SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8571 (MISSES' DRESS)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1091 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/09 9:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
I'm going to try your tutorial! Lovely dress and thank you for all the details.
6/11/09 2:28 AM
Karine said...
You look terrific in that dress. I like the Maggie London, too, but this one is hard to beat! This was a perfect use for that yummy fabric. Thanks for your description of the bodice - I'll try that on a dress coming up.
6/8/09 9:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I always loved that fabric, but was too late in buying. Great looking dress.
6/8/09 5:21 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Hi Marji, so nice to see you!! This is a great dress, great print and great fit! Very good review! thanks!
6/7/09 9:32 PM
Kbenco said...
Your dress looks like the go-to garment for summer, great use of the fabulous floral print. Thank you for your detailed construction method, much better than Vogue!
6/7/09 8:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress! I'm a big fan of rayon/lycra jersey. I can see you wearing this dress to death too. :)
6/7/09 8:07 PM
AnneM said...
Another winner. Although maybe you should also make up another version of the Maggy London Dress in another knit fabric? Thanks for showing the details on what you did with the inside.
6/7/09 7:26 PM
EleanorSews said...
Looks like you have another "wear-it-until-it-falls-apart" dress. This fits you so nicely and looks as if it can go just about anywhere. Thanks for a most thorough and useful tutorial. Yours beats the pattern instruction sheet hands down.
6/7/09 5:29 PM
shesflipped said...
Love your dress~it looks stunning on you! The fabric is perfect for this style. Thank you so much for sharing all the techniques you used in the process of constructing it.
6/7/09 1:10 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute, flattering dress! I hope that you wear this one to death, too.
6/7/09 12:38 PM
persevering said...
You look fabulous in your dress and the fabric design is beautiful too. Thanks for your review.
6/7/09 12:36 PM
marec said...
Your dress is so pretty on you---and thanks for such a complete review. Reading it was a mini sewing lesson for me.
6/7/09 12:24 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress. I always like it when someone makes an outfit from a pattern that I never noticed before! Great fabric too. The way you constructed the bodice is genius.
6/7/09 12:02 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress! It looks wonderful on you. This is my favorite fabric of all time. I've made a skirt and a top and still have enough left (from a subsequent purchase) to make at least one more thing. This fabric washes great ... after a couple seasons of constant wear/laundry, the colors are still as bright as ever.
6/7/09 11:37 AM
JoanneM said...
Fantastic detailed review. Thanks.
6/7/09 11:29 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress and terrific review. I got some of that fabric from Lucy's and I sure wish I could get my hands on some more. It's great stuff.
6/7/09 11:15 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely dress and great fit. Your bodice lining tips are helpful! You look great in it.
6/7/09 10:45 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
Great dress, love the fabric. I bet you'll get a lot of wear out of it, it looks super on you!
6/7/09 10:38 AM
Nancywin said...
Marji - I'm glad to see you've made something for yourself! I like the method you used of attaching the bodice to the lining. I'm sure this idea will come in handy to me later on. This dress looks nice on you and I'm sure you'll wear it as much as the green one!
6/7/09 9:56 AM
SheriF said...
Love your dress and your process of putting it together. Thanks for the tutorial.
6/7/09 9:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

More Info
Butterick 4443

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review

Pattern