Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M5752 (The Perfect Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 473 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 12:20 PM
Last Updated:4/23/09 12:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathleencramer said...
I'm finishing mine now! Your's looks great!
4/23/09 1:05 PM
nglalala said...
Cute dress! Great job!
4/23/09 2:01 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I love the fabric...good taste! I can understand the height issue and I have run into the layer of fabrics as you sew along you wonder if the machine will be able to handle it. Good review and things to look out for when sewing this particular pattern. Thanks!
4/23/09 2:29 PM
nicegirl said...
I found the construction order on this rather silly as well, I should probably look at the instructions again and update my review! I love your fabric here.
4/23/09 3:48 PM
Secretsugar said...
Love love love your fabric!
4/25/09 9:13 AM
Marian said...
Thank you for reviewing this and bringing it to my attention. I like this style of dress on me (surplice, especially in a knit) and wasn't aware that Palmer-Pletsch had a pattern for it. I haven't seen a knit pattern from them before, and I generally like their work.

I guess that the unusual construction method is tied to the Palmer-Pletsch principle of fitting at every step along the way, and the fact that most of the fitting for a dress like this would be in the bodice and midriff front? I suppose it's a good idea, since all fabrics have a somewhat different amount of stretch and drape, but I confess that once I've done all the pattern fitting and adjusting, and I've cut it out, I really just want to sew. Now. And I find it hard to judge a pin-fit in a knit -- the fabric pulls back from the pins in such an uneven (and unflattering!) way.

Thanks for the warning about the midriff piece ending up so high. I need an FBA, which means I need to add length at the base of the bodice, and I have a long torso as well, which sometimes makes my dresses and blouses too short, especially between the hips and bust. Ready-to-wear is almost always short in front on me.

The pattern diagram seems to put a lot of gathered fabric into the midriff piece, which might be too much to have bunched around my already-lumpy waistline. Do you have an opinion or advice about that? Is it good disguise or extra thickness?
5/12/09 11:26 AM
velosewer said...
Thanks for the warning. I'm just tackling this pattern now. I sew like you do, all the front/back pieces are joined before you put the dress together. Fingers crossed:)
4/6/10 6:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 2316
photo
Review by RockNRoll on 10/28/10
Read Review

Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by Diana M on 12/5/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us