SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 0000 Pattern Weights (Pattern Weights)

Viewed 324 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/09 7:52 PM
Last Updated:7/3/09 6:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luvzdogz said...
Cool!
7/16/09 1:12 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Sounds like a good idea. Can probably do same with a small can of vegetables or the like, if the weights aren't available..... I us the top of my washer and dreyer as a cutting board and this might stop my fabric from slipping and sliding too.
7/5/09 11:27 AM
Shoshana said...
I have made very similar weights filled with dried beans or rice. A fabric store in Michigan uses this type weights to "mark" your fabric on the cutting counter so they will not put it back in inventory while you continue to shop. A great way to use up small pieces of fabric.
7/3/09 12:44 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a great idea!!!!!!! Now I have to make some!
7/3/09 11:31 AM
j222b said...
Interesting. I never thought of using weights for tracing off patterns. I will try your method of pins for the fabric and weights for the paper tracing. I will also look for the tracing paper you use. The weights are beautiful, too.
7/3/09 11:17 AM
camaro1952 said...
You are soooooo clever!
7/3/09 10:36 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Sweetiebop, I use rolls of greaseproof paper bought from the supermarket, it is found with the Tinfoil (aluminium foil) and Gladwrap (Saranwrap?). Actually the stuff I buy is called 'Imitation greaseproof paper'. It feels and looks just like regular white paper, but thinner than the paper you'd use in your printer. This paper is also known as Lunchwrap or Lunchpaper, as it is most commonly used for wrapping food in, particularly sandwiches for the lunchbox. I'm not sure if the same paper is sold in the US or what it would be called there. It is similar to the silicone coated paper you can use in the oven, except this paper does not have the silicone and would go on fire in the oven. We also have another similar paper called waxed paper and I have tried that but its harder to write on and is slightly more expensive. This paper I use costs about $1.80NZ for 25 metres and it is 30cm wide. I do sometimes have to join it for wider pattern pieces, mainly sleeves and the back of pants. But its so cheap I dont mind the minor inconvenience. It does try to roll back up when I'm using it, hence the pattern weights :o)
7/3/09 1:21 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your weights are so cute. Can you tell me what you use to trace your patterns on?
7/3/09 1:01 AM
Annette1 said...
These are SO cute! What a great idea. I like to use weights, too, just to keep my fabric from sliding off the end of the table sometimes. :o) And I LOVE that little iron just the way it is!
7/3/09 0:08 AM
Penny B said...
Those are the prettiest pattern weights I have ever seen. I bet there will be lots of people making these.
7/3/09 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3463

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review