SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-110 (Silk Tunic)

7 more reviews
Viewed 912 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/09 8:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Beautiful construction and a very flattering blouse. I much prefer it in your dramatic print than the prissy original. Gorgeous
7/11/09 1:22 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm so far behind on reading my reviews on PR, I had to come clear out to page 6 to find this one -- ha! I KNEW I had seen one of your reviews though. This is SO pretty. I love the easy, yet not voluminous fit. OF COURSE, it looks FABULOUS on you. :o) Great review!
6/15/09 4:21 AM
chango said...
Beautiful tunic, I love your fabric. It looks great on you. I was attracted to the style, but wasn't sure it would look good on me. I've just finished it (well, I have to buy buttons and sew them on), and I'm so happy with the result! Easy and clear instructions (something I don't always say about BWOF). I made it with a stretch poplin I had in my stash, but I will definately sew it again in silk charmeuse. Thanks for the review, and for the pictures on your blog showing your alterations, I wasn't sure hot to finish the neckline, and I found the answer from the pictures on your blog. THanks!
6/14/09 8:55 PM
SusiM said...
What beautiful construction, and a superb garment! Thanks so much for posting this review. I was eyeing this one, and love what you have created.
6/12/09 0:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Very stylish tunic! Love your silk fabric. I like how (I assume) you matched the main stripes across the upper front bodice but not the others so it's not too matchy-matchy. It adds a nice visual interest. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/11/09 11:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you've done it agin! High fashion lady. Ok, i get that you don't show your face but you have to raise your hair so we can see the blouse: must see more:) Beautiful craftsmenship
6/11/09 5:54 PM
Catbird said...
Well here we go again -- now I have to stop everything I'm doing and go trace this top. I love it!! It's flowy and feminine and so chic, and the proportions are perfect with your slim white pants and sandals. That fabric is scrumptious, too, and it must be heavenly to wear. I love all the construction details. Thank you for a fantastic review and another big dose of inspiration!
6/11/09 4:35 PM
barbcl said...
Really sharp! Thanks for sharing.
6/11/09 1:25 PM
eugenia123 said...
Great review and really gorgeous tunic, beautifully constructed.
6/11/09 12:36 PM
LindsayT said...
Seriously, I never would have considered an empire waist as a rectangle myself, but this looks wonderful on you. I may have to rethink this pattern. Fabulous fabric as always.
6/11/09 12:27 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Great looking tunic! It looks stunning on you! I love Thai Silks.
6/11/09 10:35 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute top!
6/11/09 10:26 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top & terrific review!
6/11/09 9:44 AM
Marji said...
fabulous looking top on you. Love that silk print too.
6/11/09 9:16 AM
AngieC said...
Love your top! What a beautiful finish inside and out! Great review as well-
6/11/09 9:13 AM
Jean McGuire said...
WOW! Great top and excellent review. Thank you!
6/11/09 8:40 AM
Deepika said...
Wow! your tunic is lovely. Silk Charmeuse is perfect for this style. Thanks for sharing.
6/11/09 8:39 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart and distinctive top. Well done.
6/11/09 6:45 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your top looks great and I very much appreciate the detailed construction steps. Your workmanship is impeccable.
6/11/09 6:40 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful shirt, it looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the link to the style blog.
6/10/09 11:16 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks great on you Birgitte, and I love the fabric you chose. Thanks for linking back to Thai Silks, they have really increased their selection since I last checked them out. Love this tunic on you!
6/10/09 10:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
As another rectangle, I really enjoyed your review. Love your fabric - it suits you and the top beautifully.
6/10/09 10:48 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top!
6/10/09 9:56 PM
Christas said...
Gorgeous blouse! The fabric is wonderful!
6/10/09 9:55 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Beautiful as always
6/10/09 9:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! THanks for the detailed pictures of the construction. It's just fabulous!
6/10/09 9:47 PM
Kennis said...
Beautiful! Love the fabric too. Your version is pretty than Burda's.
6/10/09 9:24 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Lovely marriage of pattern and fabric, very nice construction. Looks great on you!
6/10/09 9:15 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful! Looks great with your pants and sandals!
6/10/09 9:06 PM
Jali said...
Amazing blouse! Looks much better than the magazine versions. Looks like a great fit and what lovely fabric..
6/10/09 8:52 PM
crazygrad said...
I love the fabric lines- gorgeous!
6/10/09 8:46 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful blouse and great fabric choice!
6/10/09 8:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 7988

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-111

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info