Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6461 (Misses' Skirts in Two Lengths) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 367 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Jennifer shaw
photo
Friend of PR
About Jennifer shawstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/09 10:05 PM
Last Updated:8/4/09 4:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Meh, I am just not so crazy about it. Could it be the fabric I used?? If you have made this skirt, did you use a softer material? Maybe that is why I am not so thrilled with it.
5/10/09 11:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you most certainly have the figure for this skirt, so if you're not feeling the love, maybe the drapier fabric you mentioned would change your perspective. As for your hubby's comment, you should say, "It's not EVERYBODY who can look STUNNING in a sheet!" Oh, I just thought of a REALLY cute gored pattern that you would look SO cute in. It's got ruching at the hips and then the gores go down from there. I've never made it, so I'm not exactly sure of the details (other than I know it has that ruching). It's REALLY cute. It's a Burda. If I can find it, I'll post it on the hourglass thread so you can see it.
5/11/09 12:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks, Annette1! I used to wear gored skirts all of the time.
5/11/09 10:54 PM
Tov said...
Jennifer, I've made this skirt in a number of fabrics. So far, rayon is my favorite.Linen/rayon blend fabric worked well too. Also, I found the pattern too large and went down a couple of sizes(unusual for me to do) to get a good fit. You can also modify the curve of the 'bell' at the bottom of the panel which will work well in a less drapey fabric. It really is a fun skirt to wear!
5/18/09 1:26 AM
SarahSews said...
Jennifer, I made this skirt pattern from a cotton/ lycra for my first time with this pattern. I had commentary from 6 sewing friends, while walking to a restaurant for lunch. It was like having a 6-sided mirror review. As much as I loved the fabric, there were many things wrong, such as too stiff, not flowing, didn't accent the better parts of me; so it was not that flattering. I learned so much from my walking sewing friends review, that I went back and made the skirt 3 more times. I have use rayon and linen/cotton. I have had more good comments on the linen/cotton one, usually each time I wear it. I've worked with the pattern, eliminated the band and zipper, making an elastic waist and also, cut down on the bell shape at the bottom of the skirt. This is my favorite pattern, to date. I love it for a quick serged skirt. Play with it and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
5/18/09 11:20 AM
Annette1 said...
Sounds like a plan! I'll look forward to seeing the latest version.
5/18/09 2:46 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jen, it's definetly the fabric, flowier should do the trick, although I kind of like this one too, you're wearing a nice top BTW:-)
5/19/09 1:12 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks Marita! That top is the latest version of my TNT Simplicity top out of some gorgeous Swiss cotton knit from the stash!
5/24/09 9:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2004-136 Tops, Trousers
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 11/22/04
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/22/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us