Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 644 times 101 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sara The Slayer
photo
About Sara The Slayerstar
ISRAEL
Member since: 11/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/18/09 5:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
The fabric is so fun! Looks great on you!
6/18/09 5:30 PM
valerie sews said...
All adjustment problems aside it's a stunning dress. Thank you for your review. This pattern is in a queue of things I want to make up soon.
6/18/09 8:09 PM
mollyshark said...
Remember when sizing the big 4 to go by high bust measurement, not actual bust size. If I went by bust size I'd be in like a 16 in these. Realistically I'm in a 12 and then do an FBA. Huge diff. That may be the issue here with your sizing.
6/18/09 9:11 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your dress looks really great.
6/18/09 9:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
Pretty dress. Just a heads up--the GARMENT measurements on the back of the pattern envelope might help you to determine what size you should make.
6/19/09 3:47 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks everyone. Thanks Molly, I didn't know that so much. I have a small bust so that should have sized me down. And I did look at the garment measurements, but it was so hangy (the top is gathered) that it wasn't quite relevant...and it wasn't too wide around, it was just too long, too deep a V...the width was ok. It is just made for an Amazon.
6/19/09 4:13 AM
Lisa p said...
Pretty pretty dress ! I love it . I have this pattern to make soon so your review is pretty helpful to me .
6/19/09 7:11 AM
Gelbean said...
Very pretty dress!
6/19/09 7:51 AM
carolynw said...
Pretty and very eye catching
6/19/09 8:47 AM
Sew tell me said...
I was just eyeing this pattern today but decided I didn't want to mess around with that plunging V. Looks great on you though!
6/19/09 11:38 PM
CARALB said...
I had the same problem. I cut a 10-12 and should have cut a 6. I'm also putting a side zipper in to help the mid section fit better.
6/20/09 9:31 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks. I didn't know you were supposed to use high bust for the big four. That puts me at an 8. I wonder, though, if on this one I shouldn't go to a six. And I think if I do it again, I'll just draw the line of the neckline further over so the overlap is more. Shouldn't be hard. Probably will take in the shoulders some too. Be sure to stabilize shoulder seams.
6/21/09 5:44 AM
im2melo4u said...
I love your fabric and the dress looks great!
7/6/09 9:09 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Niiice. Don't know how I missed this. Ilove the print. Colors on you are perfect and perfect for this dress!!
7/27/09 3:14 PM
sewnini said...
Great Dress and love the fabric choice. Thanks for the heads up on the sizing too!
11/17/09 9:13 AM
SewingSho said...
I love the fabric; where did you get it?
2/25/10 11:48 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
It was just some cheapy at a mom-and-pop type fabric store in Israel. Not something I could tell you where to get. In fact, on the bolt, it sorta had a babushka look to it, but a nice drape so I went with it.
4/23/11 11:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

McCall's 5860 Palmer/Pletsch
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 6/22/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Farbenmix Kim Pants Kim Pants
photo
Review by morzel on 1/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1342 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1342 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3725 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 3725 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us