SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

36 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:KozyKitty
photo

 
 
About KozyKittystar
MD USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
lovely!
6/8/09 4:00 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- pretty!
6/8/09 4:06 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!! stunning!
6/8/09 4:41 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
6/8/09 6:31 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous!! You look stunning in this dress!
6/8/09 7:54 PM
Athene said...
Your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it. This is such a great pattern.
6/8/09 10:17 PM
sewsincere said...
Very, very pretty dress!
6/9/09 11:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is simply gorgeous! The color is so rich and vibrant. Great job!
6/9/09 8:00 PM
Caroleleah said...
KozyKitty, your dress is exquisite! Perfect color for you, and great fit! I've been wanting to buy this pattern, but have one question perhaps you can answer: As it wraps to the back to hook, then zip, are you able to reach it to hook it yourself in the back? I'm single, so no husband to help hook my dress in the morning! :) Is the dress awkward at all to fasten? Thanks for your help. LOVE your dress!!!
6/10/09 7:16 AM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
This looks stunning! The deep red is a fantastic color on you, and I love your choice of fabric type.
6/11/09 3:00 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!!
6/14/09 4:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Vicki, I love this dress! Interestingly I picked it out for a formal gala I'm attending at the end of next month (before remembering that this was the same pattern you made that I loved) and so I will be "muslining" this this week. I decided to go with a 12 when I was cutting the pattern pieces out b/c of the waist as the finished measurement was 28" but now after reading your review I may go down to a 10 (or even 8) and then add to the pattern tissue at the waistline as it will definitely be too small for me in those sizes given that it's at zero ease for me at the 12. I like that you used the bemberg rayon instead of the dupioni silk for the lining - about how much dupioni silk did you end up using then?
3/2/10 12:29 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely Dress! Perfect Fit --THANK YOU so much for details and photos of your muslin to correct the fit issues on the bodice. I am not an expert sewer, and was trying to figure out how to deal with exactly the gapping in my muslin that you addressed. Hope this will work for me -- I'm attempting it as a ball gown. . .
1/27/13 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4247

photo
by: JanineMck

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now