SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-103 (Tunic Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 523 times 
Reviewed by:Opals Passions
photo

 
 
About Opals Passionsstar
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 50
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/09 10:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wineyjudy said...
Great fabric choices! A very cute top of you!
6/13/09 10:01 AM
Opals Passions said...
@kay, I didn't think about that... thanks for the advise.....
6/12/09 11:10 PM
nglalala said...
Cute top! The fabric is so fun!
6/12/09 3:06 PM
Kay Y said...
Your tunic looks really cute! I have to ask, though - When you say you didn't add any "extra" seam allowances, do you mean you treated the pattern piece edges as traced as though they were cutting lines (SA included)? If so, this would explain why you find the neck opening wide - by sewing inside the intended seam lines you would have increased the overall width of the neckline by 1.25" (5/8" further out at each shoulder). This also would have lowered the neckline by 5/8" in both front and back and overall made the yoke narrower (5/8" at each of top and bottom). This might well also explain why you find the underarm a bit high - the effect of reducing the depth of the yoke by sewing inside the intended lower seam line would be to pull the body pieces, along with the placement of the underarm seam, up towards the yoke by 5/8". While it is a bit of a pain, you should always add seam allowances to Burda WOF patterns to maintain the design as intended.
6/12/09 1:17 PM
Opals Passions said...
Thanks everyone for your lovely comments...
6/12/09 11:52 AM
eugenia123 said...
This looks fabulous on you. I love your choice of fabric.
6/12/09 10:43 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful fit. I love your fabrics and the overall style of the dress.
6/12/09 10:12 AM
Karen6790 said...
KwikSew has a very similar pattern as far as the round yoke and gathers, but this looks more flattering, so it looks like I'll be tracing this one off. Love your fabric combo, it looks really cute on you.
6/12/09 9:56 AM
shesflipped said...
Such a great tunic! I love the contrasting yoke and print you used. I have never dared to try BWOF before, even though I've been getting them for almost a year. (gulp) Your review has made me think THIS is the pattern I need to start with. Thank you so much for your review.
6/12/09 7:12 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous top on you, and thanks for the great instructions. I will definitely widen the arm if I make this.......
6/12/09 5:49 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty tunic!
6/12/09 3:15 AM
ElsaD said...
Thanks for the review. Your tunic looks great. I'm just cutting this one out. Love the contrasting neckline.
6/12/09 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Other 07072008

photo
by: julliams

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5061

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review