SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-112 (zippered blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 685 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Wentz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Judy Wentzstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/24/05
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/09 1:53 PM
Last Updated:6/3/09 3:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
swede said...
Wow, thanks for the review, I'm about to start on this jacket tomorrow, and I'm sure I'll refer back to your comments. I can't wait to see your finished jacket!
5/29/09 1:04 AM
Renren said...
Your jackets are very nice. I especially love the plaid one and am really amazed by your "double-headed" zipper. I guess you ordered the YKK color chart and then you ordered the zipper from them also?
5/29/09 8:01 AM
crisford said...
Your jackets are looking great! I will be looking forward to seeing photos of you modelling them! This has been on my list of things to make, so thanks for the great review.
5/29/09 11:50 AM
madamemaigret said...
I've been waiting to see if anyone else made this jacket! I've almost finished mine; just the hem and front facing bias to do. Your review really clarifies a few of the issues I was having with it. Your jacket looks great already; am looking forward to seeing the finished article.
5/29/09 4:40 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Actually I made a couple of mistakes before I got the zipper thing right. Color was just one of the issues. At first I did not realize that the zipper went up through the color. The color chart was an after thought, but will be really helpful in the future. The samples are awesome. I have found that at least at my Joannes, the zipper selection is pretty slim. I love the zippers from YKK. They will even cut them to your specifications for one dollar more. jw
5/29/09 7:39 PM
Renren said...
I love your finished jacket. Thanks for posting! Perfect jacket for a gray day in autumn or spring when you want to bring some light into the world! Wonderful for summer, too, especially on a windy beach.
6/2/09 9:32 AM
Patzee said...
Wonderful review! I need to take another look at this pattern. Thanks for the tip about seersucker. I didn't know that.
6/3/09 4:46 PM
Speech girl said...
Cute!
6/5/09 10:37 PM
carolsue2 said...
I really appreciate your clear explanation and pictures of how you used this pattern, especially the waistband and pleat management. I think it looks great on you. It looks like something I would grab out of my closet to wear and I am encouraged to make this top. Thank you.
7/3/09 10:37 AM
KandiSEW said...
Fantastic review!!! You are an amazing sewer, I hope to be there someday. Wow, great job.
9/7/12 8:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-4

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now