Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 953 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:KozyKitty
photo
About KozyKittystar
MD USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 3:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
lovely!
6/8/09 4:00 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- pretty!
6/8/09 4:06 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!! stunning!
6/8/09 4:41 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
6/8/09 6:31 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous!! You look stunning in this dress!
6/8/09 7:54 PM
Athene said...
Your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it. This is such a great pattern.
6/8/09 10:17 PM
sewsincere said...
Very, very pretty dress!
6/9/09 11:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is simply gorgeous! The color is so rich and vibrant. Great job!
6/9/09 8:00 PM
Caroleleah said...
KozyKitty, your dress is exquisite! Perfect color for you, and great fit! I've been wanting to buy this pattern, but have one question perhaps you can answer: As it wraps to the back to hook, then zip, are you able to reach it to hook it yourself in the back? I'm single, so no husband to help hook my dress in the morning! :) Is the dress awkward at all to fasten? Thanks for your help. LOVE your dress!!!
6/10/09 7:16 AM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
This looks stunning! The deep red is a fantastic color on you, and I love your choice of fabric type.
6/11/09 3:00 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!!
6/14/09 4:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Vicki, I love this dress! Interestingly I picked it out for a formal gala I'm attending at the end of next month (before remembering that this was the same pattern you made that I loved) and so I will be "muslining" this this week. I decided to go with a 12 when I was cutting the pattern pieces out b/c of the waist as the finished measurement was 28" but now after reading your review I may go down to a 10 (or even 8) and then add to the pattern tissue at the waistline as it will definitely be too small for me in those sizes given that it's at zero ease for me at the 12. I like that you used the bemberg rayon instead of the dupioni silk for the lining - about how much dupioni silk did you end up using then?
3/2/10 12:29 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely Dress! Perfect Fit --THANK YOU so much for details and photos of your muslin to correct the fit issues on the bodice. I am not an expert sewer, and was trying to figure out how to deal with exactly the gapping in my muslin that you addressed. Hope this will work for me -- I'm attempting it as a ball gown. . .
1/27/13 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5430
photo
Review by Bonnie O on 6/22/07
Read Review

Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5889 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2325 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1161 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 10/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us