Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 9999.6.5.09 (Copied Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 309 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo
Friend of PR
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/09 7:33 PM
Last Updated:6/5/09 8:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
What a great idea. YOur pants look great. I have just taken a pair of rtw pants apart to use as a pattern. I could not make a commercial pattern fit. I hope they fit as well as yours. jw
6/4/09 7:36 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I enjoyed your review. I had read about the painter's tape method, but never thought of trying it myself. What a great job.
6/4/09 8:04 PM
j222b said...
This is the best review! Thanks so much. What is the brand of Dress Form? Do you like ti?
6/4/09 8:17 PM
Christas said...
Too bad there isn't a rating "VERY, VERY HELPFUL!" This is such a wonderful review, completely full of great information. Your pants turned out wonderfully.
6/4/09 9:18 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for your tutorial. Your pants are fabulous - you look super in them.
6/4/09 10:41 PM
Laurasews said...
Excellent job of copying!!! I may have to try this.
6/4/09 11:54 PM
Clareew said...
Fabulous pants, great review
6/5/09 3:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great pants. They look like the twin of the RTW pair. I had to look twice as I didn't realise they were different.
6/5/09 7:39 AM
Babe B said...
Thanks very much for your review! How cool is this!!! Just this AM as I was donning my faded, favorite, nearly-wornout pants, I thought "I need to take these apart and make a pattern." NOW I will try the tape method instead. Thank you, thank you!
6/5/09 8:55 AM
AliciaNoel said...
Thanks so much for the review and tutorial - great work!!!
6/5/09 8:59 AM
Valerie S said...
Thanks for this info and the tutorial. I had never heard of using painters tape to do this.
6/5/09 9:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
They look great! What an interesting method for copying a pattern! Thanks for all of the info!
6/5/09 10:05 AM
Patti B said...
Terrific idea, great copied pants and very helpful tutorial. Thanks! Interesting how the curve in to the knee is more pronounced on the back piece. I'll have to look at some of my patterns and see if that is replicated.
6/5/09 10:59 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cool!! Another good use for the tape I stole from my husband and use to pick up stray threads. Those turned out great.
6/5/09 3:52 PM
bananaoil said...
Great job. Pants look good. Now you have a TNT pants pattern.
6/5/09 10:38 PM
Athene said...
Great pants and such an excellent tutorial. Thank you.
6/6/09 1:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a fabulous pair of pants! And a great review, too!
6/6/09 11:32 PM
Woolygal said...
That's a great idea. I'll try it.
6/8/09 8:12 AM
droxy said...
I've never seen this done before! Thanbks for posting.
6/16/09 7:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 6328 misses shorts
photo
Review by CindysIsla... on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0001
photo
Review by Ceidhle on 12/1/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6878 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us