SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4976 (Chetta B wrap dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 739 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/09 10:54 PM
Last Updated:6/30/09 11:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
You do flashy very well! You've used this print to its very best advantage, and I think the dress looks lovely on you. I made this up in a black jersey, and it's my favorite wrap dress. It fits me much better than the famous Vogue 8379. Maybe it's a difference in our figure types. Anyway, thanks for a great review and enjoy your dress. And, BTW, Butterick seems to have repackaged the style as B5206.
6/30/09 11:46 PM
Christas said...
Your flashy new dress is perfect! Since this dress turned out so nicely, maybe Annette is very smart to skip muslins! Think of all the time you saved by altering the dress while you were sewing. Nice to not have to mess with all those muslins! Thanks for another wonderful review! Oh, what did poor Daisy do to have to go to eBay?!
7/1/09 0:08 AM
Vivienne said...
Great dress and what a great review. I laughed out loud.
7/1/09 1:02 AM
marec said...
oh Mahler, you look divine in this creation! Freud would be proud...:-) The fabric is so cool and I'd guess was hard to place correctly for full effect. Love this style for it's hint of sensuality. Oh, and thanks for your kind comments on my last review...I like my "French" haircut too.
7/1/09 1:45 AM
Ann Smith said...
After all that fuss you ended up with an incredible garment. The design placement is perfect and it suits you to a T even if it is not black. I covet that fabric.
7/1/09 2:23 AM
Re Becca said...
Love It! I have a piece of this, and you have inspired me to get it out again. I think the dress looks stunning! your waist is so cinched and fabulous!
7/1/09 7:04 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
That dress is just fabulous! And you look terrific wearing it! Good for you for persevering and finishing up what must have been a frustrating sewing experience! The fabric is just to die for . . . love the print!
7/1/09 8:24 AM
jacquiJB said...
Well, you may not be completely happy with it, but the dress looks great and you look marvelous wearing it. Fab shoes, too. :)
7/1/09 8:37 AM
zazzie said...
Hé c'est pas mal cool, ça ! You made it work, but I hear you re- oversized Buttericks ....
7/1/09 8:58 AM
carolynw said...
This ia great dress - love everything about it!! When we have our PR week end in Montreal I think I am going to sneak into your closet and pack my bag with all your lovely stuff LOL!! Great and entertaining review as always. HAPPY CANADA DAY!!
7/1/09 9:14 AM
ladylola said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great result despite all the fuss. Much too chic for Ding et Dong!!
7/1/09 9:15 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done and it looks fabulous on you.
7/1/09 9:16 AM
Karen6790 said...
I remember that fabric. I didn't buy it for fear I wouldn't know what to do with it, but you found the perfect pattern. Dr. Freud would be proud,
7/1/09 9:21 AM
Nancy K said...
great review. Your changes have made it a fabulous dress. I love the print, and after seeing our dress, I have much better idea of what to do with this type of print. I have never been a print person either until lately and this dress will be a new influence for me. I have a couple of Cavalli prints from EOS and they are really just the most amazing quality. Brava!
7/1/09 9:32 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I think your FLASHY new dress is WONDERFUL, and I'm so glad you decided to branch out and add COLOR to your wardrobe. :o) (Personally, I think black is relied on too heavily in our wardrobes. Don't get me wrong, I LIKE black too, but I think there's plenty of room for SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many other colors.) This dress has turned out BEAUTIFULLY, even WITHOUT the m-u-s-l-i-n. SEE? I knew I could be a bad influence sooner or later. GREAT review, too. I hope you get LOTS of enjoyment from wearing this dress. You look FABULOUS in it. :o)
7/1/09 10:04 AM
cindyann said...
Oooooh, I love that on you. A great dress!
7/1/09 10:19 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous dress! I love the fabric. Now that you have sorted out the pattern to fit you so beautifully, you could reuse it without spending so much time.
7/1/09 10:45 AM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeious, gorgeous! amazing dress on an amazing figure! All the Big 4 uses the same sloper btw. they are all the same company. I sew a 10 straight across(well for by bodice and with my alterations-hip is another story!). Anyways they are consistent for me across the board with my upper bust measurement of 34.5. PM me if you want and we can talk about it. I like to see people not struggle so much with the sizing for the Big 4.
7/1/09 11:12 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool dress--it looks wonderful on you! I especially love the Cavalli fabric! You placed it just perfectly! Great job!
7/1/09 11:30 AM
Kay Y said...
It may be far from the best pattern you have used but you turned out a really lovely and interesting dress. Congratulations on successfully placing those large motifs!!
7/1/09 12:26 PM
DorothyK said...
You managed very well to overcome the shortcomings of the pattern. The dress - fabric and fit - are perfect. Looking forward to seeing the t-shirt.
7/1/09 12:36 PM
Catbird said...
I LOVE it! You look beautiful, mysterious, captivating and fun in this new dress! I'm another one who has avoided prints all my life, but then again very few prints are as wonderful as this one. The placement of the motif on the back is perfect. I have this pattern in my stash but haven't used it, so I'm glad to know about the sizing problems. But poor, poor Daisy! After years of faithful service, what has she done to be banished from the kingdom?! :-)) Thank you for another great review. I'll put it in my pile of gems.
7/1/09 12:42 PM
persevering said...
What a marvelous work of wearable art! Félicitations!
7/1/09 12:54 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fabulous! Flashy is definitely the way to go!
7/1/09 3:29 PM
colormefun said...
LOL!! great dress--- funniest review yet. I imagine your classic little black dress giving suspicious sideways looks to this fabulous print "freshie"
7/1/09 4:52 PM
Carolyndh said...
Definitely a winner! I really like the effect of this dress on you. You wear it very well. You said in your other review that you are a university maven--I think the sophistication of this style fits right into the genre of the local university scene. Love it!
7/1/09 4:53 PM
Knitters Delight said...
This is an amazing take on this pattern. You look fabulous! Your black clothes will just have to deal with the transformed...you!
7/1/09 6:29 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Perfectly luscious!
7/1/09 6:42 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great fabric - it was worth persisting to get the fit right!
7/1/09 10:52 PM
solosmocker said...
Great dress and works wonderfully with those killer shoes!
7/1/09 11:12 PM
kerrynw said...
I love your dress. What a great review!
7/2/09 3:56 AM
Karla Kizer said...
OMG I love it. Your version is truly fantastic, and less "clunky" than the one I made for DD. That fabric is fantastic.
7/2/09 7:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
Your dress is GORGEOUS! I'm so glad that you worked through the fitting because you look fabulous in it. All of your garments are wonderful and I can't imagine you only wearing black (or dark blue, lol). Stunning!
7/2/09 7:49 AM
shesflipped said...
This dress is stunning! I adore the fabric~what a great find! You look simply smashing.
7/2/09 8:25 AM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful and a masterpiece in everyway...the fabric, construction and challenging fit. I enjoy seeing your creations!
7/2/09 9:57 AM
Twinset said...
Bonjour belle Anne! I see you posted another nice funny review lately while I was busy with a big rehearsal and also celebrating DH's birthday (that's why I'm so late). So many things to say: this fabric is to die for and you made great use of it. You look beautiful in your dress and I think the print is really flattering for your skin tone. Isn't it nice to see that personal style is something constantly evolving and not something stiff and stuck? I share the same opinion as you on the fit of this garment (I made this dress and encountered the same exact problems: i.e. loose fitting bodice and sleeves). However your version turned out great.
7/2/09 12:54 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Anne!! Your Reviews are a work-of-art, themselves... Worth keeping!!
7/13/09 11:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6607

photo
by: dizzle

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5557

photo
by: galtekruse

Review