Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2007-120 (Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 335 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/09 4:12 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Awww, your top is perfect just the way it is!! It is not plain - it's a very 'put together' look and that is always better than OVER THE TOP in my book! :) It fits you perfectly and you look great in it. What a great tribute to your MeMaw.
6/24/09 4:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me - smart and cute. Even if it isn't what you expected, you should enjoy wearing it, maybe after a while when you've got used to it.
6/24/09 5:06 PM
RLL said...
The top/outfit is perfect. I would call it summer chic (meaning you don't want fru fru in the heat), but I would never call it plain. You look very nice and ready for any summer activity.
6/24/09 5:07 PM
eugenia123 said...
This top is really nice - it's so pretty and a lovely shape for you and the fabric is just beautiful.
6/24/09 5:20 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute top and pants. Perfect for summer.
6/24/09 6:13 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top and jeans look so good! Very classy and cool.
6/24/09 6:27 PM
said...
I really like your top! And I think MeMaw would love it. (You always have such a warm smile in your photos - without knowing you at all, I can guess you must be a very kind person. ;)
6/24/09 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love your top, and it's perfect for the current heat wave. That's a darling print.
6/24/09 6:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can only say it's a good thing you don't spend much time in MY sewing room (as if you could beat a path to the machine anyway), because there's PLENTY of cussin' going on and, at times, projectiles being hurled through the air. HOWEVER, I would have been as SWEET as Tupelo Honey, to quote Van Morrison, were I making this top, because it's DARLING. MeMaw would LOVE it. I think the blue band at the empire waist sets it off just perfectly. Cute, cute!
6/24/09 7:48 PM
Catbird said...
Well, this was my entertainment for the evening! Between your commentary on BWOF instructions and Annette's comments, I've been chuckling through the whole thing. And hey, Annette, I used to sing that song in a band! I really love this top and love the story behind it. The pattern changes you made created such a flattering neckline for you, and the whole shape is so feminine and pretty. Your MeMaw would be proud of you.
6/24/09 8:49 PM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks great and you will enjoy wearing it!! It is a great outfit. Hey people, it was 104 DEGREES here today. The perfect top for this heat.
6/24/09 10:09 PM
pterion said...
I like the top, I don't think it's plain at all. Very sweet fabric and the ribbon at the empire waist seam is a nice touch.
6/24/09 10:44 PM
morzel said...
I don't care if this didn't turn out the way you imagined it and are therefore not too keen on it - I LOVE IT! The trim looks great with the fabric and the style is also great for the fabric. The top looks great on you!!
6/25/09 4:56 AM
wreninrome said...
super adorable. I love the fabric and the look!
6/25/09 10:47 AM
janet said...
You look cute as a button! You should be the model in BOF.
6/25/09 11:01 AM
Jali said...
It's not plain at all. In fact the whole look is very well put together and just lovely.
6/25/09 12:35 PM
Leora said...
Terrific little top! I love that you used your treasured stash, well done!
6/25/09 1:18 PM
berescga said...
I really like your top and don't consider it plain at all. I'm sorry it didn't match the vision in your head, though.
6/25/09 3:40 PM
Barbara V said...
How special that you inherited your Grandmother's fabrics and here sewing one up. You give me courage to sew a couple of pieces I have held on to for years from my Grandmother. Your top is lovely and looks beautiful on you.
6/27/09 1:51 PM
said...
I love this top!! It's adorable!!!
6/28/09 4:07 PM
Mahler said...
What a great top. I don't think that fabric is wrong. ?! You are lovely with it, and as I said on the capri review, this outfit is amzingly great !
6/29/09 12:14 PM
callmeRuth said...
Yes, you should wear the top. It looks great on you---good fit, and it's very pretty.
6/29/09 11:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Christas! I have been catching up on the reviews I missed. Your new top is not plain at all, but so STYLIN'! You look sensational! I adore the neckline and length on you.
7/14/09 8:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
oops double post ;-)
7/14/09 8:59 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is such a great outfit! I love it and what a special way to have your MeMaw always near you. I know what you mean about Burda, they always have such LOW tops - geez. And I don't have anything to show off to anyway (not that I'd want to if I did! lol).
7/15/09 11:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3551
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/25/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1018 Jasmine
photo
Review by VintageBlu... on 11/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6942 Pattern
Burda 6942 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us