SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5961 (apron)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1134 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSusan
photo

 
 
About SewingSusanstar
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews: 40 (patterns: 37)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/03 7:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said... (8/23/06 7:53 PM) Reply
Great job! Too gorgeous for an apron! Wow!
CycleGal said... (1/18/05 12:09 PM) Reply
Oh my gosh, I just made this pattern, with this fabric...and I hadn't seen your review!
Elaine Penney said... (12/26/03 12:29 PM) Reply
Love your apron. They're almost obsolete these days, yet every time I mess up my clothes, I say to myself "I need an apron!" I just may have to make one of these.
JustSewCrafty said... (12/24/03 7:12 PM) Reply
Very nice! Be careful about adding too much fullness to the side pannel as it could make someone with full hips look even fuller . . .
drsue said... (12/23/03 11:42 PM) Reply
I had a shock of recognition when I saw your review, I made a very similar apron but it was from a vitage simplicty pattern, #3702 that I bought on e-bay. Couldn't find a copyright date. I also was amazed at the amount of detail work in these vintage aprons. The originial had even more so because the shoulder straps are one piece with the apron itself making the bias binding very tricky. Great Job and I love the fabric.
SewingSusan said... (12/23/03 8:18 PM) Reply
I just realized I took this picture before I put the bias trimmed pockets on. I debated adding the pockets but I was really glad I did. Anybody know what I did wrong with my link to a close-up of the fabric?
Lou. said... (12/23/03 8:03 PM) Reply
Love it!!
MadMenFanlinda said... (12/23/03 7:55 PM) Reply
I love it Susan! Great fabric and fun to look at. Thanks for the review. I would like to make one out of a fifties style Hawaiian print I have but I think I'll wait till the New Year.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

StyleArc Tamara Knit Top

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Purse-Nickities Paper Pattern

Purse-Nickities Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2636

photo
by: Bonny Dune

Review