Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5186 (Semi-fitted top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 537 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 6:33 PM
Last Updated:7/1/09 6:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
I agree, Ann, one is enough for me too. But I do like the style, there's just got to be a better way. This is a nice looking style on you.
7/1/09 7:06 PM
khunter said...
great top. If it wasn't easy for you , then I am certainly not going to try it. Ha HA. You look great in it though! I love your reviews
7/1/09 7:13 PM
cindyintampa said...
Glad you tried this first. It turned out well in spite of everything.
7/1/09 8:23 PM
Dee2 said...
This style is perfect on you. Very pretty, definitely worth the effort.
7/1/09 8:49 PM
Vivienne said...
Best pattern description - EVER!
7/1/09 9:35 PM
Elona said...
Terrific cautionary advice, Ann! If a pattern irritates you with your skill level, it's a dog! But the final result looks great on you.
7/1/09 9:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
it looks great on you, and thanks for the review. i won't be tackling this one!!lol
7/1/09 10:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Being witness to "fast and easy" turning into "time consuming, difficult and annoying" I have to say in spite of my worries for the success of your blouse, I was delighted to look up and see your gorgeous outcome. That was a great moment with cheers from the ladies around the room! It is indeed very striking. I want one too, but without the struggle.
7/1/09 10:29 PM
solosmocker said...
Ann, I struggled with that neckline too! I somehow eventually fudged it into position. I doubt I could pull it off twice. As far as the sleeves. The directions made no sense to me either, so I just did it "my way" and they worked out fine. I have been hoping someone would come along and do this blouse and explain what I maybe did wrong but at this point is sure looks like the pattern drafting is the issue. This is too bad because the design is fabulous and flattering to many figure types.
7/1/09 11:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
solosmocker, in Terri's review (http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=39453) she addresses these same problems. Some other reviewers haven't mentioned these issues and even say the pattern is easy. I was sure confused!
7/1/09 11:25 PM
donna mel said...
good to know, thanks! i teach sewing and always advise new students to look for the 'fast and easy' label. it would be very frustrating, to say the least, if a beginner were to try and tackle a pattern like this. instead of gaining new seamstresses, butterick is scaring them off! your's came out lovely, tho!!
7/2/09 6:47 AM
Jane S said...
I have this sitting in my to do pile so thanks for your honest warnings. I think you look great in it, despite all your struggles.
7/2/09 7:44 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a shame you had so many problems with this blouse. It looks lovely on you. I love the collar. You look great.
7/2/09 8:33 AM
DorothyK said...
Looks great on you, and will be comfortable to wear in your climate. Thanks for the warnings about the instructions.
7/2/09 11:34 AM
Bonnie123 said...
This top is you! You did a great job. I am THINKING about taking this one on.
2/19/10 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6829
photo
Review by Bonnie O on 8/23/10
Read Review

Winnie Wide Legged Trousers Digital Pattern
Winnie Wide Legged Trousers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 11-2009-pg52
photo
Review by keofred on 12/5/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1036 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 1036 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1518 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1518 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us