SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2757 (Misses costume)

3 more reviews
Viewed 527 times 
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo

 
 
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/09 5:45 PM
Last Updated:5/8/09 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:12 PM
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:08 PM
kakariki said...
I've just finished making the bodice (size 18), and yes, if you're using heavy material, it's hard to turn out. My solution was to leave the strap partially unstitched on one side also, pulled the fronts through this hole, then through the back. Then I finished it by putting a seam down both finished sides of the shoulder band. Still looks good if you can sew straight, and this would be covered if you finish with braid. I also found the sizes ran large, I had to do 1 inch seams when sewing the front to the back to pull it in. I made mine from offcuts as a test, cost about $5 to make in total, and it turned out awesome. Found it fairly easy even after a 10 year break from sewing.
5/8/10 9:13 PM
curecat said...
I also made this pattern (size 20), first as a muslin and then with better fabric, but my experience was that the pattern ran large rather than small. I agree with the reviewer that the lengths were shorter than advertised. The knee-length one that I made for the muslin came only mid-thigh and for the final version I made the long one and it only came to the knee. Also modified the pattern somewhat to put boning in the seams to make the bodice more corset-like.
12/4/09 9:49 PM
droxy said...
This is teh Catherine Zeta Jones costume llok from teh Zorro movies. Like you I am learning costumes can be worn as regular clothing if done with good fabric. =) Looks like a really fun dress.
5/14/09 1:47 PM
calminatrix said...
really cool dress! LOVE IT! i wish i could add and subtract at will like you do.
5/9/09 8:07 AM
cammyland said...
::arianamaniacs:: I totally forgot about flat-felled seams! Thanks so much, I might do that instead of lining the skirt :3
5/9/09 3:22 AM
Frosty772 said...
I have the pattern for the bloomers and nightdress from Arkivestry but didnt think much about this pattern...... until now!! That is super cute and will have to get is asap!! Thanks for the review!!
5/8/09 11:13 PM
misscreativist said...
Another pattern I need to buy! Love the blue faux lacing, such a nice contrast. And I can use up all that hook and eye tape that I bought! Funny it ran small - Simplicity normally runs huge. Thanks for the advice about lining, I hate things that aren't lined.
5/8/09 9:18 PM
arianamaniacs said...
cute dress, i like the faux corseting! If you don't like open seams showing on the skirt, another idea would be to finish them in a flat-felled seam. That looks professional on both sides.
5/8/09 8:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
New Look 6968

photo
by: prosthetic...

Review