Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-127 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 637 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireOKC
photo
Friend of PR
About ClaireOKCstar
OK USA
Member since: 9/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/09 10:20 AM
Last Updated:7/29/09 4:41 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Great jacket -- very pretty modification. :) To answer your (rhetorical?) question, I think "what Burda intended here" was to echo the tunic-shaped Nehru jacket of the late 60's.
5/18/09 11:03 AM
Karen6790 said...
Even after LindsayT and Dawn's warnings on this jacket, I gave it a try, and I tried altering the style lines but I still didn't like it on me. Your version turned out very well - congrats on facing all the hard work it took to turn this pattern into that jacket.
5/18/09 1:16 PM
Patzee said...
I found it very interesting to read about your alterations, etc. Thanks!
5/19/09 1:37 AM
ClaireOKC said...
Joan 1954 - O dear this will date me, but I remember wearing these Nehru Jackets and they were very form fitting (with Oriental ease not Occidental ease). This jacket really had no waist delineation at all, and was very baggy at the onset. If Burda meant this very fitted jacket they missed the fit totally. It didn't even have the shape of the Nehru Jacket that I knew back in the 60's. That's what was so confusing about this pattern. Almost to a one, every Burda I've made up has had great line and style. That's what has made them so appealing. This is one that didn't look at all like it did in the picture. Very confusing!
5/19/09 3:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous!
5/19/09 5:39 AM
AliceB said...
Amazing... I just wandered off and read your entire blog... I'm such a sucker for wonderful classic design executed beautifully.
5/25/09 7:50 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Hi, Claire -- thanks for the explanation! :) I was there then, too, but never actually wore a Nehru jacket, so I didn't know they were form-fitting. Many 60's styles weren't, so maybe Burda assumed the same thing I did (oops). I think it's still a fantastic looking jacket, though!
5/29/09 5:53 PM
trinicity said...
great review, so detail, great jacket
7/29/09 5:23 PM
Christas said...
Very cute jacket. Your changes made it look so much better!
7/29/09 6:33 PM
Nancy K said...
After reading Lindsay's review I figured that the front seams were more style lines than fitting seams. You've made it look chic and stylish. Great changes
7/29/09 7:40 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love the changes that you made to the lines of this jacket, beautiful work.
7/29/09 8:38 PM
Delia Wilson said...
Great jacket, your modifications, make sense and you did not loose the look of the original pattern.
7/29/09 9:28 PM
Kay Y said...
Your version is stunning!
7/29/09 9:46 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I love the way you altered this pattern to make it work for you!
7/29/09 10:32 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket, it looks wonderful.
7/30/09 0:26 AM
busymomof3 said...
Love it!!
7/30/09 2:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great looking jacket.
7/30/09 7:24 AM
Catbird said...
I love your jacket and am glad to see a review of it because this was one of the ones I liked from that issue and considered making. Your excellent review and pattern changes will be a great help -- thank you. Yours looks great!
7/30/09 9:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us