Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-129 (Exclusive Design Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 718 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:SewSara
photo
About SewSarastar
SK CANADA
Member since: 4/1/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/09 9:47 AM
Last Updated:7/11/09 12:33 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
figtree said...
Congrats on your first BWOF! Your top is very nice. I have my eye on this one but haven't decided on the fabric yet.
4/6/09 12:46 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top--I love how this looks in eyelet. Congrats on your first BWOF!
4/6/09 1:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice top and good review!
4/6/09 3:36 PM
Re Becca said...
Very Cute!
4/6/09 3:57 PM
Christas said...
This was one of my favorite tops in the issue .... so nice to see it made up! Very cute!
4/6/09 4:23 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful top and I love that fabric.
4/6/09 10:36 PM
RuthieSews said...
That came out great! Thanks for mentioning your height. I see the top looks very short on their model. Its almost likes its a petite top though the sizing shows as standard. http://www.burdafashion.com/en/Magazines/Archives/129_Blouse_130_Pants_trousers/1270777-1463237-1684278-1684285-1684466.html
4/8/09 5:36 AM
chango said...
I just traced this pattern yesterday, I'm planning to sew it tonight...hope it goes as well as you. I don't have much experience in sewing, and although I like the Burda magazine patterns, I'm always afraid to actually do one, as there are no pictures to show the steps, at least when you don't get the explanations which are not always clear in regular pocket patterns, you have a picture to try and understand what to do. I've done the boat neck tee-shirt from the january issue, but that was very easy. I hope this one goes well, I haven't had much luck with blouses before....anyway thank you for the review and your top really looks good. Your review encourages me to do it!
4/21/09 8:07 PM
SewSara said...
How's your shirt coming? I have this old Simplicity sewing book from the 70's that details how to sew different types of garments, step by step & I found it really helpful for Burda. BWOF has been good for my sewing ability because I find it helps me to think creatively and find out how things should be done if the directions aren't clear enough.
5/2/09 7:56 PM
chango said...
Thanks for following up with me. When I posted my comment, I ended up not sewing this right away... we're now two weeks later, last night I started it, and so far the instructions are OK, easy, and I'm finished with attaching the three pieces of the front and the three pieces of the back. Tonight I will continue, I'm a little nervous about sewing my first zipper...hope I get it right! If the instructions from the magazine are not clear, I have found many tutorials about sewing a zipper, so I guess, it will be ok...and for the sleeve, I will probably do as you mentionned and use narrower elastic instead of the shirring elastic. Thanks!
5/5/09 1:17 PM
Christas said...
I love the new version you have made ...... so pretty. I still haven't gotten around to making mine. It's 103 degrees today. This top would be so perfect for the hot weather.
7/11/09 12:46 PM
Renren said...
So beautiful and look how perfectly straight your hem is! Love the fabric--looks perfect for a summer day.
7/11/09 2:08 PM
21wale said...
It's lovely in the white eyelet! I'm glad to know about the length.
7/11/09 3:34 PM
redhotpepper said...
I just traced this yesterday and have white eyelet to make it out of! Glad to know that it will be cute. Thank you for sharing the info about the length because I'm also 5'1" and would have shortened it.
7/11/09 11:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Both of your blouse versions are very cute.....so perfect for summer.
7/12/09 9:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us