SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-109 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo

 
 
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/09 3:37 AM
Last Updated:5/12/09 4:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review - I think your version worked really well!
5/12/09 6:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Your dress suits you nicely and looks fabulous. Perhaps a few trips through the wash will soften the denim too.
5/12/09 7:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is a really great style for you. You look great and did a nice job on it!
5/12/09 8:16 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jumper looks quite good, despite your disappointment over the collar. Your comment about taking the directions one sentence at a time is just the ticket. Thanks!
5/12/09 9:18 AM
EleanorSews said...
Sorry you aren't 1005 happy with your results. It's such a smart looking style and the fit is so nice. Maybe if you were to make it again, you could find a better collar from another pattern and subsitute that for a more satisfactory result?
5/12/09 9:52 AM
greenandlilac said...
As someone objective I can honestly say it looks stylish and flattering.
5/12/09 10:59 AM
Vintage Joan said...
That's a very nice jumper -- thanks for reviewing it. It looks great on you, IMO. :) Perhaps this one will grow on you.
5/12/09 11:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I hope you *do* wear this dress/tunic often, as it's very striking on you. Take a second look at your photos before rejecting it; very slimming and chic. Also, a flattering color for you. I like it a great deal, and particularly like how the collar stands up in the back, but spreads gracefully in the front. Lovely, Lily
5/12/09 3:56 PM
RLL said...
When I first saw the photo I thought 'oh how cool, I like that'. After reading your review, I am sorry it didn't turn out how you expected, but I agree with Lily that you need to take a second look at your photo's before rejecting this. You look great in it.
5/12/09 5:10 PM
Kbenco said...
It is so frustrating when the photo/ illustration for a pattern is a big fat lie! However, your tunic looks terrific, and could be a very useful multi season garment. I am quite tempted by your version.
5/12/09 10:54 PM
kerrynw said...
I think your dress looks great and would be perfect for the aussie winter.
5/13/09 9:54 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice dress. It's flattering and stylish
5/13/09 9:56 AM
crisford said...
This looks like a very stylish dress, and suits you well! I agree with all of the previous comments, and also I love how the collar stands up when open.
5/13/09 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review