SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-112 

15 more reviews
Viewed 655 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/09 6:42 PM
Last Updated:4/22/09 6:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I love everything about this top. I don't think you can have too many basic tees. I was surprised to read that you sewed the neckline with 5/8-in. seam allowance as opposed to 3/8 or even 1/4-in.. Was this the suggested SA in the pattern? Great job!
4/22/09 6:54 PM
RuthieSews said...
That's lovely and so much nicer than the magazine version.
4/22/09 6:59 PM
Diane E said...
Hi homejewel, thanks! I am lazy and I added 5/8" SAs to all edges (excluding hems) without thinking about it ;)
4/22/09 7:01 PM
Elke said...
Terrific looking tee! I like your fabric choice and the fit.
4/22/09 8:02 PM
Renren said...
Well, I don't think you are a one-trick pony; you put on quite a fine show! Also, those wedges you excise to get rid of the wrinkle at the back--do they look like darts coming off the CB seam with the widest part of the wedge at the CB seam and then blending into nothing? I'm kind of curious about them if you could easily elaborate.
4/22/09 8:34 PM
Christas said...
This is such a cute knit top .... love your fabric choice!
4/22/09 8:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Diane, wowwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!! Such an elegant looking knit top......Beautiful work!
4/22/09 8:51 PM
JoanneM said...
Super cute!
4/22/09 9:13 PM
Kay Y said...
I really like your latest top Diane - what gorgeous fabric! Nice job on the neck binding too.
4/22/09 9:32 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic top, the fabric is gorgeous.
4/22/09 9:37 PM
Twinset said...
Your version of this pattern looks really nice!
4/22/09 9:44 PM
Mary Nanna said...
It looks really cute. I saw a tip on Burdastyle, about attaching binding to a neck edge. They used rib, but they recommended making the binding 1/3 smaller than the neck circumference as the right ratio to make it sit flat. Might be worth an experiment?
4/22/09 10:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful tee! I love this and I like your idea of adding a neckband. I never seem to have enough knit tops no matter how many I sew, so keep making them I say. :)
4/23/09 0:16 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful top. I am inspired to add it to my to do list.
4/23/09 7:53 AM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE this fabric! It turned a basic T into a very pretty and feminine top. Great job!
4/23/09 8:48 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love this top. I may have to make this one too . . .
4/23/09 10:17 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful top! I really like the neckline binding.
4/23/09 10:42 AM
cindyann said...
That is lovely! Beautiful work on the neckline.
4/23/09 12:07 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your comments -- I really appreciate them. Renren, my altered pattern piece looks like this, exactly as you described. I like to take out the inch in two whacks. Mary Nanna, thanks for the heads-up on the BurdaStyle neckband tip. I think it's safe to make the binding 1/3 the length of the neckline IF your binding fabric is as stretchy as ribbing. Since every fabric's stretch is different, one has to experiment with a seam ripper closeby, every time one sews a new knit fabric.
4/24/09 12:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute top!! I love that fabric!!!
4/24/09 3:43 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the review. It does look much nicer with a neckline binding. I appreciate you mentioning how you did it.
5/19/09 2:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: Erica B.

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now