Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1029 (Superfantastic Shirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 967 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 69 (patterns: 65)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/09 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/7/09 6:38 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said... (3/15/10 1:42 PM) Reply
Thanks for the recent comments. Kuby, I used Sandra's book to make adjustments to the collar -- trimmed the undercollar pieces so the upper pieces would roll to the inside. Since I did this all as an afterthought, I managed to confuse myself quite a bit -- I like the techniques used in Sandra's books very much and I apply them as often as possible; I find that thinking them through before I cut anything out helps me a lot. That way I can mark the fabric pieces clearly and not get them mixed up.
Kuby said... (3/6/10 6:08 PM) Reply
Good review. I own this pattern and I took it out of the envelope to review the directions and couldn't find them. I have power sewing and David Coffin's book, so I'll be sure to review before I attempt to put in the collar. Did you use her technique of sewing around the collar in 2 steps she described in the video?
mizdeedee said... (3/3/10 3:05 PM) Reply
I have just sewn this pattern & thanks to all the revews it is a success. The only issue is the dart placement. I went down 11/2" and made the dart shorter- about 2" I think this is correct for my bust location? The design seems to hold. I may get more advice because I really like the pattern & want to make again. thanks for all the tips
moushka said... (9/21/09 12:46 PM) Reply
Great review, Diane, as always. Thanks for the head's up on the ease. For once I can go down a size, lol!
katie lynne said... (6/8/09 11:06 PM) Reply
Very Helpful Review--Thanks! This may be larger than you're used to, but I think it looks just great on you. Lovely fabric, its so perfect for you...
rmardel said... (5/9/09 8:48 AM) Reply
Great shirt Diane and a wonderful review. 7" of ease, wow, but even with all that ease (or is it especially with all that ease) I can see how a dart would keep it from being a shapeless mess.
FreyaStark said... (5/8/09 6:10 AM) Reply
A nice shirt. I'm looking forward to making this shirt soon myself.
Liana said... (5/8/09 1:14 AM) Reply
The shirt is great, and I had the best time reading your review! Very, very nice on both counts.
Patti B said... (5/7/09 10:29 PM) Reply
Diane, I would loved to have been a fly on the wall during this process! End result is great and your review is very helpful.
Em's Summer said... (5/7/09 10:24 PM) Reply
Great top!
Diane E said... (5/7/09 9:27 PM) Reply
Thanks for your kind words. LOL Elona, maybe I have a ferret in my garret -- that would explain many things. Kay, I think you make an excellent point about those bust darts.
Kay Y said... (5/7/09 9:08 PM) Reply
Great review and great pink shirt Diane! With 7" of ease I almost wonder if it really needs bust darts at all?
Elona said... (5/7/09 9:00 PM) Reply
The Galah color combo is a wonderful one, and your pink shirt is very pretty, very art-studio-in-the-garret (I've had a little wine and actually typed ferret, but corrected that). About the yellow marking paper, I had the same trouble when putting together my son's white linen wedding shirt--aaaaaack! I think the manufacturers should take note of this problem.
Karla Kizer said... (5/7/09 7:23 PM) Reply
Love both the review and the finished product. It's a well-known fact that sheep wear pink very well. LOL.
Sew4Fun said... (5/7/09 7:20 PM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review. 7" of bust ease, oh my! I'm glad I read your review before opening my pattern.
michellep74 said... (5/7/09 7:01 PM) Reply
Cute blouse! I have this pattern and am hoping to make it up soon.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

No Pattern Used Flowers

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Curve Runner 12 inch

Curve Runner 12 inch

Pattern Details
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details