. As for your question about the shoulders, I didn't use shoulder pads, but in hindsite, I didn't add enough structure to the shoulders. There was a Marfy sewalong wher I think I posted a picture of the back fit which left a bit to be desired. I am making another one of these in gray. I am considering making it longer and a little more fitting to my figure, are you considering any design changes?
3/28/09 9:45 PM
Kay Y said...
Your mock up looks great! This is going to be really lovely.
5/9/09 12:49 PM
JoanneM said...
Love it. I am watching this one unfold!
5/9/09 1:18 PM
Marie_P. said...
I was in the Cynthia Guffey class and you looked fantastic in the jacket. I can't wait to see the finished version!
5/9/09 2:02 PM
Mahler said...
I love to read reviews about Marfy's pattern. I admire you for going for jacket as well. It will be lovely in that colour. Great choice. I will be following your progress. So far, it looks very nice.
5/9/09 3:54 PM
Elle D said...
Your mock-up looks fabulous; makes me think that this jacket would look great in a similar fabric, perhaps an underlined silk print. Not at all what I had in mind when I bought the pattern, but I tend to be pretty conservative. Thanks the the eye-opening picture, and for the work in progress. I'm looking forward to seeing this develop.
5/9/09 11:25 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I can't wait to see your review of the Marfy pattern. Although it's a muslin, I think it would be cute in some hip and wild pattern.
5/9/09 11:48 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow, can I have your Mock-up number 4? I can't wait to see the final product!
5/10/09 2:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful! I think you could raise the neckline pretty easily, just re-draw the neckline and collar piece the same amount. Also, if there is no pattern piece for a back neck facing you might want to consider adding one. I just finished a trench coat that also has a wide collar and the lining is ever so slightly visble from the front because there was no back neck facing pattern peice and I just totally forgot to add one.
5/10/09 7:51 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your mock up looks like a beautiful work of art. I especially like the way the collar says "collar." Very avant guard.
5/10/09 10:16 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What a gorgeous silhouette. The jacket from your fashion-fabric will be stunning! (...not that the bed sheet doesn't have it's own "subtle" charm, LOL)
5/10/09 10:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew 3828

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Mini Wardrobe

photo
by: nickelc624

Review