SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 1638 (Hollywood Misses' Dress 1940's)

Viewed 2067 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/20/09 3:50 PM
Last Updated:4/24/09 11:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 64 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
98 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Batik said...
Very impressed with all of your reviews - but, this dress looks so perfect on you I had to comment. Fantastic.
10/9/11 8:51 PM
katharin said...
Totally lovely. You look so beautiful in this dress!
12/10/09 9:11 PM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVELY!! You'll be adorable and appropriate at the holiday party in this dress. Have fun!
12/10/09 11:17 AM
logan said...
Just wondering if there is any way I can get a copy of this pattern? I would love to make it for myself, it is just PERFECT!
6/21/09 8:58 PM
Juanita47 said...
Beautiful dress and it looks great on you Thank you for taking the time to take the pictures and write such a detailed review. I find it very inspirational and it gives me hope that I too may create something so fine
6/21/09 7:41 PM
logan said...
Love the dress! It looks fabulous on you, great work...very inspiring!
6/20/09 6:43 PM
DonnaV said...
Wow - beautiful sewing - beautiful fabric that really "pops" in the evening lights. You look so very nice in it. Thanks for sharing - I have never tried 100% silk before, but perhaps I will now.
6/19/09 8:58 PM
LMA said...
I really like the pattern. It flatters many figures plus you don't have to adjust it so that you're not worried about what is being revealed all evening. If there was a pattern like that right now I would buy it immediately. It's lovely and you look lovely in it as well.
6/19/09 1:44 PM
Kellie R. said...
I just want to say thank you all so very VERY much. I'm simply blown away by all of the nice comments that everybody has made, and thanks to those who voted for me. It means SO MUCH coming from all of you here at PR. Sewing is such an enjoyable hobby for me and I love sharing and learning here on PR.
6/19/09 11:45 AM
GraceGarden said...
Lovely fabric!
6/18/09 11:13 PM
Susieq777 said...
This is such a detailed review. I really enjoyed reading and learning from it. Thanks :)
6/18/09 5:45 PM
Bernie R. said...
Kellie R. -- This dress is superb! And your detailed comments are a wonderful read. Thanks for sharing. You look stunning! Happy Anniversary...DH and I just celebrated our 13th too!
6/18/09 10:59 AM
cindyintampa said...
Congratulations on winning the vintage pattern contest. You deserved it. Your choice of pattern and fabric was perfect. I love the perfect shoes with the dress.
6/18/09 8:42 AM
Secretsugar said...
I love '40's style, too, and you look absolutely stunning in this wonderful dress!
6/18/09 8:14 AM
EmKay said...
I would love to see what the picture on the pattern looked like...
6/18/09 7:54 AM
meli88a said...
what a DELICIOUS dress!
6/17/09 11:37 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The fabric is gorgeous and the dress even more so.
6/17/09 10:20 PM
goodworks1 said...
Wow! Just Wow! Good job!
6/17/09 7:09 PM
MissCelie said...
That, is beyond FABULOUS!
6/17/09 6:55 PM
valerie sews said...
Congratulations on winning the vintage pattern contest. The dress is beautiful and suits you perfectly and thank you for doing such a detailed review.
6/17/09 6:20 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Wowie Zowie! It's all been said: you look fab; great choice of fabric to pattern, and wonderful review. I haven't ventured into vintage pattern territory yet, but when I do I know where to come for some tips!
5/16/09 11:36 PM
waltzqueen said...
This is a gorgeous dress! It is the kind of 40s design I really like and you did a wonder job. The dress fits beautifully, has a nod to the past and looks great and fashionable today! Well done!
5/13/09 10:34 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Such a classy beautiful dress and what a perfect fit! You look like a movie star! Happy anniversary though I know it was last month.
5/10/09 9:01 PM
HeyJane said...
Total class and style! Wow, really beautiful. Interesting how the closure is done. This design is so perfect on you.
5/7/09 9:55 AM
Mebber said...
Wow beautiful dress in excellent high quality era-appropriate fabric choice. Thank you for your detailed review! I am on a mission to find this pattern now!
5/5/09 11:43 AM
OLdV said...
Wonderful dress, looks gorgeous on you! Clearly my favourite so far.
5/5/09 8:56 AM
DD in DFW said...
Very flattering, great job.
5/5/09 7:29 AM
morzel said...
Is this dress beautiful!! You look stunning, elegant, gorgeous and very ladylike in it. Great job!!!
5/5/09 6:14 AM
TalyQ said...
That is such a wonderful dress!!!! I love that the neckline is not too low, which is something I haven't seen on a wrap dress yet. All of them are way too open. I wish I could get my hands on a pattern with such a lovely draped wrap neckline. And you did a wonderful job. Love it!
5/5/09 1:44 AM
LeahT said...
Lovely dress! And a great review too :)
5/4/09 7:38 PM
cindyann said...
That is just gorgeous! Really a fantastic dress and review.
5/4/09 1:46 PM
Kathi R said...
Looks like you have a perfect match of pattern and fabric. Thanks for the review.
5/4/09 12:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a gorgeous dress! It is so flattering. You look beautiful.
5/2/09 10:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
Oh my. This dress is absolutely stunning. Vintage or not, the style is timelessly elegant. Gorgeous fabric and outstanding review.
5/2/09 12:27 PM
colourbynumber said...
Great review. I love the detail on the skirt. Great job--it really shows!
5/1/09 12:31 PM
fourkid said...
This dress is beautiful and so perfect on you. Those Hollywood patterns are great.
5/1/09 9:08 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
It is an absolutely wonderful dress, and as you wrote it is all woman, and all stunning !
4/30/09 7:07 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Really a gorgeous dress. Like it was just made for you, which it was....LOL Nice job in putting it together.
4/30/09 0:22 AM
persevering said...
What a dress! fabric! and review! And you are looking so beautifulí
4/26/09 12:23 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous, just gorgeous!! THAT's what I call a dress!! Enjoy the whistles!!
4/26/09 11:43 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous dress! Excellent Review!
4/26/09 0:07 AM
Karendee said...
Beautiful dress and you look lovely wearing it! Happy Anniversary!
4/25/09 5:58 PM
Catbird said...
Wow. What an amazing piece of work this is, and you look totally gorgeous in it! It oozes high style and femininity.
4/25/09 2:00 PM
cindy-lou said...
Kellie, you are a KNOCKOUT in that dress!! Beautiful, beautiful work!
4/25/09 1:36 PM
homejewel said...
That is truly a classic and what a beautiful fabric choice. It fits you like a dream! What a great review!
4/25/09 12:05 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely style. The 40s have my favorite styles, I think. Great job on the dress, it is very pretty and fits perfectly. (What stitching isn't perfect? It all looks perfect from 10' away! And I'm sure your husband thinks it is perfect much closer than that.)
4/25/09 12:05 PM
JudiBee2 said...
A great review. Thanks so much for all the work in putting this together with commentary and photos. Kudos.
4/25/09 11:26 AM
solosmocker said...
Stunning dress and just perfect on you! With your incredible review and pictures I feel like we all could sew along with you on this one.
4/25/09 8:07 AM
eugenia123 said...
This dress is SO fantastic - everything about it is pure genius - I LOVE it.
4/25/09 5:14 AM
Annette1 said...
What a wonderfully thorough review. This dress is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. And you've made it SOOOOOOO nicely. I LOVE the detail pictures AND the ones of you out and about, sporting this little gem around. ALL the details are so perfect, I can't believe nobody else bid on this pattern! It's PERFECT. :o) Happy anniversary, too (a little late).
4/25/09 1:06 AM
ajax said...
This is absolutely beautiful. I love the fabric and styling. You look gorgeous!
4/25/09 0:57 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Absolutely lovely. It's so great to see people using these elegant patterns from the past - the patterns today just don't compare. You Go Girl!
4/22/09 8:33 PM
Karrol said...
Gorgeous!
4/22/09 8:13 PM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning. You look beautiful. Although it's a vintage pattern, it looks perfectly appropriate for today. Congratulations on a job well-done.
4/22/09 1:35 AM
Mahler said...
Though the picture was small, and your hair was down, I knew in a fraction a second, it was a dress from you ! Ahhh this dress is a gem ! Everything makes it awesome. Oh la la ! I love it.
4/21/09 9:45 PM
QuickFade said...
Great job! Thanks for all the detail. Very inspiring!
4/21/09 11:56 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Stunning!
4/21/09 10:43 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing dress. I so enjoyed reading your comprehensive review, too. Very interesting to learn about unprinted vintage patterns, and the closure methods used for garments of this era. Your dress is absolutely gorgeous.
4/21/09 10:29 AM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - thank yo SO MUCH everybody! I was so "intimidated" to touch this fabric; it took months for me to get past that. I thank everybody at PR for giving me confidence to challenge myself! It was a pleasure making this dress! Thanks again for all of your comments!
4/21/09 8:26 AM
fryman said...
A perfect dress for the anniversary gal. Congratulations! Appreciate your detailed review. Thanks.
4/21/09 8:24 AM
Lori V said...
Wow, so gorgeous.
4/21/09 7:02 AM
mchick said...
You look absolutely wonderful, have a fantastic dinner with yur husband, and congratulations on your anniversary! That is one of the most beautiful and flattering dresses I have seen on Pattern Review, well done.
4/21/09 5:14 AM
velosewer said...
you win in my books. You've created a great dress. Well done.
4/21/09 5:11 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Wow. Just wow. This is such a lovely dress, you did an excellent job. And great review too!
4/21/09 4:16 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love this dress. You were right to choose this pattern for this fabric. Wow. Happy Anniversary.
4/21/09 3:00 AM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. That's all I can say, you left me speechless. Great job documenting the process, too.
4/21/09 0:43 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you look like a sexy 40's movie star!! Annette Benning in "Bugsy"!! Totally amazing Kellie!!
4/21/09 0:28 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow! That is a gorgeous dress and it fits you perfectly. Love the waist detail.
4/20/09 9:36 PM
Athene said...
Oh la la - very nice indeed - thank you for all the great close up pictures.
4/20/09 9:26 PM
Em's Summer said...
OMG, Kellie! This is over the moon beautiful and it fits you PERFECTLY! You look great in this! You did a great job!
4/20/09 9:10 PM
Barbara V said...
Just gorgeous. The fabric looks so rich, the pattern is great and you look fabulous in it!
4/20/09 9:10 PM
maryfrana said...
Amazing review for a stunning dress. This is so thorough, so detailed, I felt like I was sewing along with you. The dress is just so beautiful, so sexy, so fitted, so everything. That fabric is to die for. Kelli you look so beautiful and timeless.
4/20/09 9:02 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Kellie, It is truely beautiful. What a great job! I hope I can achieve your level of confidence. Cindy
4/20/09 8:58 PM
marec said...
I am awestruck.
4/20/09 8:54 PM
piffle said...
Brava!
4/20/09 8:34 PM
dorothyn said...
Wow, your hubby will be very proud to be out with you on Friday! The dress is beautiful and fits you "like it was made for you"! Ha! Nice work, and congrats on your first fine silk garment. You're probably discovering that natural fibres are almost always a joy to work with.
4/20/09 7:39 PM
shesflipped said...
Gorgeous dress, so beautifully crafted. You look so elegant wearing it!
4/20/09 7:38 PM
strongnow said...
Wow! This is a treasure. Your material and finished project are beautiful.
4/20/09 7:26 PM
Florigal said...
You look MAH-VEL-US in your gorgeous dress. Wow! What a perfect marriage of pattern, fabric, and wearer. Hope you have a great time Friday at your anniversary dinner.
4/20/09 7:16 PM
graustark said...
What a stand-out dress! The fabric and detailing are superb, and it all came together wonderfully.
4/20/09 7:13 PM
Leora said...
You are right, that is one sexy dress!
4/20/09 7:05 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful. Perfect fabric/style match & so well constructed. Congratulations!
4/20/09 6:53 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Stunning Dress! Your review of the pattern and the fabric you chose was a pleasure to read and bursting with info. too. You look fantastic in this dress!! Happy Anniversary :)
4/20/09 6:19 PM
Natasha B said...
Your dress is gorgeous and you look fabulous! The fabric is perfect and workes so well with the vintage styling. Congratulations!
4/20/09 6:17 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. Absolutely jaw droppingly beautiful. Happy anniversay, too.
4/20/09 6:04 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress and beautiful fabric, it looks really lovely on you.
4/20/09 6:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Veronica Lake combined with a modern sensibility....Kellie, you brought back a classic that never goes out of style. I am very impressed that you went for the gusto and made this with such a delectable fabric. Thanks for sharing your sewing journey with us. You make vintage look so fun and wearable!
4/20/09 5:33 PM
ITAdmin said...
I love your dress. Great style and beautiful fabric.
4/20/09 5:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous, definitely a dress worthy of a special anniversary.
4/20/09 5:16 PM
Christas said...
What a beautiful dress! You look wonderful in it!
4/20/09 5:06 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Va Va Voom! You look gorgeous in your beautifully sewn dress. It was a treat reading your review. Happy Anniversary!
4/20/09 4:48 PM
MagpieJen said...
Spectacular, Kellie! So much to congratulate you on: great review, new techniques mastered, finishing early, gorgeous dress, AND your anniversary! Stellar!
4/20/09 4:35 PM
Renren said...
Breathtakingly beautiful, your dress--and you, of the many-flowered gown fame! Thanks for all the detail. And yet another source for fabric!!! Yay!
4/20/09 4:34 PM
feldmanTcat said...
This is absolutely stunning; the choice of fabric was perfect for this pattern and the detail in your sewing is superb. Thanks for sharing the photos of the work in progress and the unprinted pattern.
4/20/09 4:29 PM
sewbehind said...
Stunning. I think your husband will notice you on your anniversary. Congratulations.
4/20/09 4:20 PM
Gold said...
What a lovely dress! Looks great on you.
4/20/09 4:16 PM
F and L said...
That is just utterly, utterly beautiful. I love everything about it: fabric, pattern. It looks absolutely perfect on you, and wonderfully sewn. You look just beautiful.
4/20/09 4:04 PM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dress, beautiful work!
4/20/09 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)

photo
by: gabc

Review
Simplicity 2270

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now