Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8571 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1080 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Marji
photo
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/09 9:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SheriF said...
Love your dress and your process of putting it together. Thanks for the tutorial.
6/7/09 9:37 AM
Nancywin said...
Marji - I'm glad to see you've made something for yourself! I like the method you used of attaching the bodice to the lining. I'm sure this idea will come in handy to me later on. This dress looks nice on you and I'm sure you'll wear it as much as the green one!
6/7/09 9:56 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
Great dress, love the fabric. I bet you'll get a lot of wear out of it, it looks super on you!
6/7/09 10:38 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely dress and great fit. Your bodice lining tips are helpful! You look great in it.
6/7/09 10:45 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress and terrific review. I got some of that fabric from Lucy's and I sure wish I could get my hands on some more. It's great stuff.
6/7/09 11:15 AM
JoanneM said...
Fantastic detailed review. Thanks.
6/7/09 11:29 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress! It looks wonderful on you. This is my favorite fabric of all time. I've made a skirt and a top and still have enough left (from a subsequent purchase) to make at least one more thing. This fabric washes great ... after a couple seasons of constant wear/laundry, the colors are still as bright as ever.
6/7/09 11:37 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great dress. I always like it when someone makes an outfit from a pattern that I never noticed before! Great fabric too. The way you constructed the bodice is genius.
6/7/09 12:02 PM
marec said...
Your dress is so pretty on you---and thanks for such a complete review. Reading it was a mini sewing lesson for me.
6/7/09 12:24 PM
persevering said...
You look fabulous in your dress and the fabric design is beautiful too. Thanks for your review.
6/7/09 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute, flattering dress! I hope that you wear this one to death, too.
6/7/09 12:38 PM
shesflipped said...
Love your dress~it looks stunning on you! The fabric is perfect for this style. Thank you so much for sharing all the techniques you used in the process of constructing it.
6/7/09 1:10 PM
EleanorSews said...
Looks like you have another "wear-it-until-it-falls-apart" dress. This fits you so nicely and looks as if it can go just about anywhere. Thanks for a most thorough and useful tutorial. Yours beats the pattern instruction sheet hands down.
6/7/09 5:29 PM
AnneM said...
Another winner. Although maybe you should also make up another version of the Maggy London Dress in another knit fabric? Thanks for showing the details on what you did with the inside.
6/7/09 7:26 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress! I'm a big fan of rayon/lycra jersey. I can see you wearing this dress to death too. :)
6/7/09 8:07 PM
Kbenco said...
Your dress looks like the go-to garment for summer, great use of the fabulous floral print. Thank you for your detailed construction method, much better than Vogue!
6/7/09 8:22 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Hi Marji, so nice to see you!! This is a great dress, great print and great fit! Very good review! thanks!
6/7/09 9:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I always loved that fabric, but was too late in buying. Great looking dress.
6/8/09 5:21 AM
Karine said...
You look terrific in that dress. I like the Maggie London, too, but this one is hard to beat! This was a perfect use for that yummy fabric. Thanks for your description of the bodice - I'll try that on a dress coming up.
6/8/09 9:07 AM
Leora said...
I'm going to try your tutorial! Lovely dress and thank you for all the details.
6/11/09 2:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6160
photo
Review by Latricia on 10/22/03
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6844
photo
Review by Sheila457 on 2/9/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us