SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean, Style 2)

27 more reviews
Viewed 611 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/09 4:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dale C said...
I have this pattern in my stash too. Yours look good, I'll have to dig mine out and try it.
3/31/09 5:57 PM
Diana M said...
I agree with your leaning toward the "slim-fitting' ones, although they both look pretty darn good!
3/31/09 6:14 PM
sewdelighted said...
I think the high waisted makes you look slimmer!!! Maybe it's the color of the belt with the low waisted but the others look better on your figure. I don't usually comment but had to this time!! Both look very nice!! Good job. Haven't tackled jeans in a long time. I, too have this pattern in my stash and have some denim that has aged in my stash long enough.
3/31/09 6:27 PM
mollyshark said...
The ones with the back pockets win, hands down. Much more attractive from the back and the overall fit is better. The others are just too, I dunno, flat? Dumpy? Just not as flattering.
3/31/09 7:18 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gosh I am just so impressed with the finish and fit on both jeans. Love the top-stitching and the pocket details. I guess it all comes down to personal taste and preference, things about both views appeal - the high waist gives a nice feminine shape and I love the pocket detailing - however, I am a huge fan of bootleg, because I think they provide better balance and proportion to the leg. I say go with the bootleg!
3/31/09 8:29 PM
Dee2 said...
I like both jeans--which ever is more comfortable would be my choice. Great job!
3/31/09 9:20 PM
Miranda said...
IT Admin, what a great job you've done on both pairs. I also love this pattern. Think I prefer the bootleg, I always think it is flattering, but really both pairs are great. You've done a really fantastic job with both pairs of jeans, well done!
3/31/09 9:20 PM
Lori V said...
Great job on both jeans, very impressive. I like the ones with the back pockets the best.
3/31/09 11:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Both pair look very nice...Great job!! I think I slightly lean toward the bootleg pair with the low waist but both pair are very flattering.
3/31/09 11:17 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow what a great fit!
3/31/09 11:34 PM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Both pairs of jeans fit you well. I have to say that I like the look of the relaxed fit on you. They make you look slimmer. However, like you I prefer the rise of the mid-rise. As the designer, we can make them the way we want. Enjoy your jeans!
3/31/09 11:50 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, you're going to have a HARD TIME decided which is the ULTIMATE. I really do like BOTH styles, and I bet there will be times that you'll want to choose one over the other, depending on what you're wearing with them. Boy, it's a ROUGH LIFE when you have to choose between TWO great pairs of jeans. :o)
4/1/09 0:37 AM
Em's Summer said...
Hi ITAmin--WOW! You did a wonderful job on both pairs! They're both 'ultimate' jeans! I think, too, that you should think about trying a pair that combines the regular waist with the pant leg from the low rise pair. Regular waist jeans would look great with the boot cut or flares.
4/1/09 1:35 AM
Karen8320 said...
ITAdmin, I'm really impressed by both these pairs of jeans. They look great on you! The fit is really good and I hope when you decide what your "ultimate" pair is that you post more photos. Well done!
4/1/09 1:49 AM
almost said...
Both pairs of jeans are impressive, but I vote for the higher waisted jean. They seem to fit better overall, add more elongation; and look better in the back. Please post your final version.....they give the rest of us hope that we can be successful with jean construction!
4/1/09 11:41 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW ITAdmin, great job on both pair of jeans....you shoul be very proud of your skills...2 pr. of "ultimate" jeans! I think the high waisted ones look best from the rear, though.
4/1/09 3:51 PM
Christas said...
Both pairs looks fantastic! You are becoming a pro at making these!
4/1/09 6:22 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for your review. I've been looking for a pattern and you just sold me on this one. Love what you've done what this pattern.
4/1/09 11:10 PM
knitlitcamper said...
You did a fantastic job on both pairs! I also own this pattern and made relax fit ones first (first pair of jeans). I made them according to the sizing on the envelope but they were too big, my next pair were the lower waist ones, I went down 1 size since I was going to use a stretch denim and they worked out better. This is my go to jeans pattern now.
5/2/09 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now