Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-115 (Double-breasted with peplum) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 678 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/20/09 9:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Love the sleeve darts and the poppy lining. We've had some magnificent postings here at PR today! This jacket is fabulous. Your daughter will love it!
4/20/09 9:43 PM
Peacock Chic said...
I know I left a comment on you blog, but man I love this jacket!
4/20/09 10:04 PM
castout said...
This is a FABULOUS jacket!! I want one! ;)
4/20/09 10:39 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, that is one terrific jacket. I hope your daughter knows she is lucky!
4/20/09 10:48 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!! Once again you have made an amazing jacket!!! It looks fantastic!!
4/20/09 11:12 PM
DivaQ said...
Great Jacket! Love it!
4/21/09 1:09 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks great, and knowing your work, I'm sure it's perfection! Be sure and post on your daughter's reaction. When will you be seeing her?
4/21/09 1:34 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, fabulous work as always. Your daughter is so lucky to receive such a gorgeous jacket.
4/21/09 3:32 AM
Tany said...
I've been eyeing this pattern since it came out; you did a fabulous job on the jacket, I love everything about it! The lining looks fabulous!
4/21/09 6:45 AM
Lori V said...
This jacket is spectacular. I bet your dd is going to be so thrilled.
4/21/09 7:00 AM
Fran G said...
Simply stunning!
4/21/09 7:54 AM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket. I love it.
4/21/09 8:14 AM
emo said...
I went to boarding school. This is EXACTLY the kind of thing that I wanted to wear, but never had. It's beautiful, and I'm sure she will love it.
4/21/09 8:18 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful jacket, lucky daughter!
4/21/09 8:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a sharp looking jacket! I'm sure your daughter will absolutely love it! If not (which I highly doubt) send it my way! lol Beautiful job!
4/21/09 8:39 AM
Catbird said...
You're just going to have to stop inspiring me, that's all there is to it. It makes my head spin. It makes me want to drop everything else I'm doing and run to my tracing table. I LOVE this jacket. It was one I had tagged from that issue but haven't acted on yet. The shape is gorgeous and those elbow darts thrill me for some reason. (I saw the same thing at the Chanel exhibit at the Metropolitan in NY a few years back, beautiful tiny elbow darts shaping the sleeve.) And thank you for the buttonhole link! I hope you'll be able to post a photo of your lucky daughter wearing her new treasure!
4/21/09 8:46 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your workmanship is impeccable! I love the peplum, and the row of darts on the sleeve, and everything else!
4/21/09 9:04 AM
Gold said...
Great looking jacket! Love the lining you used.
4/21/09 10:38 AM
Kay Y said...
Ack - another WOF jacket pattern I *must* make - I liked this in the magazine, now I like what you have done with it (a lot).
4/21/09 11:19 AM
Ann Smith said...
So fabulous. Love that back peplum and the sleeves. Your daughter will look fantastic in this.
4/21/09 11:57 AM
Beek said...
Another beautiful garment b Birgitte! I admire your tailoring skills and I appreciate your zest at tackling the BWOF patterns. You provide the rest of us with so much knowledge and inspiration. Thanks!
4/21/09 12:02 PM
Twinset said...
I'm so glad to see a review of this jacket. Your version is so well made, and I love it!
4/21/09 12:45 PM
Christas said...
Amazing jacket ...... so stylish!
4/21/09 4:12 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely. I have this pattern but am still trying to wrap my head around the "raw seams". But anything can be adjusted!This looks great in the cotton. and the lining is an "ahhhh!" Well done
4/21/09 9:27 PM
Mahler said...
You DD will make many jealous girls in boarding school. For button holes, I go to the nearby Italian tailor but it does not look as impressive as Lindsay's NY place. This jacket has such interesting features. The front in that colours reminds me of the reefer you can by in Bretagne, France. The back, with the back belt and the peplum has a more urban and feminine look. I hope we will see picture of DD with it.
4/21/09 9:37 PM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous jacket for DD. Looks very high end.
4/21/09 9:51 PM
Emi1yKate said...
BEAUTIFUL!
4/22/09 1:44 AM
Miss33 said...
Beautiful jacket!!!
4/22/09 3:36 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work. Thanks for pointing out this pattern to me!
4/22/09 7:52 AM
Marji said...
Great looking jacket! Not a new practice for Thai Silks. They've always cut Just Exactly what you order, and not much more htan a thumbnail over, so be sure to order what you need. But their pricing and depth of selection are good. Too funny that she's so into prep. Our kids always surprise us, don't they?
4/22/09 8:26 AM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* This is gorgeous!
4/22/09 12:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Such WONDERFUL details on this jacket, rigiht down to the label. :o) I love that "pop" of the red poppies (get it, ha-ha) on the lining. I KNOW yuor daughter will LOVE this. :o)
4/22/09 5:42 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Love this jacket! 'Looks like it came straight from Saks or Nieman Marcus! I'm sure your DD will be thrilled!
4/23/09 1:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Birgitte, The jacket is beautifully made and I'm sure it will be perfect on your DD.
4/30/09 5:09 PM
loti said...
Great Jacket!! Just another pattern I'll have to buy!
9/29/09 2:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Janet Jacket Janet Jacket
photo
Review by clothingen... on 2/4/14
Read Review

McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-109 Pea Coat
photo
Review by myraminx on 7/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us