SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-127 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 665 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireOKC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireOKCstar
OK USA
Member since: 9/22/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/09 10:20 AM
Last Updated:7/29/09 4:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
I love your jacket and am glad to see a review of it because this was one of the ones I liked from that issue and considered making. Your excellent review and pattern changes will be a great help -- thank you. Yours looks great!
7/30/09 9:43 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great looking jacket.
7/30/09 7:24 AM
busymomof3 said...
Love it!!
7/30/09 2:29 AM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket, it looks wonderful.
7/30/09 0:26 AM
Heidi Ho said...
I love the way you altered this pattern to make it work for you!
7/29/09 10:32 PM
Kay Y said...
Your version is stunning!
7/29/09 9:46 PM
Delia Wilson said...
Great jacket, your modifications, make sense and you did not loose the look of the original pattern.
7/29/09 9:28 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love the changes that you made to the lines of this jacket, beautiful work.
7/29/09 8:38 PM
Nancy K said...
After reading Lindsay's review I figured that the front seams were more style lines than fitting seams. You've made it look chic and stylish. Great changes
7/29/09 7:40 PM
Christas said...
Very cute jacket. Your changes made it look so much better!
7/29/09 6:33 PM
trinicity said...
great review, so detail, great jacket
7/29/09 5:23 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Hi, Claire -- thanks for the explanation! :) I was there then, too, but never actually wore a Nehru jacket, so I didn't know they were form-fitting. Many 60's styles weren't, so maybe Burda assumed the same thing I did (oops). I think it's still a fantastic looking jacket, though!
5/29/09 5:53 PM
AliceB said...
Amazing... I just wandered off and read your entire blog... I'm such a sucker for wonderful classic design executed beautifully.
5/25/09 7:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous!
5/19/09 5:39 AM
ClaireOKC said...
Joan 1954 - O dear this will date me, but I remember wearing these Nehru Jackets and they were very form fitting (with Oriental ease not Occidental ease). This jacket really had no waist delineation at all, and was very baggy at the onset. If Burda meant this very fitted jacket they missed the fit totally. It didn't even have the shape of the Nehru Jacket that I knew back in the 60's. That's what was so confusing about this pattern. Almost to a one, every Burda I've made up has had great line and style. That's what has made them so appealing. This is one that didn't look at all like it did in the picture. Very confusing!
5/19/09 3:29 AM
Patzee said...
I found it very interesting to read about your alterations, etc. Thanks!
5/19/09 1:37 AM
Karen6790 said...
Even after LindsayT and Dawn's warnings on this jacket, I gave it a try, and I tried altering the style lines but I still didn't like it on me. Your version turned out very well - congrats on facing all the hard work it took to turn this pattern into that jacket.
5/18/09 1:16 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Great jacket -- very pretty modification. :) To answer your (rhetorical?) question, I think "what Burda intended here" was to echo the tunic-shaped Nehru jacket of the late 60's.
5/18/09 11:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
New Look 6003

photo
by: SewWil

Review