SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-109 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo

 
 
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/09 3:37 AM
Last Updated:5/12/09 4:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review - I think your version worked really well!
5/12/09 6:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Your dress suits you nicely and looks fabulous. Perhaps a few trips through the wash will soften the denim too.
5/12/09 7:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is a really great style for you. You look great and did a nice job on it!
5/12/09 8:16 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jumper looks quite good, despite your disappointment over the collar. Your comment about taking the directions one sentence at a time is just the ticket. Thanks!
5/12/09 9:18 AM
EleanorSews said...
Sorry you aren't 1005 happy with your results. It's such a smart looking style and the fit is so nice. Maybe if you were to make it again, you could find a better collar from another pattern and subsitute that for a more satisfactory result?
5/12/09 9:52 AM
greenandlilac said...
As someone objective I can honestly say it looks stylish and flattering.
5/12/09 10:59 AM
Vintage Joan said...
That's a very nice jumper -- thanks for reviewing it. It looks great on you, IMO. :) Perhaps this one will grow on you.
5/12/09 11:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I hope you *do* wear this dress/tunic often, as it's very striking on you. Take a second look at your photos before rejecting it; very slimming and chic. Also, a flattering color for you. I like it a great deal, and particularly like how the collar stands up in the back, but spreads gracefully in the front. Lovely, Lily
5/12/09 3:56 PM
RLL said...
When I first saw the photo I thought 'oh how cool, I like that'. After reading your review, I am sorry it didn't turn out how you expected, but I agree with Lily that you need to take a second look at your photo's before rejecting this. You look great in it.
5/12/09 5:10 PM
Kbenco said...
It is so frustrating when the photo/ illustration for a pattern is a big fat lie! However, your tunic looks terrific, and could be a very useful multi season garment. I am quite tempted by your version.
5/12/09 10:54 PM
kerrynw said...
I think your dress looks great and would be perfect for the aussie winter.
5/13/09 9:54 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice dress. It's flattering and stylish
5/13/09 9:56 AM
crisford said...
This looks like a very stylish dress, and suits you well! I agree with all of the previous comments, and also I love how the collar stands up when open.
5/13/09 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now