Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9396 (1968 Vintage Pattern) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 433 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 151
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/09 7:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this outfit. What great VISION you have, to think it up in the FIRST place. OF COURSE, the execution is SEAMLESS. Get it? Ha-ha-ha-ha! If only Mom and I had thought of this, WE could be YEHAWING RAT NOW! I'm afraid we wouldn't look QUITE as cute as you do though, PIGTAILS AND ALL! Maybe your Mom's just JEALOUS of the pigtails. Tell her next time she does a review, we can put HER in pigtails, then she'll feel better about the whole thing. YEEEEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAW!!! EXCELLENT review and outfit!
5/1/09 7:46 PM
Catbird said...
You are the swingingest, cutest cowgirl ever, I'm sure! Watch out for those Oklahoma cowboys. That is a great looking blouse and I love the pattern matching you did on the bias yoke. It's perfect! I'm envious of those boots. Who knows, you might start a trend and next thing you know we'll all be posing in cowboy boots and pigtails!
5/1/09 8:56 PM
Sandi S said...
Adorable outfit! Love how the bias yoke turned out.
5/1/09 9:53 PM
angie.a said...
Great top and great review Meggie! LOVE the pigtails!
5/1/09 10:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
Love your outfit and you were right ~ it has a great western look. You have such a great eye for what will work; your garments suit your to a "t". Your Mom is right ~ things were fitted everywhere except when they were sack-like and even then the arms were fitted.
5/1/09 10:31 PM
kerrynw said...
You look great Meggie! My daughter, (your age) has to dress as a cowgirl tonight for an 18th Birthday party! Very inspiring.
5/2/09 0:18 AM
eugenia123 said...
I just love your interpretation of this pattern. The fabric choice is great and your sewing looks flawless.
5/2/09 2:02 AM
Terri A said...
ADORABLE! Great job!
5/2/09 2:57 AM
Sharon1952 said...
The yoke detailing is very precise. The plaid matching is excellent on the back. You are a talented seamstress!
5/2/09 7:55 AM
Peggy L said...
Inspired outfit! What a great idea and it looks great on you.
5/2/09 8:02 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your wonderful fabric brings out the interesting details of this clasic style. You did a terrific job. I love the ensemble and those kickin'-hot boots!
5/2/09 9:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Move over Carrie U and Taylor S, we got ourselves a shining star! You are such a clever young lady to take a classic and make it current and chic! The boots, hat, pigtails, and your ADORABLE smile....too cool!
5/2/09 9:10 AM
Jali said...
You look terrific! The overall look you have achieved is flawless and your sewing skills are impeccable to me.
5/2/09 10:56 AM
Nancywin said...
I can see why you love this! What a great job you did on the front placket and on matching the plaid. It looks great.
5/2/09 11:08 AM
Lori V said...
Very cute outfit, the belt and boots are perfect.
5/2/09 1:48 PM
Karendee said...
Well, what can I say after all of these wonderful, true compliments. Your work is wonderful, selection tops, styling fantastic, modeling perfect. You are just adorable in this cute outfit.
5/2/09 2:06 PM
persevering said...
Pretty!
5/2/09 2:11 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Very cute outfit! You are so adorable.
5/2/09 8:42 PM
Raye Ann said...
great details! love the outfit- definately rock it with the pigtails and boots:) and no- you are not too old!
5/3/09 2:11 PM
Nana39 said...
love the shirt it looks even better in person than in the picture, great fit and color
5/3/09 8:41 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Well, it might not be what mom wants to hear, but the men don't get tired of pigtails, I'll tell ya! Started wearing them at my previous job in my mid-30's and was a curiously popular hairstyle choice...
5/4/09 2:20 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great outfit. Love the way you handle the plaid in the design of your shirt.
5/4/09 5:35 PM
jenniesue said...
Well this is so cute I've gone and ordered the pattern. It's great as a shirt rather than dress.
5/6/09 1:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Other Accessory Wardrobe 2010
photo
Review by christinas... on 9/30/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5677
photo
Review by nicegirl on 12/20/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us