Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Studio Kat Designs: Portapockets (Portapockets) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 538 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Elona
photo
Friend of PR
About Elonastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 5:00 PM
Last Updated:4/30/09 5:11 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SexiSadi said...
I'm making my second StudioKat pattern rigth now. I love the finished product, but the instructions and pattern pieces sure are numerous. Of course, if they were not like that, they would be the same tired big 4 pattern.
4/30/09 5:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
These purse inserts are fantastic. Yours are beautiful too.
4/30/09 6:29 PM
Patti B said...
These are very cute and useful. I think that writing instructions is a real challenge. ETA If you had problems with the directions, is there any hope for the rest of us? /grin/
4/30/09 8:01 PM
Elona said...
Patti, if you scored higher than I did on the spatial tests, you'll be fine. I think I got the lowest score ever recorded in my high school for a college prep kid.
4/30/09 11:47 PM
JEF said...
Thank you for the detailed review. Your bags came out nice and they look so useful!
5/1/09 9:19 AM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Thanks a lot for your comments on the directions. They are a good caution to read before starting sewing.
5/2/09 10:18 PM
LoriU said...
Thank you for this very complete review. Your inserts look very professional!
5/3/09 0:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Uh Oh! I'm also spatially challenged, and was wanting to try some Studio Kat bag patterns. You did seem to overcome the problems, and your bag is very nice. But it seems that patience is a requirement for the novice. (I include myself in that category. Thanks for the warning.)
6/14/09 7:51 PM
kathy1972 said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I had to print it and refer to it as I am working on my portapocket. Yours are great. I have started my first one. I have the first part done.....fusing the interfacing! I pinned the other parts together to see how it goes. Question? Is the zipper pocket shallow? At fist it looks like it is a large pocket but when you add the inner pocket .... well, that comes only a short distance down inside the pocket. I am confused. As I continued to pin I see that other pieces are sewn to the pocket. Does it sound like I have it correct? Looks like this will take more than 4 days to get finished! LOL I hope you receive this as I do not know how to send a PM.
6/3/12 6:47 AM
Muria said...
Thank you! I just bought two purse patterns, and I'm returning the second one. I desperately need a purse, so I'm keeping one, but the directions! Oy! It would also be great on the purses to have better line drawings, both of the interior, and what exactly is under all the flaps. It would make pattern modification (eliminating flaps, pockets, etc.) a LOT easier if I didn't have to go through the instructions to figure out which pieces I don't need.
7/30/12 3:52 PM
Eunique said...
I am experiencing all the same issues. So glad to hear the second one is easier.
4/9/13 6:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 6/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2674 5 easy pieces
photo
Review by JoleneF on 7/22/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6454 Pattern
New Look 6454 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us