SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2703 (Misses Jacket, Pants, Dress &)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1000 times 
Reviewed by:spottedroo
photo

 
 
About spottedroostar
MA USA
Member since: 11/23/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/09 5:44 PM
Last Updated:7/30/09 9:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mc Donna said...
You & your sister both look great &i like your changes.
1/12/13 10:06 PM
Kayseri said...
Lucky sister, she looks great in this dress.
7/31/09 6:28 PM
marthamyers said...
Great dress - especially the tie belt. Thanks for the review.
7/31/09 8:37 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
great dress and read your blog. I do the "lab" thing too and anything works as long as I wear a sloppy enough sweater over it!
4/30/09 12:35 PM
Christas said...
I love this! SO cute!
4/30/09 10:04 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely, flattering dress. I recently bought this pattern and am planning to make it soon, so your review is timely and very helpful. Perhaps you need a smaller size on top--choose the size by the high bust measurement and adjust with an FBA if necessary. You can also pinfit the pattern and adjust where the darts point to/end as needed.
4/30/09 7:36 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the color looks wonderful on you.
4/29/09 9:52 PM
21wale said...
Very nice. I too like the color combo.
4/29/09 9:16 PM
MagpieJen said...
This is a great dress! I love the colour combo too. If going down a size in the bodice doesn't work for the bust darts (and it might), I would be tempted to sew the sides and shoulders, leaving the darts. Have the dart line marked, put the dress on and just play with pinning the dart (putting the pins horizontally along the proposed stitching line, not perpendicular to it) different depths and heights til you have it looking good. Then I'd mark my new stitchline and baste it first, try it one again, then re-stitch for real if it's good. There may be formulas and "ways" to do this, but that's about the extend of my fitting skill :-) And yay! pockets!
4/29/09 8:28 PM
EleanorSews said...
This one is a winner! The color is lovely on you. I wonder if maybe the bodice is not a size too large for you so that if you went down a size and then adjusted for your bust and wasit, you might get the fit you want without distorting the pleats.
4/29/09 6:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Burda 7742

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

More Info
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

More Info
Simplicity 1823

photo
by: SewNikki

Review