SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 649 times 
Reviewed by:Sara The Slayer
photo

 
 
About Sara The Slayerstar
ISRAEL
Member since: 11/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/18/09 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
The fabric is so fun! Looks great on you!
6/18/09 5:30 PM
valerie sews said...
All adjustment problems aside it's a stunning dress. Thank you for your review. This pattern is in a queue of things I want to make up soon.
6/18/09 8:09 PM
mollyshark said...
Remember when sizing the big 4 to go by high bust measurement, not actual bust size. If I went by bust size I'd be in like a 16 in these. Realistically I'm in a 12 and then do an FBA. Huge diff. That may be the issue here with your sizing.
6/18/09 9:11 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your dress looks really great.
6/18/09 9:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
Pretty dress. Just a heads up--the GARMENT measurements on the back of the pattern envelope might help you to determine what size you should make.
6/19/09 3:47 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks everyone. Thanks Molly, I didn't know that so much. I have a small bust so that should have sized me down. And I did look at the garment measurements, but it was so hangy (the top is gathered) that it wasn't quite relevant...and it wasn't too wide around, it was just too long, too deep a V...the width was ok. It is just made for an Amazon.
6/19/09 4:13 AM
Lisa p said...
Pretty pretty dress ! I love it . I have this pattern to make soon so your review is pretty helpful to me .
6/19/09 7:11 AM
Gelbean said...
Very pretty dress!
6/19/09 7:51 AM
carolynw said...
Pretty and very eye catching
6/19/09 8:47 AM
Sew tell me said...
I was just eyeing this pattern today but decided I didn't want to mess around with that plunging V. Looks great on you though!
6/19/09 11:38 PM
CARALB said...
I had the same problem. I cut a 10-12 and should have cut a 6. I'm also putting a side zipper in to help the mid section fit better.
6/20/09 9:31 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks. I didn't know you were supposed to use high bust for the big four. That puts me at an 8. I wonder, though, if on this one I shouldn't go to a six. And I think if I do it again, I'll just draw the line of the neckline further over so the overlap is more. Shouldn't be hard. Probably will take in the shoulders some too. Be sure to stabilize shoulder seams.
6/21/09 5:44 AM
im2melo4u said...
I love your fabric and the dress looks great!
7/6/09 9:09 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Niiice. Don't know how I missed this. Ilove the print. Colors on you are perfect and perfect for this dress!!
7/27/09 3:14 PM
sewnini said...
Great Dress and love the fabric choice. Thanks for the heads up on the sizing too!
11/17/09 9:13 AM
SewingSho said...
I love the fabric; where did you get it?
2/25/10 11:48 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
It was just some cheapy at a mom-and-pop type fabric store in Israel. Not something I could tell you where to get. In fact, on the bolt, it sorta had a babushka look to it, but a nice drape so I went with it.
4/23/11 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
Butterick 4801

photo
by: 1SewSweet

Review