Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Farbenmix: Sasha (Sasha The Wavy Dress) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 164 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:HeyJane
photo
Friend of PR
About HeyJanestar
PA USA
Member since: 5/18/05
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/09 2:46 PM
Last Updated:5/4/09 2:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
Oh wow, these are gorgeous! I love the colour combination. I'm one of those people who hate gathering but these look so pretty even I would want to make one. Great job!
5/4/09 3:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delectably and preciously adorable, Jane!
5/4/09 3:42 PM
Christas said...
Oh my gosh! These are absolutely adorable! I can't imagine how much time you have in gathering ruffles for two dresses. The outcome is so worth it! Your nieces will be the best dressed little girls at the beach! What a sweet aunt you are.
5/4/09 5:33 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!!! CUTE!! These dresses are just ADORABLE!! You did an EXCELLENT job on them!!
5/4/09 6:16 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I just love these dresses! The fabrics and the ruffling are fabulous! Really well done, I'm sure they'll love them.
5/4/09 6:51 PM
Catbird said...
These are so unusual and very, very beautiful!!
5/4/09 8:14 PM
Renren said...
I love your fabrics! These twirly dresses are just what Twirling Girls need! Yay for summer and energetic kids and clothes like these!
5/4/09 8:29 PM
MagpieJen said...
WOW! They are like gorgeous flowers - all those ruffles and sweet colors! Just fantastic!
5/4/09 8:36 PM
Sandi S said...
These are beautiful! I have this pattern, but I haven't made it yet - may have to put it higher on the wish list!
5/4/09 9:57 PM
Dmd4106 said...
The dresses are gorgeous!
5/5/09 4:25 AM
Kellie R. said...
GORGEOUS! The details are so pretty - I can picture them twirling without animation! You did a great job!
5/5/09 8:33 AM
Rippling Waters said...
Amazing! These are absolutely scrumptious. I positively love these dresses!
5/5/09 12:14 PM
morzel said...
Aah, I got this pattern still unused in my stash. Yours is a beautiful and great version!
5/5/09 3:21 PM
zaneyzelda said...
OK you all need to enlighten me. I bought the Sasha pattern and when I received it I was ticked off. It is my first pattern purchase outside of the main 3 in the USA. To me it seemed like a rip off because with the main 3 in the USA, you get very detailed instructions, several COLORED views of front and back and you don't have to trace them. I do think this finished dress is adorable, but how is it so great to pay $14 for one pattern that has so little with it. I have been sewing children's garments for 42 years, so I can do it, but it seems like so little for so much cost. I would LOVe to hear your comments on this, even if you disagree with me, I'd like to be persuaded ! Wendy
5/28/09 11:14 AM
HeyJane said...
Wendy, I know what you mean. You're right, there are no photos on the instructions page. I suppose their reasoning is that they have some photos on the web site, and the dress itself is pretty simple. I got the pattern on eBay for $6. I doubt I'd ever pay $14 for it. I could, in fact, draft a lot of these euro girl things myself, but at this time of year I'm so busy with yard maintenance and fun stuff like gardening, I sometimes opt for the fast way to not have to spend time making a pattern. I WAS actually annoyed when I purchased the Olivia Top by Pink Fig Euro and discovered only a pattern for a top (also eBay $6). My own fault for not investigating enough, or not being familiar with the euro patterns, but the cover of the Olivia pattern does make it look like a pants pattern would be included. If I were marketing it, I would print on the front "pants pattern sold separately" or something like that. In addition, a separate page was included with the pattern, instructing how to correct mistakes that had been found on the pattern including (1) seam allowance error (2) grainline marking being off (3) sleeve underarm seam is mismatched. Sounds like a lot of errors for just a little girl's top! How could they not have tested? So from that point forward I would be very leery of the professionalism of Pink Fig. The Olivia Top does include a lot of photos in the instructions. Some of the euro designs are unique and interesting so sometimes I pay for that, but you're right, an experienced person could easily draft most of them just by studying the photo.
5/29/09 8:47 AM
Annette1 said...
These TWIRLY little dresses are absolute works of art. They're KEEPSAKES. :o) I can imagine how much TIME and PATIENCE it takes to make them, with all of those little ruffles (and not the EASY kind of ruffles either -- ha!) Your fabric choices, and the addition of the little pockets, are so charming. I wish I had me some of those HARRY POTTER labels -- ha! I'm going to Google it. :o)
5/15/10 11:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-113 Shorts
photo
Review by Kbenco on 2/21/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8151 Todays Fit
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/7/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1395 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 4290 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us