Online Sewing Class: Restyling with Exposed Zippers
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-113 (Top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 348 times 
Reviewed by:rsersh
photo

 
 
About rsershstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/17/08
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 3:41 PM
Last Updated:6/18/09 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rsersh said... (7/14/09 4:31 PM) Reply
Hi there, MichalK. Here's my interpretation: With this blouse, the elastic casing is created using the seam allowance from stitching the peplum to the top. Once the two are sewn, you take the allowance, press it up, and then stitch along the edge of the allowance to the top (again). This will create a little "tube" that you can put your elastic in. Be sure not to stitch the allowance to the top in its entirety at first. You'll want to stop an inch or two from where you started so that you can put the elastic in and get it right. Once you're happy with the fit, you can finish sewing the allowance to the top. Hope that helps!
michalklimer said... (7/13/09 8:00 AM) Reply
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
michalklimer said... (7/13/09 7:31 AM) Reply
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
rsersh said... (6/22/09 1:43 PM) Reply
Everyone is just so sweet and encouraging. Thanks so much!
Grammy Gin said... (6/20/09 0:14 AM) Reply
Really cute top. I don't know the type of fabric...(I know linen has nubbies on it), but it is a nice print! You look so cute!
fuzzygalore said... (6/19/09 12:43 PM) Reply
Fabulous! You look great, glad it wasn't too painful as well :-).
kerrynw said... (6/19/09 4:00 AM) Reply
Cute top, lovely print.
Lisa p said... (6/19/09 3:15 AM) Reply
Thankyou for your helpful review. I intend to make this with some silk chiffon i have in teh stash. I might make a muslin first to check the head fit !!
michalklimer said... (6/19/09 1:37 AM) Reply
I love it! I have this burda and I looked at the pattern, but it's difficult to see the way the top fits on the model! so I thought - it looks so simple, it oroibably doesn't look that good! But it does! it looks lovely!!! Thanks for the review!
eugenia123 said... (6/18/09 4:58 PM) Reply
Great top and really pretty fabric - it looks lovely on you.
EleanorSews said... (6/18/09 4:28 PM) Reply
What a wonderful little top! It has a lot of style for something so simple.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Other 926 Rocking Horse Farms

photo
by: SewNikki

Review
Burda 7517

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review
Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pattern Details
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Pattern Details