SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1623 (60's Nina Ricci Dress)

Viewed 650 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I am gearing up to make this for the Vintage contest, and grateful to see your review (saw your pic on Flickr) here. Thanks, and you look swelligant!
11/10/13 1:31 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Heather this is remarkable. I never gave a hoot to vintage anything, now you have me online trying to snatch up vintage patterns!! thank you!
5/5/09 11:50 PM
Athene said...
Oh my - what a fabulous foxy looking blast from the past you are in this dress. The style is fabulous on you and I love the print, as well as the great fit you achieved.
5/5/09 2:01 AM
HeyJane said...
Move over, Barrie Pace! You are saving yourself some serious cash flow. A beautiful creation. I really love that collar, it frames your face so nicely. Thanks for the great links, too.
5/4/09 4:07 PM
fourkid said...
Beautiful dress - it looks fantastic on you. The print suits the pattern very nicely.
5/1/09 9:31 AM
Oceanpeg said...
I like the fabric you used on the dress. Also like the simplicity of the style of the dress. Also like the neckline. Great job on making the dress.
4/30/09 1:11 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful dress- It's very flattering on your figure. And while you say the collar style may not suit you, I thought it was the very thing that made it look uniquely yours.
4/27/09 10:56 AM
Mahler said...
This is a wonderful dress. I agree with you, the silhouette is wonderful. It is a great style for you. Woaw! Wonderful.
4/26/09 9:49 AM
maryfrana said...
Oh, just love this! So fresh looking and such a great design.
4/25/09 1:25 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that is a beautiful version of such a classic style. It looks great on you in that wonderful print!!!
4/24/09 3:56 PM
Karine said...
Love the dress, and I think the collar style absolutely suits you. Thanks for the informative review.
4/24/09 9:39 AM
RobinMCPA said...
This turned out great! I like the print. I've heard that the vintage Vogue designers series is good from one of my sewing friends who sewed them the first time around. Cool how everything eventually comes back!
4/24/09 5:34 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress -- classic yet contemporary.
4/23/09 9:43 PM
MagpieJen said...
Fab! A chic, beautifully made classic! That Paperpast link is cool! Though too bad the information gets sketchier on either end (they didn't have much for the early 40s either). I so agree about the vintage Vogue designer patterns, they are gorgeous - just like your dress!
4/23/09 4:05 PM
persevering said...
Pretty dress on you - the fabric is delightful. Thanks for you educational review.
4/23/09 3:22 PM
Amanda S. said...
WOW! I love it. You did a great job and the fabric is wonderful. I don't usually like the look of rolled collar clothing. It usually looks alien to me for some reason. But this one rocks! I think it's because the collar drapes forward slightly and we can see your neck.
4/23/09 2:39 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous! You're becoming quite the fashion guru around here. :D Oh, and thanks for sharing the link to that Paperpast Yearbook website!
4/23/09 12:02 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great dress! You look wonderful in this dress!
4/23/09 11:57 AM
Jali said...
Retro, modern chic! You have made one very fashionable dress. Thank you for the review. I wasn't very familiar with Nina Ricci before this. It's difficult to believe these styles are from decades ago. I think they are really timeless.
4/23/09 11:21 AM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is fabulous in style, fabric, color and workmanship...all of this makes it totally complimentary on you! You look great.
4/23/09 9:57 AM
pterion said...
You are one groovy chick in that Ricci dress! And the floral fabric really suits the style.
4/23/09 9:55 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Vintage, but yet so current. I love that neckline, it looks fabulous on you. Another great review!
4/23/09 9:38 AM
Christas said...
This dress looks fantastic on you! The fabric could not be more perfect. Love your review!
4/23/09 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - love this on you and the fabric is really eye catching
4/23/09 8:55 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
A timeless style that's very flattering on you. I adore your fabric choice! An excellent review packed with interesting and useful information. Bravo!
4/23/09 8:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! You always do such a fabulous job of marrying fabric with pattern. You look superb in your dress! Great job!
4/23/09 8:42 AM
Re Becca said...
That is so ADORABLE!
4/23/09 8:06 AM
sewdreaming said...
Great review for a great dress. Thanks!
4/23/09 8:06 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, you are such a skilled couture!! Everything about this dress is flattering on you!!! Another winner!!!!
4/23/09 8:00 AM
Renren said...
Everything about this dress suits you! Beautiful.
4/23/09 6:52 AM
shesflipped said...
So chic! Love your dress~the style looks great on you, love the fabric choice, too!
4/23/09 6:04 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. It looks great - including the collar. The print makes the dress more interesting than it would be in a plain fabric, such as in the rather drab version on the envelope.
4/23/09 5:51 AM
Terri A said...
OOPS! Double post sorry:-)
4/23/09 2:51 AM
Terri A said...
Fab on you! Hey I love the link you included for Paperpast Yearbook!
4/23/09 2:49 AM
morzel said...
Well done, Heather! This looks great, also the fabric is a fun choice.
4/23/09 1:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Such a wonderful interpretation of a vintage, yet modern, designer dress. That neckline has always been one of my favorites, and you wear it SO WELL. :o)
4/23/09 0:55 AM
busymomof3 said...
Wow! The dress looks great on you and you did a super job sewing it! I like the collar on you :)
4/23/09 0:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

More Info
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info