SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 9999.6.5.09 (Copied Pants)

Viewed 309 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/09 7:33 PM
Last Updated:6/5/09 8:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
What a great idea. YOur pants look great. I have just taken a pair of rtw pants apart to use as a pattern. I could not make a commercial pattern fit. I hope they fit as well as yours. jw
6/4/09 7:36 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I enjoyed your review. I had read about the painter's tape method, but never thought of trying it myself. What a great job.
6/4/09 8:04 PM
j222b said...
This is the best review! Thanks so much. What is the brand of Dress Form? Do you like ti?
6/4/09 8:17 PM
Christas said...
Too bad there isn't a rating "VERY, VERY HELPFUL!" This is such a wonderful review, completely full of great information. Your pants turned out wonderfully.
6/4/09 9:18 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for your tutorial. Your pants are fabulous - you look super in them.
6/4/09 10:41 PM
Laurasews said...
Excellent job of copying!!! I may have to try this.
6/4/09 11:54 PM
Clareew said...
Fabulous pants, great review
6/5/09 3:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great pants. They look like the twin of the RTW pair. I had to look twice as I didn't realise they were different.
6/5/09 7:39 AM
Babe B said...
Thanks very much for your review! How cool is this!!! Just this AM as I was donning my faded, favorite, nearly-wornout pants, I thought "I need to take these apart and make a pattern." NOW I will try the tape method instead. Thank you, thank you!
6/5/09 8:55 AM
AliciaNoel said...
Thanks so much for the review and tutorial - great work!!!
6/5/09 8:59 AM
Valerie S said...
Thanks for this info and the tutorial. I had never heard of using painters tape to do this.
6/5/09 9:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
They look great! What an interesting method for copying a pattern! Thanks for all of the info!
6/5/09 10:05 AM
Patti B said...
Terrific idea, great copied pants and very helpful tutorial. Thanks! Interesting how the curve in to the knee is more pronounced on the back piece. I'll have to look at some of my patterns and see if that is replicated.
6/5/09 10:59 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cool!! Another good use for the tape I stole from my husband and use to pick up stray threads. Those turned out great.
6/5/09 3:52 PM
bananaoil said...
Great job. Pants look good. Now you have a TNT pants pattern.
6/5/09 10:38 PM
Athene said...
Great pants and such an excellent tutorial. Thank you.
6/6/09 1:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a fabulous pair of pants! And a great review, too!
6/6/09 11:32 PM
Woolygal said...
That's a great idea. I'll try it.
6/8/09 8:12 AM
droxy said...
I've never seen this done before! Thanbks for posting.
6/16/09 7:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

brerrabbit.com Beauval Reve de Bebe

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
McCall's 6470

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now