Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-119 (beach cover-up) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 452 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 11:03 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristine Kay said...
Absolutely gorgeous... both the dress and your daughter! Just wonderful!
7/8/09 11:10 AM
Gold said...
Great job! I know she is loving her maxi dress!
7/8/09 11:18 AM
Christas said...
I keep seeing all these pretty maxi dresses on PR. I always think they look pretty on everyone else, but not for me. The maxi you made your daughter is the first one to make me think I might want a maxi dress for myself. Your fabric and fit are so perfect. Your daughter looks like a gorgeous knock-out in her Mom-made dress!
7/8/09 11:40 AM
BeckyW said...
Gorgeous dress. I want one!
7/8/09 12:39 PM
swede said...
Wow, this dress is gorgeous, and the fit is perfect. I love the straps, and what a beautiful print too.
7/8/09 12:45 PM
Twinset said...
Utterly beautiful sundress... in fact I want one like that!! You can definitely tell from who DD got her good looks! :-) The fabric you used is fantastic.
7/8/09 1:00 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I've been trying to make a successful maxi-dress all weekend without success. Love this one.
7/8/09 1:07 PM
poplin said...
Oh, wow!! Gorgeous!
7/8/09 1:30 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, that is one beautiful dress!
7/8/09 1:42 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Just stunning! I'm inspired!
7/8/09 1:48 PM
VtMartha said...
How lovely is that! The fabric is perfect. And I'm curious to know what else is hanging on that rack - especially the gray with the yellow and pink flowers. I have that fabric as well.
7/8/09 1:51 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all. VtMartha on the rack are some of the other garments that Ann and I sewed while in our very fun "sewing frenzy" and we have been gradually posting reviews on them. - Here is Ann's review of the specific garment you refer to: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=41016 . Also if you would like to read more about the sewing retreat, check out Ann's blog: http://annsthreads.blogspot.com/
7/8/09 2:15 PM
busymomof3 said...
I LOVE this!! Your daughter is beautiful wearing this lovely dress! Watch out, others might be wanting to put an order in! (I want one!!)
7/8/09 2:15 PM
busymomof3 said...
double posted
7/8/09 2:16 PM
21wale said...
Wow! Lovely.
7/8/09 2:36 PM
KrystalL said...
Beautiful!
7/8/09 4:50 PM
Amanda S. said...
Oh, I just love it!!! I wish I had this issue. Your daughter looks beautiful!
7/8/09 5:02 PM
wineyjudy said...
Great dress, great review!
7/8/09 6:13 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a wonderful dress. You did such a good job getting the fabric design in the right places. It's a perfect fit and looks so comfy. But then, what wouldn't look good on your gorgeous DD?
7/8/09 6:55 PM
Raye Ann said...
i love this! great job- the fit is very flattering. i love the pleated skirt treatment- i am in the process of making a maxi dress for myself and am going to pin fit a "pleated" skirt to see if that will be more flattering than the gathered skirt recommended by the pattern. thanks for the review and great tips!
7/8/09 7:46 PM
MissCelie said...
That dress is so hot! I love it!
7/8/09 8:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
This looks so fantastic on Kristen. It looked great on the hanger but even better on her. Your photos look like a professional shoot with the fan blowing her hair just so!
7/8/09 9:15 PM
Peacock Chic said...
oh wow that came out great!!! love it!
7/8/09 10:48 PM
JessB said...
Wow. Wow. Wow! I think this is my favourite maxi dress that I've seen so far on PR. I love rayon and I can imagine just how gorgeous this dress is in 'real life'. thanks for the great review.
7/9/09 1:25 AM
Sew tell me said...
Beautiful dress!
7/9/09 2:22 AM
Valerie S said...
It's beautiful and your daughter is a knock out!
7/9/09 6:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
That's a fabulous interpretation of that dress! I love what you did with the print...very pretty!
7/9/09 7:59 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Your daughter looks radiant in this beautiful sun dress/beach cover up. The fabric from Ann is beautiful, you are lucky to have such a df and your daughter is lucky to have you to sew for her. And in return, you are lucky she enjoys wearing the things you make for her. She is beautiful!
7/9/09 9:38 AM
kerrynw said...
Stunning fabric, stunning dress and stunning daughter!!!
7/14/09 11:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-109
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 3/17/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6460
photo
Review by irem on 9/9/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us