SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-129 (Exclusive Design Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 718 times 
Reviewed by:SewSara
photo

 
 
About SewSarastar
SK CANADA
Member since: 4/1/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/09 9:47 AM
Last Updated:7/11/09 12:33 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
figtree said...
Congrats on your first BWOF! Your top is very nice. I have my eye on this one but haven't decided on the fabric yet.
4/6/09 12:46 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top--I love how this looks in eyelet. Congrats on your first BWOF!
4/6/09 1:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice top and good review!
4/6/09 3:36 PM
Re Becca said...
Very Cute!
4/6/09 3:57 PM
Christas said...
This was one of my favorite tops in the issue .... so nice to see it made up! Very cute!
4/6/09 4:23 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful top and I love that fabric.
4/6/09 10:36 PM
RuthieSews said...
That came out great! Thanks for mentioning your height. I see the top looks very short on their model. Its almost likes its a petite top though the sizing shows as standard. http://www.burdafashion.com/en/Magazines/Archives/129_Blouse_130_Pants_trousers/1270777-1463237-1684278-1684285-1684466.html
4/8/09 5:36 AM
chango said...
I just traced this pattern yesterday, I'm planning to sew it tonight...hope it goes as well as you. I don't have much experience in sewing, and although I like the Burda magazine patterns, I'm always afraid to actually do one, as there are no pictures to show the steps, at least when you don't get the explanations which are not always clear in regular pocket patterns, you have a picture to try and understand what to do. I've done the boat neck tee-shirt from the january issue, but that was very easy. I hope this one goes well, I haven't had much luck with blouses before....anyway thank you for the review and your top really looks good. Your review encourages me to do it!
4/21/09 8:07 PM
SewSara said...
How's your shirt coming? I have this old Simplicity sewing book from the 70's that details how to sew different types of garments, step by step & I found it really helpful for Burda. BWOF has been good for my sewing ability because I find it helps me to think creatively and find out how things should be done if the directions aren't clear enough.
5/2/09 7:56 PM
chango said...
Thanks for following up with me. When I posted my comment, I ended up not sewing this right away... we're now two weeks later, last night I started it, and so far the instructions are OK, easy, and I'm finished with attaching the three pieces of the front and the three pieces of the back. Tonight I will continue, I'm a little nervous about sewing my first zipper...hope I get it right! If the instructions from the magazine are not clear, I have found many tutorials about sewing a zipper, so I guess, it will be ok...and for the sleeve, I will probably do as you mentionned and use narrower elastic instead of the shirring elastic. Thanks!
5/5/09 1:17 PM
Christas said...
I love the new version you have made ...... so pretty. I still haven't gotten around to making mine. It's 103 degrees today. This top would be so perfect for the hot weather.
7/11/09 12:46 PM
Renren said...
So beautiful and look how perfectly straight your hem is! Love the fabric--looks perfect for a summer day.
7/11/09 2:08 PM
21wale said...
It's lovely in the white eyelet! I'm glad to know about the length.
7/11/09 3:34 PM
redhotpepper said...
I just traced this yesterday and have white eyelet to make it out of! Glad to know that it will be cute. Thank you for sharing the info about the length because I'm also 5'1" and would have shortened it.
7/11/09 11:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Both of your blouse versions are very cute.....so perfect for summer.
7/12/09 9:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sis Boom Agnes Tunic (Girl\'s World

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now