Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 60565 (By Popular Demand) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 767 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Jane
photo
About Sew Janestar
KS USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/09 3:37 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this blouse! I think it's PERFECT just the way it is. Your buttons make it extra special, and the whole thing just looks SO nice on you. I hope this pattern comes in my size. If it does, I'm GETTING it, just based on your review right here. :o)
4/18/09 3:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
This looks great!
4/18/09 3:53 PM
Annette1 said...
You should turn in your photo for the gallery on the Cutting Line Designs site. http://www.fabriccollections.com/gallery/gallery.html (Just let me know if you need any more helpful hints, prods or advice!)
4/18/09 3:56 PM
Renren said...
So very pretty.
4/18/09 4:03 PM
Catbird said...
This is so pretty! The vintage buttons add so much style, and I think the fit is lovely. The fabric, the raglan sleeves, the shaped hem are all winners. It looks great with your linen pants!
4/18/09 4:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice blouse.
4/18/09 5:09 PM
gaginny said...
I love your blouse and see nothing wrong with the fit. It looks great on you just as it is. And the buttons....oh my....what a super idea. I have lots of old buttons too....need to find ways of using some of them. btw....where would one find a Greist button holer? Is it very different from a Singer button hole attachment? I have one of those that I have never used and also a couple of Featherweights. I never thought about doing buttonholes on a straight stitch machine.
4/18/09 6:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful! Very classy.
4/18/09 6:25 PM
j222b said...
Where can I find IreneQ's tip on "adding length at bottom..."?
4/18/09 6:50 PM
Renren said...
j222b, there are 3 ways you can do this: 1) click on the link the reviewer has provided above. That will take you straigt to Irene Q's review. 2) At the top of the current review you will see "19 more reviews" which is another link, that when clicked on, will take you to the first page listing reviews of this same pattern. 3) The last is more indirect, but you would click on Advanced Search on the first Home page of this site, and then enter the reviewer's username, in this case Irene Q. Then it will pull up all of Irene Q's reviews. My guess is option 1 will be your best bet here. Good luck and hth (hope that helps).
4/18/09 7:22 PM
snaffles said...
Your top is beautiful.
4/18/09 8:02 PM
Renren said...
Sorry, I got so busy answering the previous commentator's question that I forgot to tell you how much I like your top. Very nice.
4/18/09 8:09 PM
Aixoise said...
Lovely blouse. I think you made a good choice in size. I tried a medium and still swim in it after taking 2" off the side seams. Will try a small next time. Thanks for the review; it's helpful and gives me a good basis for comparison.
4/18/09 8:21 PM
Dee2 said...
Love your blouse & think the fit looks fine!
4/18/09 9:18 PM
Terri K said...
This one looks great on you Jane! If you want a more fitted look, I agree that the XS with the FBA would do it.
4/18/09 9:56 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a wonderful top for summer. It looks so nice on you - I wouldn't change a thing. I ordered a few of her patterns but you would know not this one. It will be in my next order for sure. I need this pattern for summer wear.
4/19/09 7:16 AM
Kellie R. said...
This blouse is SO pretty! It's incredibly feminine and I'm sure you'll be wearing it all of the time!
4/19/09 10:15 AM
petro said...
Lovely blouse. I especially like the neckline, front facing detail.
4/19/09 10:39 AM
Irene Q said...
I think it looks lovely on you!! These patterns are drafted to be loose fitting and can only be "tightened" up so much. But I often go down a size, or two sizes in the shoulders, so don't be afraid to try that.
4/19/09 11:48 AM
Sew Jane said...
Wow - thank you all so much for your kind comments. I hope I answered all questions by adding links to the review. Annette - thanks for thinking the pic would make the grade for the Cutting Line gallery - I appreciate the ego boost ;) Irene - thank you for answering my FBA question so promptly. Your Cutting Line reviews are inspiring, thoughtful and most complete. My issue with the fit revolves around the semi-fitted nature of the pattern. (Which if I'd read the description instead of looking at the picture would hopefully have sunk in.) As Terri and Irene pointed out - I will try a size down next time. My personal preference is for a more fitted look.
4/19/09 1:47 PM
fryman said...
I made this blouse a few years back. Don't wer it often because it must be worn outside of pants/skirts and I don't like that look on me however, the next time I will lengthen both the blouse and the sleeeve hem length and also use a soft fabric. Your blouse looks great. I'm not in agreement w/the others about sizing down; perhaps a bust dart is worth the risk. Nice review.
4/19/09 5:26 PM
kathleencramer said...
Fantastic blouse! I love it!!
4/19/09 9:51 PM
Christas said...
Very cute blouse!
4/20/09 5:41 PM
engineeress said...
Found an idea in a book on using old embroidered table linens to make this blouse. Your comments make this an idea I want to pursue with my garage sale finds!
7/19/09 2:20 PM
JillyBe said...
This looks like it could be a TNT for me - thank for you for a great review! & it looks wonderful on you :)
7/8/10 1:59 PM
denese said...
gosh just found this i wouldnt worry it looks wonderful as it is
6/9/11 4:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by Yoggod on 2/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used curtains curtains
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 1/5/10
Read Review

McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us