Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 0000 Pattern Weights (Pattern Weights) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 321 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/09 7:52 PM
Last Updated:7/3/09 6:42 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Penny B said...
Those are the prettiest pattern weights I have ever seen. I bet there will be lots of people making these.
7/3/09 0:06 AM
Annette1 said...
These are SO cute! What a great idea. I like to use weights, too, just to keep my fabric from sliding off the end of the table sometimes. :o) And I LOVE that little iron just the way it is!
7/3/09 0:08 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your weights are so cute. Can you tell me what you use to trace your patterns on?
7/3/09 1:01 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Sweetiebop, I use rolls of greaseproof paper bought from the supermarket, it is found with the Tinfoil (aluminium foil) and Gladwrap (Saranwrap?). Actually the stuff I buy is called 'Imitation greaseproof paper'. It feels and looks just like regular white paper, but thinner than the paper you'd use in your printer. This paper is also known as Lunchwrap or Lunchpaper, as it is most commonly used for wrapping food in, particularly sandwiches for the lunchbox. I'm not sure if the same paper is sold in the US or what it would be called there. It is similar to the silicone coated paper you can use in the oven, except this paper does not have the silicone and would go on fire in the oven. We also have another similar paper called waxed paper and I have tried that but its harder to write on and is slightly more expensive. This paper I use costs about $1.80NZ for 25 metres and it is 30cm wide. I do sometimes have to join it for wider pattern pieces, mainly sleeves and the back of pants. But its so cheap I dont mind the minor inconvenience. It does try to roll back up when I'm using it, hence the pattern weights :o)
7/3/09 1:21 AM
camaro1952 said...
You are soooooo clever!
7/3/09 10:36 AM
j222b said...
Interesting. I never thought of using weights for tracing off patterns. I will try your method of pins for the fabric and weights for the paper tracing. I will also look for the tracing paper you use. The weights are beautiful, too.
7/3/09 11:17 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a great idea!!!!!!! Now I have to make some!
7/3/09 11:31 AM
Shoshana said...
I have made very similar weights filled with dried beans or rice. A fabric store in Michigan uses this type weights to "mark" your fabric on the cutting counter so they will not put it back in inventory while you continue to shop. A great way to use up small pieces of fabric.
7/3/09 12:44 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Sounds like a good idea. Can probably do same with a small can of vegetables or the like, if the weights aren't available..... I us the top of my washer and dreyer as a cutting board and this might stop my fabric from slipping and sliding too.
7/5/09 11:27 AM
luvzdogz said...
Cool!
7/16/09 1:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1783
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 12/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by moonthirty on 7/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us