SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2007-120 (Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 336 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/09 4:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Awww, your top is perfect just the way it is!! It is not plain - it's a very 'put together' look and that is always better than OVER THE TOP in my book! :) It fits you perfectly and you look great in it. What a great tribute to your MeMaw.
6/24/09 4:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me - smart and cute. Even if it isn't what you expected, you should enjoy wearing it, maybe after a while when you've got used to it.
6/24/09 5:06 PM
RLL said...
The top/outfit is perfect. I would call it summer chic (meaning you don't want fru fru in the heat), but I would never call it plain. You look very nice and ready for any summer activity.
6/24/09 5:07 PM
eugenia123 said...
This top is really nice - it's so pretty and a lovely shape for you and the fabric is just beautiful.
6/24/09 5:20 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute top and pants. Perfect for summer.
6/24/09 6:13 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top and jeans look so good! Very classy and cool.
6/24/09 6:27 PM
said...
I really like your top! And I think MeMaw would love it. (You always have such a warm smile in your photos - without knowing you at all, I can guess you must be a very kind person. ;)
6/24/09 6:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love your top, and it's perfect for the current heat wave. That's a darling print.
6/24/09 6:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can only say it's a good thing you don't spend much time in MY sewing room (as if you could beat a path to the machine anyway), because there's PLENTY of cussin' going on and, at times, projectiles being hurled through the air. HOWEVER, I would have been as SWEET as Tupelo Honey, to quote Van Morrison, were I making this top, because it's DARLING. MeMaw would LOVE it. I think the blue band at the empire waist sets it off just perfectly. Cute, cute!
6/24/09 7:48 PM
Catbird said...
Well, this was my entertainment for the evening! Between your commentary on BWOF instructions and Annette's comments, I've been chuckling through the whole thing. And hey, Annette, I used to sing that song in a band! I really love this top and love the story behind it. The pattern changes you made created such a flattering neckline for you, and the whole shape is so feminine and pretty. Your MeMaw would be proud of you.
6/24/09 8:49 PM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks great and you will enjoy wearing it!! It is a great outfit. Hey people, it was 104 DEGREES here today. The perfect top for this heat.
6/24/09 10:09 PM
pterion said...
I like the top, I don't think it's plain at all. Very sweet fabric and the ribbon at the empire waist seam is a nice touch.
6/24/09 10:44 PM
morzel said...
I don't care if this didn't turn out the way you imagined it and are therefore not too keen on it - I LOVE IT! The trim looks great with the fabric and the style is also great for the fabric. The top looks great on you!!
6/25/09 4:56 AM
wreninrome said...
super adorable. I love the fabric and the look!
6/25/09 10:47 AM
janet said...
You look cute as a button! You should be the model in BOF.
6/25/09 11:01 AM
Jali said...
It's not plain at all. In fact the whole look is very well put together and just lovely.
6/25/09 12:35 PM
Leora said...
Terrific little top! I love that you used your treasured stash, well done!
6/25/09 1:18 PM
berescga said...
I really like your top and don't consider it plain at all. I'm sorry it didn't match the vision in your head, though.
6/25/09 3:40 PM
Barbara V said...
How special that you inherited your Grandmother's fabrics and here sewing one up. You give me courage to sew a couple of pieces I have held on to for years from my Grandmother. Your top is lovely and looks beautiful on you.
6/27/09 1:51 PM
said...
I love this top!! It's adorable!!!
6/28/09 4:07 PM
Mahler said...
What a great top. I don't think that fabric is wrong. ?! You are lovely with it, and as I said on the capri review, this outfit is amzingly great !
6/29/09 12:14 PM
callmeRuth said...
Yes, you should wear the top. It looks great on you---good fit, and it's very pretty.
6/29/09 11:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Christas! I have been catching up on the reviews I missed. Your new top is not plain at all, but so STYLIN'! You look sensational! I adore the neckline and length on you.
7/14/09 8:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
oops double post ;-)
7/14/09 8:59 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is such a great outfit! I love it and what a special way to have your MeMaw always near you. I know what you mean about Burda, they always have such LOW tops - geez. And I don't have anything to show off to anyway (not that I'd want to if I did! lol).
7/15/09 11:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

HotPatterns 1121

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now