SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 960 times 
Reviewed by:KozyKitty
photo

 
 
About KozyKittystar
MD USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely Dress! Perfect Fit --THANK YOU so much for details and photos of your muslin to correct the fit issues on the bodice. I am not an expert sewer, and was trying to figure out how to deal with exactly the gapping in my muslin that you addressed. Hope this will work for me -- I'm attempting it as a ball gown. . .
1/27/13 2:24 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Vicki, I love this dress! Interestingly I picked it out for a formal gala I'm attending at the end of next month (before remembering that this was the same pattern you made that I loved) and so I will be "muslining" this this week. I decided to go with a 12 when I was cutting the pattern pieces out b/c of the waist as the finished measurement was 28" but now after reading your review I may go down to a 10 (or even 8) and then add to the pattern tissue at the waistline as it will definitely be too small for me in those sizes given that it's at zero ease for me at the 12. I like that you used the bemberg rayon instead of the dupioni silk for the lining - about how much dupioni silk did you end up using then?
3/2/10 12:29 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!!
6/14/09 4:44 PM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
This looks stunning! The deep red is a fantastic color on you, and I love your choice of fabric type.
6/11/09 3:00 PM
Caroleleah said...
KozyKitty, your dress is exquisite! Perfect color for you, and great fit! I've been wanting to buy this pattern, but have one question perhaps you can answer: As it wraps to the back to hook, then zip, are you able to reach it to hook it yourself in the back? I'm single, so no husband to help hook my dress in the morning! :) Is the dress awkward at all to fasten? Thanks for your help. LOVE your dress!!!
6/10/09 7:16 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is simply gorgeous! The color is so rich and vibrant. Great job!
6/9/09 8:00 PM
sewsincere said...
Very, very pretty dress!
6/9/09 11:09 AM
Athene said...
Your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it. This is such a great pattern.
6/8/09 10:17 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous!! You look stunning in this dress!
6/8/09 7:54 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
6/8/09 6:31 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!! stunning!
6/8/09 4:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- pretty!
6/8/09 4:06 PM
kkkkaty said...
lovely!
6/8/09 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 5974

photo
by: UglyCute

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

More Info