SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3789 3990 (Khaliah Ali - Misses Shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:scrappycat
photo

 
 
About scrappycatstar
TN USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/09 3:50 PM
Last Updated:6/6/09 4:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This is a very pretty fabric and your top turned out nicely. Very summery looking.
6/6/09 4:15 PM
homejewel said...
That's a very nice top. I really like your fabric.
6/6/09 6:29 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty top. You can alter the princess lines without altering the sleeve. When you make it again, do the OPPOSITE of a FBA for princess seams This should eliminate the fullness in the front without affecting the armscye.
6/6/09 6:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely shirt. It could be that you need to lower the fullness of the princess seams so that it corresponds with the fullness of your bust if your bust has dropped with age, which is common. Instructions with clear diagrams are given in Fit for Real People. You might be able to buy a copy from a good sewing shop, a bookshop or online from the McCall's website.
6/6/09 7:19 PM
JeanM said...
Beautiful shirt! You can adjust where the fullness of the princess seam falls, just as mentioned by Nancywin and FreyaStark, if the rest of the shirt fits correctly. And the adjustment shouldn't affect the armhole. I use Swedish tracing paper (or the non-woven interfacing printed with a grid) - trace my pattern pieces and pin-fit the tracings (and then I still have the original pattern, as I expect I won't always be the shape I am currently!).
6/6/09 8:17 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful blouse, really love it.
6/6/09 8:27 PM
marec said...
Very pretty blouse-nice work!! The fabric looks very cool and summery.
6/6/09 9:14 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful shirt - I have this pattern and have taken it out/put it back but you are inspiring me to take out and use!!
6/6/09 10:16 PM
Em's Summer said...
A very pretty top! Great job!
6/6/09 10:38 PM
Tere Sews said...
This is a great pattern. I have made it a half a dozen times. I found that the D cup was designed for a fuller upper chest so try pin fitting the princess seam to tweak it to fit. But really pretty good right out of the envelope.
6/8/09 8:46 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Very Pretty Top! I've made this too and found that the bust line sat higher than my own bust. I attributed it to the same thing... gravity ;) Love your choice of fabric here.
6/8/09 3:39 PM
Sewshot said...
I'm working on fitting this pattern to myself now. I had to lower the bust point by a good bit, and that part now fits. (But the princess seams fall so far to the outside of my bust, putting extra fullness between the bust and the armscye, that I think I'll have to re-draw those seamlines, moving them toward the center.) It sounds like you want to lower the bustline for yourself, too. There's a great tutorial online for that, at: https://agrilifebookstore.org/publications_details.cfm?whichpublication=2291 However, that alteration is just the beginning of changes I have to make for myself if I continue to use this pattern.
10/23/09 5:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1061

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
Simplicity 2059

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now