SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> 547 (Hollywood 547: 1930s Dress)

Viewed 363 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/09 4:01 PM
Last Updated:4/15/09 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
Wow! Your dress is spectacular! Nice job!
4/15/09 4:12 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! Oh, my goodness I LOVE this! The shoes, the hat, the buttons ..... you have captured a moment in time! It is just lovely! I have so many vintage patterns, including the Hollywood Patterns. WOW! You have inspired me so much with your wonderful review! I think you should wear this garment proudly with a great big smile. It's just perfect.
4/15/09 4:18 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Simply spectacular! I love it!
4/15/09 5:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous interpretation of a classic! You look dazzling!
4/15/09 5:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so excited!!!!!!! This is just superb! You really pulled everything together beautifully! I like how you picked up the red in the GORGEOUS glass buttons in the belt buckle. The hat and shoes finish off the look perfectly! Fantastic dress!
4/15/09 5:38 PM
eibhlin said...
Wonderful!!! I Love it!!!!
4/15/09 5:58 PM
Dee Woods said...
Your dress is really, really nice! The way you've styled your photo is perfect. It would be easy to mistake this from an actual photo from that era.
4/15/09 6:40 PM
Florigal said...
Quite smashing! You look so smart in this flattering dress. Love it!
4/15/09 7:04 PM
mrsv83 said...
Fabulous!
4/15/09 7:18 PM
Andreahg said...
This is kamikat from FL: I LOVE this dress!
4/15/09 8:01 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastic job! Your dress is charming! You look wonderful. I love your shoes, too. Excellent review!
4/15/09 8:24 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful, evocative of a bygone era but still wearable today. You have done a wonderful job on the construction. Not entering the vintage contest?
4/15/09 9:38 PM
MagpieJen said...
echolalia - I'm entering the contest - I wouldn't miss it! This one I made earlier so it doesn't qualify. Hopefully I'll have another Hollywood pattern done in time! :-) Thank you everybody for your kind words!
4/15/09 9:56 PM
Twinset said...
Greeeaaat dress! Your rendition of this 1930's number is just perfect! Very interesting review and nice pictures!
4/15/09 10:01 PM
Barbara V said...
This is such a pretty vintage style and you wear it so well. Nice job!
4/15/09 10:29 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! The details are amazing! And the shoes and hat totally complete the look.
4/15/09 11:40 PM
milo1000 said...
Breathtaking! You look like you stepped off a screen. Amazing.
4/16/09 2:55 AM
Caroleleah said...
OOOOOOOO!!! I do NOT have words!! This is beyond perfection!!!!! *SIGH!!* WOW!!! Your abilities are astonishing!!
4/16/09 3:30 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Stunnng. Absolutely stunning. There are no other words!
4/16/09 4:19 AM
Byrdie said...
This is adorable! I love the look of vintage clothing!
4/16/09 10:06 AM
piffle said...
I love it! the shoes are great, too. Very well done.
4/16/09 10:17 AM
pterion said...
You look like you stepped out of a 1930's fashion magazine. Very impressive! Bravo!
4/16/09 10:58 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great dress! The look on you is fabulous!
4/16/09 11:13 AM
DoggyGirl said...
This is wonderful. So elegant! And your review was very helpful.
4/16/09 11:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, fabulous!!! And I'm totally with the piping instead of all-white bib, it's brilliant.
4/16/09 1:41 PM
edot said...
Don't tell Claudette Colbert I said so, but ... there's no way she looked any better in her version than you do in yours. Stellar! Amazing! Spectacular! Omgoodness! You are fantastic in this lovely 1930s style.
4/16/09 1:54 PM
Beek said...
Absolutely fabulous dress. I wish they still made patterns like this and I wish women would wear them! What a wonderful review.
4/16/09 2:05 PM
waltzqueen said...
You did a WONDERFUL job with this dress and you look FABULOUS with the hat and shoesl!!! I love vintage patterns and have many, but I've only made one evening gown so far - which was much easier.. You are an inspiration!
4/16/09 4:06 PM
Diane333 said...
You and you're dress look fantastic!
4/16/09 10:33 PM
petro said...
Very understated-elegant. It looks so beautifully cool and summery.
4/17/09 2:08 PM
Ariadne said...
rave pn, with that crazy time machine feeling. What an absolutely smashing dress. And an even better review-tutorials! and closeups! the review itself is like a movie star! I hope you wear it out for a wonderful time. ari
4/26/09 4:24 AM
mymichelle said...
words cannot even describe how much i love this dress
5/3/09 11:49 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a beautiful dress - you did wonderful work. The buttons are so unique, and I love the piping to outline the bib and how you picked up the red in the other buttons and belt buckle. A change of shoes and you could be ready for "ladies" tennis back in the day. Lovely, lovely job. A sepia-toned or black and white photo would have fooled us all!
5/1/10 11:02 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
This is perfect! What a great dress :)
8/5/10 1:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6460

photo
by: irem

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now