Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-110 (Silk Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 910 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/09 8:27 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Beautiful blouse and great fabric choice!
6/10/09 8:31 PM
crazygrad said...
I love the fabric lines- gorgeous!
6/10/09 8:46 PM
Jali said...
Amazing blouse! Looks much better than the magazine versions. Looks like a great fit and what lovely fabric..
6/10/09 8:52 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful! Looks great with your pants and sandals!
6/10/09 9:06 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Lovely marriage of pattern and fabric, very nice construction. Looks great on you!
6/10/09 9:15 PM
Kennis said...
Beautiful! Love the fabric too. Your version is pretty than Burda's.
6/10/09 9:24 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! THanks for the detailed pictures of the construction. It's just fabulous!
6/10/09 9:47 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Beautiful as always
6/10/09 9:48 PM
Christas said...
Gorgeous blouse! The fabric is wonderful!
6/10/09 9:55 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top!
6/10/09 9:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
As another rectangle, I really enjoyed your review. Love your fabric - it suits you and the top beautifully.
6/10/09 10:48 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks great on you Birgitte, and I love the fabric you chose. Thanks for linking back to Thai Silks, they have really increased their selection since I last checked them out. Love this tunic on you!
6/10/09 10:53 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful shirt, it looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the link to the style blog.
6/10/09 11:16 PM
Rebecca D said...
Your top looks great and I very much appreciate the detailed construction steps. Your workmanship is impeccable.
6/11/09 6:40 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive top. Well done.
6/11/09 6:45 AM
Deepika said...
Wow! your tunic is lovely. Silk Charmeuse is perfect for this style. Thanks for sharing.
6/11/09 8:39 AM
Jean McGuire said...
WOW! Great top and excellent review. Thank you!
6/11/09 8:40 AM
AngieC said...
Love your top! What a beautiful finish inside and out! Great review as well-
6/11/09 9:13 AM
Marji said...
fabulous looking top on you. Love that silk print too.
6/11/09 9:16 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top & terrific review!
6/11/09 9:44 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute top!
6/11/09 10:26 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great looking tunic! It looks stunning on you! I love Thai Silks.
6/11/09 10:35 AM
LindsayT said...
Seriously, I never would have considered an empire waist as a rectangle myself, but this looks wonderful on you. I may have to rethink this pattern. Fabulous fabric as always.
6/11/09 12:27 PM
eugenia123 said...
Great review and really gorgeous tunic, beautifully constructed.
6/11/09 12:36 PM
barbcl said...
Really sharp! Thanks for sharing.
6/11/09 1:25 PM
Catbird said...
Well here we go again -- now I have to stop everything I'm doing and go trace this top. I love it!! It's flowy and feminine and so chic, and the proportions are perfect with your slim white pants and sandals. That fabric is scrumptious, too, and it must be heavenly to wear. I love all the construction details. Thank you for a fantastic review and another big dose of inspiration!
6/11/09 4:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you've done it agin! High fashion lady. Ok, i get that you don't show your face but you have to raise your hair so we can see the blouse: must see more:) Beautiful craftsmenship
6/11/09 5:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very stylish tunic! Love your silk fabric. I like how (I assume) you matched the main stripes across the upper front bodice but not the others so it's not too matchy-matchy. It adds a nice visual interest. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/11/09 11:23 PM
SusiM said...
What beautiful construction, and a superb garment! Thanks so much for posting this review. I was eyeing this one, and love what you have created.
6/12/09 0:48 AM
chango said...
Beautiful tunic, I love your fabric. It looks great on you. I was attracted to the style, but wasn't sure it would look good on me. I've just finished it (well, I have to buy buttons and sew them on), and I'm so happy with the result! Easy and clear instructions (something I don't always say about BWOF). I made it with a stretch poplin I had in my stash, but I will definately sew it again in silk charmeuse. Thanks for the review, and for the pictures on your blog showing your alterations, I wasn't sure hot to finish the neckline, and I found the answer from the pictures on your blog. THanks!
6/14/09 8:55 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm so far behind on reading my reviews on PR, I had to come clear out to page 6 to find this one -- ha! I KNEW I had seen one of your reviews though. This is SO pretty. I love the easy, yet not voluminous fit. OF COURSE, it looks FABULOUS on you. :o) Great review!
6/15/09 4:21 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful construction and a very flattering blouse. I much prefer it in your dramatic print than the prissy original. Gorgeous
7/11/09 1:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969
photo
Review by julliams on 3/25/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-111
photo
Review by MichelleE on 11/22/10
Read Review

Burda 2509 Pattern
Burda 2509 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7047 Pattern
Burda 7047 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us