SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Studio Kat Designs> Portapockets (Portapockets)

7 more reviews
Viewed 543 times 
Reviewed by:Elona
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elonastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 5:00 PM
Last Updated:4/30/09 5:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SexiSadi said...
I'm making my second StudioKat pattern rigth now. I love the finished product, but the instructions and pattern pieces sure are numerous. Of course, if they were not like that, they would be the same tired big 4 pattern.
4/30/09 5:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
These purse inserts are fantastic. Yours are beautiful too.
4/30/09 6:29 PM
Patti B said...
These are very cute and useful. I think that writing instructions is a real challenge. ETA If you had problems with the directions, is there any hope for the rest of us? /grin/
4/30/09 8:01 PM
Elona said...
Patti, if you scored higher than I did on the spatial tests, you'll be fine. I think I got the lowest score ever recorded in my high school for a college prep kid.
4/30/09 11:47 PM
JEF said...
Thank you for the detailed review. Your bags came out nice and they look so useful!
5/1/09 9:19 AM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Thanks a lot for your comments on the directions. They are a good caution to read before starting sewing.
5/2/09 10:18 PM
LoriU said...
Thank you for this very complete review. Your inserts look very professional!
5/3/09 0:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Uh Oh! I'm also spatially challenged, and was wanting to try some Studio Kat bag patterns. You did seem to overcome the problems, and your bag is very nice. But it seems that patience is a requirement for the novice. (I include myself in that category. Thanks for the warning.)
6/14/09 7:51 PM
kathy1972 said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I had to print it and refer to it as I am working on my portapocket. Yours are great. I have started my first one. I have the first part done.....fusing the interfacing! I pinned the other parts together to see how it goes. Question? Is the zipper pocket shallow? At fist it looks like it is a large pocket but when you add the inner pocket .... well, that comes only a short distance down inside the pocket. I am confused. As I continued to pin I see that other pieces are sewn to the pocket. Does it sound like I have it correct? Looks like this will take more than 4 days to get finished! LOL I hope you receive this as I do not know how to send a PM.
6/3/12 6:47 AM
Muria said...
Thank you! I just bought two purse patterns, and I'm returning the second one. I desperately need a purse, so I'm keeping one, but the directions! Oy! It would also be great on the purses to have better line drawings, both of the interior, and what exactly is under all the flaps. It would make pattern modification (eliminating flaps, pockets, etc.) a LOT easier if I didn't have to go through the instructions to figure out which pieces I don't need.
7/30/12 3:52 PM
Eunique said...
I am experiencing all the same issues. So glad to hear the second one is easier.
4/9/13 6:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now