SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 157
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/09 6:23 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Marec, give your self credit for that project. This is a difficult fabric to work with, even for more advance sewers. All your efforts are worth while. I like the look on you... as we usually leave comments about that ;-) I like your hair in that lenght. It gives you a french look. Very nice total look. I love the chiffon-jeans look.
6/10/09 4:41 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I don't think you look overwhelmed by your sleeves! I like the pattern, which I had overlooked & I really appreciate your tips on sewing with polyester chiffon.
6/8/09 12:56 PM
pfaffkj said...
Beautiful blouse. I can imagine a whole closet of these in solids and prints and they'd never look the same!
6/7/09 1:57 PM
eugenia123 said...
What a really pretty shirt, I love that fabric - it may have been tricky but it does look great.
6/7/09 1:20 PM
shesflipped said...
Love your blouse! It looks so nice on you. Your review almost makes me want to try a collar and buttonholes! Great work!
6/7/09 1:14 PM
Karenino said...
Lovely! I'm looking for a shirt dress pattern and wondering if I can just lengthen this one. It looks so comfortable on you.
6/7/09 1:01 PM
Barbara V said...
This really looks nice on you! Great job with a tricky fabric.
6/7/09 12:14 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Mary, your blouse is beautiful !! The colors are so gorgeous with your coloring. I am sorry that it was such a pain to sew, you are so smart to make this with snaps instead of buttonholes. :) Thanks for reviewing this pattern, it is one of the prettier styles that Vogue has in stock.
6/7/09 11:21 AM
KarmenG said...
Cute blouse - I agree with Ann it's a wonderful alternative to a Camp Shirt. I'm thinking light weight cotton voile might work well and not be as fussy to work with as the chiffon; and cool during the summer. Thanks for pointing out this pattern.
6/7/09 10:28 AM
Annette1 said...
But are you really SURE you won't be using any more poly chiffon? :o)) Frustrating as that fabric may have been, it was SO worth it in the end. :o) I love the silhouette of this top, and the fact that it fits so nicely and yet should be fairly cool for summer due to the dolman sleeves. ALERT THE MEDIA: I already have this pattern! I think I bought it when ITAdmin made hers. I think my aunt in Galveston would like this top, too. :o)
6/7/09 0:51 AM
Nancywin said...
This is very pretty and I'm sure your fabric choice (although a pain to work with) is what really makes it drape so nicely. I have used poly chiffon with mixed results - some great, some horrible. You might try another type. I understand that silk chiffon is MUCH easier to work with, but most of the silk chiffons I've seen are so sheer that they must be underlined. I do have a few in my stash that I need to try. I really like this blouse on you.
6/7/09 0:13 AM
Ody said...
You are absolutely right---va va voom in actions. Great blouse! and you look fabulous in it.
6/6/09 11:44 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is much cuter than the average camp shirt. Great job!
6/6/09 11:16 PM
Em's Summer said...
It was definitely worth the difficulty of working with chiffon because this is just gorgeous! You look great in this! And thanks for the heads up about the fit! Great review!
6/6/09 10:33 PM
marec said...
Thanks for the feedback and nice comments! Laura-hello :-) Patti B, I can feel the sleeves when reaching forward but they aren't restrictive. I removed the back darts to give myself some breathing room-the pattern runs very fitted as drafted.
6/6/09 8:50 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty!!
6/6/09 8:24 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Llvely top. jw
6/6/09 7:33 PM
Patti B said...
What a cute blouse even if the fabric was a pain to sew. Do you find the dolman sleeve restrictive?
6/6/09 6:54 PM
papago said...
Really pretty Mary! I have this pattern also and appreciate your review. I really enjoyed meeting you in Portland. Enjoy your retirement!! Laura
6/6/09 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 4728

photo
by: Foutchy

Review
Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now