SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-103 (Tunic Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 523 times 
Reviewed by:Opals Passions
photo

 
 
About Opals Passionsstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 50
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/09 10:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElsaD said...
Thanks for the review. Your tunic looks great. I'm just cutting this one out. Love the contrasting neckline.
6/12/09 0:18 AM
Leora said...
Very pretty tunic!
6/12/09 3:15 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous top on you, and thanks for the great instructions. I will definitely widen the arm if I make this.......
6/12/09 5:49 AM
shesflipped said...
Such a great tunic! I love the contrasting yoke and print you used. I have never dared to try BWOF before, even though I've been getting them for almost a year. (gulp) Your review has made me think THIS is the pattern I need to start with. Thank you so much for your review.
6/12/09 7:12 AM
Karen6790 said...
KwikSew has a very similar pattern as far as the round yoke and gathers, but this looks more flattering, so it looks like I'll be tracing this one off. Love your fabric combo, it looks really cute on you.
6/12/09 9:56 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful fit. I love your fabrics and the overall style of the dress.
6/12/09 10:12 AM
eugenia123 said...
This looks fabulous on you. I love your choice of fabric.
6/12/09 10:43 AM
Opals Passions said...
Thanks everyone for your lovely comments...
6/12/09 11:52 AM
Kay Y said...
Your tunic looks really cute! I have to ask, though - When you say you didn't add any "extra" seam allowances, do you mean you treated the pattern piece edges as traced as though they were cutting lines (SA included)? If so, this would explain why you find the neck opening wide - by sewing inside the intended seam lines you would have increased the overall width of the neckline by 1.25" (5/8" further out at each shoulder). This also would have lowered the neckline by 5/8" in both front and back and overall made the yoke narrower (5/8" at each of top and bottom). This might well also explain why you find the underarm a bit high - the effect of reducing the depth of the yoke by sewing inside the intended lower seam line would be to pull the body pieces, along with the placement of the underarm seam, up towards the yoke by 5/8". While it is a bit of a pain, you should always add seam allowances to Burda WOF patterns to maintain the design as intended.
6/12/09 1:17 PM
nglalala said...
Cute top! The fabric is so fun!
6/12/09 3:06 PM
Opals Passions said...
@kay, I didn't think about that... thanks for the advise.....
6/12/09 11:10 PM
wineyjudy said...
Great fabric choices! A very cute top of you!
6/13/09 10:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now