SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-115 (Double-breasted with peplum)

2 more reviews
Viewed 681 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/20/09 9:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loti said...
Great Jacket!! Just another pattern I'll have to buy!
9/29/09 2:36 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Birgitte, The jacket is beautifully made and I'm sure it will be perfect on your DD.
4/30/09 5:09 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Love this jacket! 'Looks like it came straight from Saks or Nieman Marcus! I'm sure your DD will be thrilled!
4/23/09 1:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Such WONDERFUL details on this jacket, rigiht down to the label. :o) I love that "pop" of the red poppies (get it, ha-ha) on the lining. I KNOW yuor daughter will LOVE this. :o)
4/22/09 5:42 PM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* This is gorgeous!
4/22/09 12:38 PM
Marji said...
Great looking jacket! Not a new practice for Thai Silks. They've always cut Just Exactly what you order, and not much more htan a thumbnail over, so be sure to order what you need. But their pricing and depth of selection are good. Too funny that she's so into prep. Our kids always surprise us, don't they?
4/22/09 8:26 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work. Thanks for pointing out this pattern to me!
4/22/09 7:52 AM
Miss33 said...
Beautiful jacket!!!
4/22/09 3:36 AM
Emi1yKate said...
BEAUTIFUL!
4/22/09 1:44 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous jacket for DD. Looks very high end.
4/21/09 9:51 PM
Mahler said...
You DD will make many jealous girls in boarding school. For button holes, I go to the nearby Italian tailor but it does not look as impressive as Lindsay's NY place. This jacket has such interesting features. The front in that colours reminds me of the reefer you can by in Bretagne, France. The back, with the back belt and the peplum has a more urban and feminine look. I hope we will see picture of DD with it.
4/21/09 9:37 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely. I have this pattern but am still trying to wrap my head around the "raw seams". But anything can be adjusted!This looks great in the cotton. and the lining is an "ahhhh!" Well done
4/21/09 9:27 PM
Christas said...
Amazing jacket ...... so stylish!
4/21/09 4:12 PM
Twinset said...
I'm so glad to see a review of this jacket. Your version is so well made, and I love it!
4/21/09 12:45 PM
Beek said...
Another beautiful garment b Birgitte! I admire your tailoring skills and I appreciate your zest at tackling the BWOF patterns. You provide the rest of us with so much knowledge and inspiration. Thanks!
4/21/09 12:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
So fabulous. Love that back peplum and the sleeves. Your daughter will look fantastic in this.
4/21/09 11:57 AM
Kay Y said...
Ack - another WOF jacket pattern I *must* make - I liked this in the magazine, now I like what you have done with it (a lot).
4/21/09 11:19 AM
Gold said...
Great looking jacket! Love the lining you used.
4/21/09 10:38 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your workmanship is impeccable! I love the peplum, and the row of darts on the sleeve, and everything else!
4/21/09 9:04 AM
Catbird said...
You're just going to have to stop inspiring me, that's all there is to it. It makes my head spin. It makes me want to drop everything else I'm doing and run to my tracing table. I LOVE this jacket. It was one I had tagged from that issue but haven't acted on yet. The shape is gorgeous and those elbow darts thrill me for some reason. (I saw the same thing at the Chanel exhibit at the Metropolitan in NY a few years back, beautiful tiny elbow darts shaping the sleeve.) And thank you for the buttonhole link! I hope you'll be able to post a photo of your lucky daughter wearing her new treasure!
4/21/09 8:46 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a sharp looking jacket! I'm sure your daughter will absolutely love it! If not (which I highly doubt) send it my way! lol Beautiful job!
4/21/09 8:39 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful jacket, lucky daughter!
4/21/09 8:37 AM
emo said...
I went to boarding school. This is EXACTLY the kind of thing that I wanted to wear, but never had. It's beautiful, and I'm sure she will love it.
4/21/09 8:18 AM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket. I love it.
4/21/09 8:14 AM
Fran G said...
Simply stunning!
4/21/09 7:54 AM
Lori V said...
This jacket is spectacular. I bet your dd is going to be so thrilled.
4/21/09 7:00 AM
Tany said...
I've been eyeing this pattern since it came out; you did a fabulous job on the jacket, I love everything about it! The lining looks fabulous!
4/21/09 6:45 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, fabulous work as always. Your daughter is so lucky to receive such a gorgeous jacket.
4/21/09 3:32 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks great, and knowing your work, I'm sure it's perfection! Be sure and post on your daughter's reaction. When will you be seeing her?
4/21/09 1:34 AM
DivaQ said...
Great Jacket! Love it!
4/21/09 1:09 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! Once again you have made an amazing jacket!!! It looks fantastic!!
4/20/09 11:12 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, that is one terrific jacket. I hope your daughter knows she is lucky!
4/20/09 10:48 PM
castout said...
This is a FABULOUS jacket!! I want one! ;)
4/20/09 10:39 PM
Peacock Chic said...
I know I left a comment on you blog, but man I love this jacket!
4/20/09 10:04 PM
Renren said...
Love the sleeve darts and the poppy lining. We've had some magnificent postings here at PR today! This jacket is fabulous. Your daughter will love it!
4/20/09 9:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Silhouette Patterns 2050

photo
by: lore h

Review
Simplicity 123

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

More Info