SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean, Style 2)

27 more reviews
Viewed 611 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/09 4:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dale C said...
I have this pattern in my stash too. Yours look good, I'll have to dig mine out and try it.
3/31/09 5:57 PM
Diana M said...
I agree with your leaning toward the "slim-fitting' ones, although they both look pretty darn good!
3/31/09 6:14 PM
sewdelighted said...
I think the high waisted makes you look slimmer!!! Maybe it's the color of the belt with the low waisted but the others look better on your figure. I don't usually comment but had to this time!! Both look very nice!! Good job. Haven't tackled jeans in a long time. I, too have this pattern in my stash and have some denim that has aged in my stash long enough.
3/31/09 6:27 PM
mollyshark said...
The ones with the back pockets win, hands down. Much more attractive from the back and the overall fit is better. The others are just too, I dunno, flat? Dumpy? Just not as flattering.
3/31/09 7:18 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gosh I am just so impressed with the finish and fit on both jeans. Love the top-stitching and the pocket details. I guess it all comes down to personal taste and preference, things about both views appeal - the high waist gives a nice feminine shape and I love the pocket detailing - however, I am a huge fan of bootleg, because I think they provide better balance and proportion to the leg. I say go with the bootleg!
3/31/09 8:29 PM
Dee2 said...
I like both jeans--which ever is more comfortable would be my choice. Great job!
3/31/09 9:20 PM
Miranda said...
IT Admin, what a great job you've done on both pairs. I also love this pattern. Think I prefer the bootleg, I always think it is flattering, but really both pairs are great. You've done a really fantastic job with both pairs of jeans, well done!
3/31/09 9:20 PM
Lori V said...
Great job on both jeans, very impressive. I like the ones with the back pockets the best.
3/31/09 11:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Both pair look very nice...Great job!! I think I slightly lean toward the bootleg pair with the low waist but both pair are very flattering.
3/31/09 11:17 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow what a great fit!
3/31/09 11:34 PM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Both pairs of jeans fit you well. I have to say that I like the look of the relaxed fit on you. They make you look slimmer. However, like you I prefer the rise of the mid-rise. As the designer, we can make them the way we want. Enjoy your jeans!
3/31/09 11:50 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, you're going to have a HARD TIME decided which is the ULTIMATE. I really do like BOTH styles, and I bet there will be times that you'll want to choose one over the other, depending on what you're wearing with them. Boy, it's a ROUGH LIFE when you have to choose between TWO great pairs of jeans. :o)
4/1/09 0:37 AM
Em's Summer said...
Hi ITAmin--WOW! You did a wonderful job on both pairs! They're both 'ultimate' jeans! I think, too, that you should think about trying a pair that combines the regular waist with the pant leg from the low rise pair. Regular waist jeans would look great with the boot cut or flares.
4/1/09 1:35 AM
Karen8320 said...
ITAdmin, I'm really impressed by both these pairs of jeans. They look great on you! The fit is really good and I hope when you decide what your "ultimate" pair is that you post more photos. Well done!
4/1/09 1:49 AM
almost said...
Both pairs of jeans are impressive, but I vote for the higher waisted jean. They seem to fit better overall, add more elongation; and look better in the back. Please post your final version.....they give the rest of us hope that we can be successful with jean construction!
4/1/09 11:41 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW ITAdmin, great job on both pair of jeans....you shoul be very proud of your skills...2 pr. of "ultimate" jeans! I think the high waisted ones look best from the rear, though.
4/1/09 3:51 PM
Christas said...
Both pairs looks fantastic! You are becoming a pro at making these!
4/1/09 6:22 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for your review. I've been looking for a pattern and you just sold me on this one. Love what you've done what this pattern.
4/1/09 11:10 PM
knitlitcamper said...
You did a fantastic job on both pairs! I also own this pattern and made relax fit ones first (first pair of jeans). I made them according to the sizing on the envelope but they were too big, my next pair were the lower waist ones, I went down 1 size since I was going to use a stretch denim and they worked out better. This is my go to jeans pattern now.
5/2/09 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Abacadabra 131

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Vogue Patterns 1273

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now